Weekly Wrap Up: #2 / Birthday Haul

 

Weekly Wrap Up

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tyngas Reviews, visit the official launch page to find out more. Sunday Post is hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer see the rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Alternative title for this post: “Lauren Has No Self Control So She Is Trying To Pass This Off As A Birthday Haul”

So MY INTERNET IS FINALLY BACK! Did you miss me? 😉 I’ve been having major withdrawals. I missed blogging and all you lovely people so much. I know I was only gone for 2 days, but STIIL. I’m so behind on posts and I’m trying really hard to catch up. I’m sorry if I miss anything! Because of that reason Stacking the Shelves and Sunday Post is again combined.

I’ve been super busy the past couple of days so I’ve had no time to do any reading (or anything) which is why there was a lack of posts this week. Yesterday I was out in town all morning and then spent the afternoon at Triple J’s One Night Stand which is an Australian radio festival. Then today I was out and about for early birthday things because my birthday is on Tuesday. All I had the energy to do was watch the football (we won, yay!).

Covers = Goodreads.

PHYSICAL COPIES

Books

Seventeen & Gone by Nova Ren Suma
You by Caroline Kepnes
Frankie by Shivaun Plozza
Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
The Haters by Jesse Andrews
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I bought Red Queen, Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Seventeen & Gone at the very end of last month from Angus & Robertson and they arrived on Thursday. I also have another 3 books to pick up from the post office from Booktopia on Monday so I’ll include those in next week’s haul! I can’t wait to finally get around to reading Red Queen and Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

I originally wasn’t going to read Wolf by Wolf but I picked it up because ever sine I’ve been blogging I’ve seen it EVERYWHERE and you all seem to love it. So. I trust your judgement. 😉 I had ebooks of Red Queen and You but I couldn’t resist the physicals. I read a great review about Frankie from Vivian and of course I love supporting Australian YA. The Haters and Seventeen & Gone, both seem like they’ll be really interesting. I’ve been wanting to read Tomorrow, When the War Began forever and was happy to see that my local Target had new copies in because of the ABC show that’s starting.

American Gods and The Looking Glass Wars were purchased from a really cool used bookstore that’s near my town that has 3 rooms of wall-to-wall books, some are quite old and rare too. You should all be impressed that I had enough self control to only pick up 2. We’ve actually done some paranormal investigations there and the owner is such a great guy who always has a ton of interesting stories to tell. I’m extremely intimidated by American Gods but I’ve been wanting to read it since I heard about the show and it was only $6. I picked up The Looking Glass Wars  because Alice in Wonderland retelling = automatic yes.

EBOOKS

Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough Dream House by Marzia Bisognin Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

I wasn’t going to pick up The Glittering Court, but it’s had so much hype that I can’t not. I need to experience it for myself, haha. I also got Strands of Bronze and Gold because Sam from Thoughts on Tomes has talked about it in a few of her videos and it sounded really intriguing. I know Tell the Wind and Fire has been getting some bad reviews, but again I need to experience the hype. Long Lankin looks like a super interesting horror and I like the concept of  Dream House and am interested to see how Marzia’s writing is.

KINDLE FREEBIES

The Timer by Arden Banks Wrecked by Elle Casey Reapers by Bryan Davis

The Shadow Soul by Kaitlyn Davis Cloaked by Sylvia James

Maybe one day I’ll be able to resist free ebooks from the Kindle store, but alas today is not that day.

LATEST POSTS

APRIL 3: Sunday Post #4 and an (Overly Ambitious) April TBR

APRIL 4: Mini Reviews: Amulet Vol 2, The Story an Hour, A Haunted House, A Rose for Emily

APRIL 5: Top Ten Tuesday #4
This or That Book Tag

APRIL 6: Waiting on Wednesday #3

Upcoming?

It's a Surprise

In other words, I have no idea. I’ve been tagged in a bunch of Book Tags so I will definitely be scheduling those throughout the week (look at me attempting to be organised!). I’m hoping to be able to read and get some reviews up. I was thinking of maybe doing a comic/graphic novel resource type post for people who want to read them but don’t know where to start?

