In Which I Actually Read Books Not Just Graphic Novels // Monthly Wrap Up: June (Part 2)

Books I Read in June

GUYS. I read more books than graphic novels this month. Who am I?

In case you missed Part 1 of my June Wrap Up I’ve decided to split these posts in two parts now. One will be my book haul which you can go see here! Then this will focus on books I read and blog posts ect.

The most exciting thing that happened in June is that I FINALLY listened to Hamilton. I felt like one of the only few people who hadn’t listened to it and I can say now that I GET THE HYPE. I love it so much. I have a lot of feelings about the Schuyler sisters – especially Angelica. I think my favourite song is “Satisfied” because Angelica 😍. If you haven’t listened to the soundtrack then you really need to! Even if you’re not into musicals I think you’ll like it because I sure did. It has such a fun, catchy and unique sound. The story is wonderful too.

I’ve been blogging for four months now which is kinda crazy. It seems like less and more all at once.

Of course this wouldn’t be a proper wrap up without questioning how the hell it’s July already, but seriously? How the hell is it July? I’m convinced Earth is spinning faster or something. The worst thing is people are going to start mentioning the “C” word and my inner Grinch will start appearing.

Books I Read and Reviewed

I managed to read 12 books this month. I also took part in the Tome Topple Readathon which was fun because I discovered a new favourite book! I’m also proud of myself for stepping outside my comfort zone a little and reading some Adult Fiction books.

My favourite reads of this month were: A Darker Shade of Magic, Night Film, You, milk and honey and Archie Vol 1

Covers = My Review and/or Goodreads

5 Stars

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur Spider-Man Deadpool Vol  1 by Joe Kelly and  Ed McGuinness You by Caroline Kepnes

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur – This was such an amazing collection of poetry that almost felt life changing. It was raw, brutally honest and beautiful in the most heartbreaking away. It deals with relationships, feminism and sexual abuse.

Spider-Man/Deadpool, Vol 1: Isn’t It Bromantic by Joe Kelly and Ed McGuinness (Illustrator) – I can’t even deal with how hilarious this was. I loved seeing Spider-Man and Deadpool team up in Deadpool’s solo series so having an entire volume was amazing. There was so much hilarious innuendo in this and lots of jabs at DC and Marvel. Definitely recommend it if you’re a Spidey and Deadpool fan. I read this as single issues because the TPB isn’t released until August and nobody has time for that.

You (You #1) by Caroline Kepnes – Honestly the only way to quickly describe this book is Fucked Up. It was amazing. I wasn’t expecting to be creeped out at all, but boy was I wrong. This was one psychologically disturbing read that seriously messed with my head. I’ll say more in my proper review, but damn. If you can handle books in third person whilst being in the head of a sociopathic stalker then read this ASAP.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab Archie Vol 1 by Mark Waid

Night Film by Marisha Pessl – I read this for Tome Topple (completing 2 challenges: “Read over 500 pages in one week” and “Read an adult novel“) and I’m so glad I did because it’s become one of my favourite books. It seriously broke the mold from so many crime thrillers out there. The multimedia format made you feel like you were a part of the investigation and there was an INCREDIBLE friendship. Cordova felt like a real person and I honestly wished I could watch all his movies.

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab – VICTORIA MY QUEEN. If I could have given this higher than 5 stars on Goodreads I would have. Again, I’ll say more in my proper review but I loved this so much. The world building and characters were AMAZING. I honestly have so many feelings about the characters even the antagonist. I was so immersed in the story and I can not wait to read A Gathering of Shadows.

Archie, Vol 1: The New Riverdale by Mark Waid, Fiona Staples (Illustrator), Annie Wu (Illustrator) and Veronica Fish (Illustrator) – This has officially become one of my all time favourite comic series. I never read the original Archie and didn’t really want to because I’m just not into the style. I was super glad when I found that it was being rebooted. I’m not familiar with the original, but from what I can tell by the throwback Archie comics they put at the end of each issue it has a lot of the same tones and themes it’s just a lot more modernised. Despite having so many illustrators the art style stays really similiar which is a bonus. I love the gang of characters so much. Veronica is my babe and not gonna lie, I have a bit of a crush on Jughead. I’m so excited for the CW show!

4 Stars

Monstress Vo  1 by Marjorie M. Liu Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Monstress, Vol 1 by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Illustrator) –  I received this via Netgalley. This comic was set in an alternate matriarchal 1900’s Asia. There’s steampunk and almost horror elements. This series is definitely brutal so if you don’t like violence then you might want to give it a mess. It took me 2 days to read this which is insane for a graphic novel. It was unique, but there was a lot of info dumping and I was confused for most of the story. The MC was really complex and layered though.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) by Laini Taylor – Again another book I’ll be doing a full review for, so I’ll keep it short. I really, really enjoyed this. I loved Karu and Zuzana. It was so wonderful seeing such a great female friendship. I adored Laini’s writing style and the ending was super intense. I wasn’t a fan of the romance though which is why I gave this 4 and not 5 stars.

3 Stars

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge by Ambrose Bierce I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid I.D. by Emma Ríos

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings – This was a quick fun read, but because it’s only technically a quarter of a book I wasn’t able to connect to it. I felt like the characters weren’t fleshed out and it was a bit infodump-y. I will be continuing it though because I did like it despite its flaws.

An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge – I wanted to read a classic a month this year, but I kinda fell behind so I decided to read this because it was short. It kinda really confused me for the most part. The writing was really beautiful at times, but all the Civil War references went right over my head. I guessed the ending too so it didn’t really have that much of an impact on me.

I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid – This was one of the most bizarre books I’ve read. I was unusually unsettled throughout the entire book. It was a quick and intense read and whilst it was unique something stopped me from absolutely loving it. Was definitely an experience though!

I.D. by Emma Ríos – I recieved this via Netgalley. This was another Tome Topple read (I completed the “Take a Graphic Novel Break” challenge). I was really excited to read it because it was all about identity issues and there was a sci-element. Basically, it was a world were body transplants were a thing and we followed a group of characters who all wanted to undergo one. The writing was really technical and there was lots of medical jargon that went right over my head. The art throughout was done entirely in red sketches so it all blurred together. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters so I didn’t care about them at all. I appreciate all the research Emma Ríos put into this though which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 2.

Notable Posts

Souvenirs from Across the World – An amazing feature that was created by the wonderful Marie. I spoke about my home state of Western Australia and my favourite Australian books.

My Blind Date With A Book

Make Me Read It Readathon – A readathon where you guys get to vote for what book I read!

Anticipated Upcoming Releases

Let’s Talk: Reading Outside Your Comfort Zone and Non YA BookTubers


I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of the books I read! I’d love to hear what your favourite read of the month was. Feel free to leave a link to your Wrap Up posts so I can drop by.

I hope your June was wonderful and that your July is even better xx


34 thoughts on “In Which I Actually Read Books Not Just Graphic Novels // Monthly Wrap Up: June (Part 2)

  1. I actually disliked the new Archie when I first saw it. I loved the older style and the way the stories were basically one offs. So it threw me off. But then I actually got around to reading it and found myself liking it. Try reading the Jughead series too, the art is a little different but it has a fun story.

    Like

    1. Aw, I’m glad you ended up enjoying it! I definitely understand why it would throw some people off who were fans of the original. I read the first issue in the Jughead series and I’m not the biggest fan of the art, but I’m really enjoying the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad I am not the only one to feel like Cordova was a real person. Seriously, at first I had to google if he was.
    I’m not sure if I can ask you, but … It has been a while since Hamilton got popular and now I don’t know what to do. Like, at this point I am too afraid to ask. Do I just listen to the songs you shared at the beginning of your posts and then I am done? Or do I have to watch something? How do I actually GET Hamilton? Please help a fellow blogger out! Thanks in advance, sweetheart!

    Like

    1. Haha, I did some Googling too 😂 Marisha Pessl did an amazing job!

      Don’t worry, I was equally as confused. I’m quite new myself so I don’t know everything, but I’ll try to be helpful haha. The only way to currently see the musical is on Broadway, so most of us have just listened to the soundtrack. The soundtrack is the entire musical though, there’s no missing pieces so you get the entire story. I saw a few things about them filming it, but I have no idea if/when that’s happening but fingers crossed because I realllly wanna see it. This video by Kirsti from Melbourne On My Mind was helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_BxtVyR2GQ and this article: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/theatre/what-to-see/what-is-hamilton-a-12-step-guide-to-your-new-musical-obsession/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I just want to welcome you to Hamilton! I’m not into musicals, but I listened to this soundtrack on repeat for months, and still do from time to time. (Since Novemeber). And this post reminded me how much I want to read Milk and Honey, but still haven’t.

