BOOK TAG: Inside Out

The Inside Out Book Tag

I was tagged to do this by the wonderful T.K. @ Read It Or Not Reviews. Thank you so much! Go see T.K.’s post here.

Book Tag based on the Disney Pixar movie, Inside Out. Find a book that makes you feel the emotions featured in the film. 

Before we get started can I just mention Bing Bong. I won’t say anymore in case you haven’t watched the movie and want to. For those who have though: MY HEART.

JOY — A book that brings you joy.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson is my Happy Place. It has caused me a lot of emotional pain, but it’s also super comforting and I love being able to escape into the world (still waiting for a Satyr to show up and tell me I’m a Demigod).

SADNESS — A book that made you sad.

In Time by Alexandra Bracken

If we’re being honest almost every book I’ve read has made me cry. I’m a total light weight in that sense, because my empathy levels are through the roof. In Time, however, I was beyond crying. I was a MESS. I’m talking tears streaming down my face and my parents coming into my room to ask if I was okay. I wasn’t even able to read the words on my Kindle BECAUSE I COULDN’T SEE THROUGH MY TEARS. If I ever met Alexandra I’m worried I’d just yell WHY at her and start crying.

FEAR — A book that truly scared you.

The Yellow Wall-Paper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

I talked about this recently in my Top 5 Wednesday post so I want go on about it too much, but this book terrified me. I don’t really get scared by books (I wish I did!), but this one was a completely different story. I couldn’t stop thinking about how my future could be the same as the Woman in this story and that was something that really had an impact on me.

DISGUST — A book that disgusted you.

Can I mention a book(s) I haven’t read… I’m going to anyway.

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James After by Anna Todd

Yep, I mentioned these in my Book Sacrifice tag, so it’s probably not a surprise. I don’t want to get into it too much because these tags are just supposed to be fun, but I highly disagree with the messages portrayed in both of these books. I may not have read them, but I know enough to know that I NEVER want to. Ever.

ANGER — A book that makes you angry.

The Death Cure by James Dashner

I’ve mentioned this one so many times too. I’m sorry. I wish I could be more original, but I just can’t think of anything else (and I already used 50SOG and After) and this book made me so angry. I really enjoyed The Maze Runner up until the ending of this book. It was such a let down and I was so disappointed. A certain character deserved so, so, so much better.

Not tagging anyone because I’m coming down with a head cold and my allergies have been causing me grief so it hurts to think. It’s also why this post is a bit shorter than usual. If you’d like to do it then feel free!

Hope you’ve all had a lovely day xx


27 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: Inside Out

  1. Oh my god I COMPLETELY agree with you about In Time. I loved Alexandra Bracken’s Darkest Minds series but honestly I think both novellas made me feel sad a little. There was just no happy ending despite how much I wanted one!
    And yes definitely The Death Cure as well. That character definitely definitely deserves so much better, but honestly I thought the whole ending could have been written better too!
    Great picks for this tag as well!

    Like

          1. God yes, In the Afterlight could have ended horribly and I think it would have destroyed me! Have you read Through the Dark. There’s a novella in that which carries on from one of the other novellas (I think Sparks Rise?) that one has a happy-ish ending!

            Like

  2. I love when bloggers get angry at books. It’s so entertaining haha. This is quite a fun tag too. 🙂
    (Also I hope you’ll get better soon! x)

    Like

  3. Bing Bong almost made me cry, and I am definitely not a crier, but that just HIT me. I’m getting emotional just thinking about it. On the other hand, Percy Jackson just makes me smile so much. Not only is it HILARIOUS, but those characters are the best. I love Annabeth especially. And it is TOTALLY appropriate to put Fifty Shades of Grey and After up there for disgust–even if you haven’t read them. I haven’t either, for OBVIOUS reasons.

    Like

    1. Right! It was so sad! I was watching it with my younger siblings and they were fine whilst I was sitting there with tears streaming down my face 😂

      Yes, yes, yes! Percy Jackson is the best 😀 Annabeth is one of my favourite characters ever. I love her so much.

      The excepts I’ve read have been bad enough. I can’t believe they exist.

      Like

  4. I’ve actually never read about After but I guess if it’s being grouped in with Fifty Shades it means it isn’t too great😂
    Every time I see Percy Jackson mentioned it’s getting me more excited for the summer when I’m going to marathon it!

    Like

    1. It seems to get a better wrap than 50 Shades, but it’s just as bad imo haha. It’s another bad fan fic that for some unknown reason got turned into a book.

      Ahh, yay!!! I’m so excited for you to read them 😀 I hope you love them as much as I do!

      Like

Leave a comment