I hope you all had a fabulous week xx

Make sure to leave a link to your Weekly Wrap Up/Stacking the Shelves/Sunday Post


34 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up: #2 / Birthday Haul

      1. I just think the idea is really unique, so when I first heard about it I immediately put it on my wishlist! 😀

        Like

  1. I desperately need to get Wolf by Wolf. It interested me from the first time I saw it and then so many bloggers have been raving about it that not having it is torture!

    Like

  2. Wow that’s a lot of books. I’m exactly the same though, I have no I,pulse control when it comes to buying books.
    I really hope you enjoy Wolf by Wolf, I’ve seen it around so much as well and everyone seems to have nothing but good things to say about it so I can’t wait to read it either. Also Daughter of Smoke and Bone is one of my favourite series so I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, right! I’m so bad at trying to resist them. I just see the pretty covers and I can’t say no. Thank you! I’m interested to see how I’ll feel about. I’ve heard endless good things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I’m hoping to get to it this month!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just read so many amazing reviews that I can’t resist buying them all, and yeah the covers don’t really help either. I see a cover that looks interesting and it goes in my basket 😀
        In my opinion DoSaB more than lives up to all the good things you will have heard 🙂 I really hope you like it when you get around to it. I’m looking forwards to seeing your review!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Daughter of Smoke & Bone is SO GOOD OMFG ♡♡♡♡♡ And I am loving it’s cover! Ours in the States is different. I love it, but I like yours better, I think.

    Like

  4. Ooh nice! I loved Strands of Bronze and Gold! Still need to read her second book in the series she’s created! And ooh The Glittering Court! Hearing good things about that one which makes me happy because I was initially thrown when I heard there was no paranormal or fantasy in this story. But since it’s Mead, I’ll still give this book 1 a try! And I also really liked Red Queen!! Still need to read Glass Sword though! Hope you enjoy all the fascinating reads!

    Here’s my STS

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooh yay, that’s good to hear! I’m glad you enjoyed them 😀 Yeah, that’s what threw me off about The Glittering Court too. I loved Richelle’s writing in the VA series though, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this one too! Thank you 🙂

      Like

    1. I’ve heard so many good things about it! I’m hoping to get to it this month! I think that’s the UK edition cover. I really like it too! I thought I preferred the US edition at first, but now I realised that I much prefer this one. Haha, yay! I’ll definitely try and get onto it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really interested to see how I’ll feel about it because I wasn’t originally going to read it, but I couldn’t not pick it up after hearing how much everyone here loved it! I’ll definitely post my thoughts once I’ve read it. Ooh, yay! I’ll definitely get a post up about it and hopefully it’ll be somewhat helpful haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gosh I laughed out loud at my desk at your alternate title! (Don’t worry I didn’t get in trouble from the boss I passed it off as a client saying something funny! haha)

    Seriously great Haul, I bought the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy for my *cough “Birthday” haul as well and I loved Tomorrow When the Was Began but haven’t read it in years.

    Like

    1. Haha, oh my gosh! That has made my day. I’m glad you didn’t get in trouble though.

      I’m really excited to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I’ve heard great things about it. I can’t believe I haven’t read Tomorrow, When the War Began yet but I’m definitely going to try and get to it really soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I don’t really know what the series is about but it has some great reviews so I hope I like it 🙂
        Tomorrow when the war began is a quick read so it won’t take to much effort to finish but there are like 4 or 5 more books in the series I think, my memories a bit hazy haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you’ve been having fun even without internet!

    I received Daughter of Smoke and Bone from my #TBTBSanta but have not gotten to read it yet. I have heard great things, so I/m excited to get to it. I also got The Glittering Court this week. I love Richelle Mead and hope it’s good.

    Have a great week. 🙂 My Weekly Wrap-Up

    Like

    1. Haha, yes! It was probably a good thing I was busy otherwise it probably wouldn’t have been as fun.

      I’m so excited to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone! And interested to see how I’ll feel about The Glittering Court. I love Richelle Mead, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read it or not. I couldn’t resist the hype though so I had to get it!

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment