Mini Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Genre: Graphic Novels
Date Published: July 15th 2014
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 208
Buy: Amazon
Follow Emily Carroll on Twitter

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.<

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Does anyone else randomly pick up a book despite it not being on their “currently reading list”? Because that’s what happened with this graphic novel. It was 4am and I couldn’t sleep and I just felt in the mood for something quick and in the horror genre and nothing I was currently reading filled those requirements so I was like “I’m going to read Through The Woods“. Yes, I read a horror graphic novel in the early hours of the morning. Doesn’t everyone? No… Okay.

This graphic novel was STUNNING. The art and storytelling were so beautiful and captivating. I couldn’t put it down. It was creepy and haunting and beautiful. I don’t normally get scared by books, but I found myself subconsciously checking my window as though something was going to appear. I highly recommend reading this at night because it just adds to the atmosphere of the stories Emily is telling.

I have a slight obsession with the woods and I fell in love with how it was the main feature in each of the stories. I want to tattoo “It came from the woods. Most strange things do.” onto my soul. I loved all the symbolism. I love that whilst the stories were short and fast paced, they have to make you think. I love that each story is open to interpretation and you can take your own meaning away from it.

Just to reiterate LOOK HOW STUNNING THE ART IS.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll Through the Woods by Emily Carroll Through the Woods by Emily Carroll Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

It had such a great blend of horror, mystery and intrigue. The characters were all so fascinating.

The only reason I’m not giving this 5 stars is because as much as I loved the stories and their opening endings I felt a bit of confusion for all of them. Maybe it’s just because my tiny brain isn’t able to comprehend a lot of the symbolism, but I wish that there was just a little more completion. It’s not a huge deal though and is more of a personal thing. I fully understand and appreciate what Emily was intending to do with the stories she was creating.

Horror is my favourite genre and Through the Woods is a great addition to it. It was a beautiful and mesmerising read and I highly recommend it for graphic novel and horror fans. Or just if you like and appreciate beautiful art and unique story telling. It has also made me want to go check out all of Emily’s other work, because I’m sure it’ll be fascinating.

MY RATING: ★★★

Goodreads badge add plus


7 thoughts on “Mini Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Leave a comment