    Like

    1. Haha, thank you! When I listened to the first few songs I was like “okay, it’s cool, but ehh” and then after a few more songs I was like “YES I UNDERSTAND NOW”. I definitely recommend milk and honey! It’s so incredible.

      Like

  4. I enjoyed Zenith as well and it was making me sad to see so many bad reviews of it considering it’s only a quarter of a book, yeah it’s not perfect but take it in context

    Like

  5. Great recap, and wow you got through quite a few books this month as well!
    I am so thrilled to see A Darker Shade of Magic is one of your favourites for this month, now you just need to read the second because I really want to hear what you think of that one! 😀
    Also I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it’s one of my favourite fantasy series and I completely agree with you I loved the relationship between Karou and Zuzana. I think the series gets so much better with the second and third book so I can;’t wait to see what you think of those books as well! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Beth! I was quiet happy with my progress considering I read more full length books than usual, haha.

      I definitely plan on getting to it very soon!! I’m beyond excited to return to the world and characters. I’m quite nervous too, haha. I imagine things are going to be stressful.

      I’m really excited to continue with the Smoke and Bone series! I loved Karou and Zuzana so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read a lot more books this month and last as well! I don’t think it was the most I’ve read in any given month but it was definitely up there!
        I loved A Gathering of Shadows so so much more than ADSOM, I’d say parts were more stressful but it’s all part of the fun of the story!
        In that case I’m looking forwards to seeing your thoughts on the rest of the series! 😀

        Like

  6. YES HAMILTON. It’s so good. You had a great reading month, I’m glad you find so many books that you loved! I have to read You and Night Film in July. I HAVE to.

    Like

  7. Oh man, everyone is talking about Hamilton and I need to see what all the hype is about! Great work on your reads this month, I am so happy you loved You, Night film and ADSOM! Great reading month, I hope you have a fabulous one ahead.

    Like

    1. Haha, that was me before I listened! It really is such a fun and addicting soundtrack. The more you listen the more you connect with the story too. Those three have definitely been some of my favourite reads of the year! Thanks so much, Jeann ♥

      Like

  8. Hamilton yesssss! I love Hamilton. And Satisfied is my favorite song as well. I also think it’s the best written and overall just most well done of all the songs.

    I read You last month and Hidden Bodies this month. I loved You, also. Soooo creepy. I honestly kept looking over my shoulder and out my window as I was listening to the audiobook. I definitely think more people need to be reading this one!

    Like

  9. You’ve only been blogging for four months?! That’s crazy! You definitely seem like you’ve been blogging for longer!

    I really want to like how ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ sounds, but I’ve read a book before that was a little similar in a way of London and parallel London’s (in this book it was like Scotland and parallel Scotlands) and that book was so weird and confusing that it made me dizzy. I fear it’s put me off parallel universes intertwining for good :/ I’ll have to wait until you post your review to see how this book really sounds. The synopsis doesn’t really sound like something I would be dying to read but it does sound interesting.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  10. ADSOM! YAYY! I’ve had both books in this series for a couple of months now, but I haven’t gotten to them yet! They sound WONDERFUL, though, and I’m so happy you loved this one so much you wanted to give it more than five stars.

    I’m so beyond excited to read it now. Thanks for the awesome review!

    Like

  11. I love Hamilton one of my favourite songs is Burn and You’ll be back ☺️ ADSOM and You are so good! I love your description of You, Joes my favourite fucked up person ever 😂🙈
    You had a great reading month! Hope you have an even better July!

    Like

    1. Thanks 😊 I’m pretty new to poetry and I really enjoyed it. I think it’s something everyone can read so I definitely recommend giving it a go!! A bunch of the poems are on Rupi Kaur’s Instagram if you want to see if you like it!!

      Like

  12. Great that you read so many good books this month! I saw a few of Rupi Kaur’s poems on Instagram/Pinterest and really love them, so I want to read the whole book now.
    And I’ve been resisting listening to the Hamilton soundtrack for so long now, I think it’s time to just give in and see what it’s all about 🙂

    Like

  13. STILL haven’t watched/listened to Hamilton yet xD I used to love the Archie comics when I was younger & recently I picked them up again & the whole love triangle business just made me cringe ahaha xD But the new artwork looks so cool, I might give it another shot!

    Like

  14. Isn’t it Bromantic sounds like the best thing ever lmao. 😂
    I’m glad you managed to read so much! I haven’t read a single word in like two months. 😅

    Like

Leave a comment