I Am Conquering My Big Book Fears // Tome Topple Readathon

Tome Topple Readathon

So, Sam @ Thoughts On Tomes is doing a readathon from June 5 – June 19. Unlike a lot of other readathons this one isn’t about trying to read as many books as you can, but instead it’s focused on reading books on your shelf with 500+ pages.

If you want some more information you can watch Sam’s video here and then head on over to her blog post to sign up! There’s going to be a giveaway, challenges and sprints. Sign ups close June 4th – you can still participate, but won’t be eligible for the giveaway. The challenges/sprints aren’t mandatory, but could be fun! I’m thinking of doing challenge 2 which is: Take a graphic novel break (doesn’t need to be over 500 pages!)” because obviously that’s going to be the easiest for me 😂

I’ve mentioned numerous times that if a book has over 400 pages then I am absolutely TERRIFIED of it. There is a range of reasons why, but the main one being my attention span. I know a lot of people don’t care about the number of pages, but it is almost physically impossible for me to focus on something with so many pages. It’s just really intimidating to me.

Well this seems like the perfect time to conquer that fear!

I am a mood reader so I really don’t know what I’ll feel like at the time, but here’s just a few books that I’m considering. There is no way I am going to read ALL of these. I just have no idea what I want to read so I’m listening a few possibilities!


The (Possible) Books

Covers = Goodreads

The Diviners by Libba Bray Demon Road by Derek Landy A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

• The Diviners by Libba Bray – 578 Pages
• Demon Road by Derek Landy – 508 pages
• A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – 640 pages

Night Film by Marisha Pessl The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

• Night Film by Marisha Pessl – 599 pages
• The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – 576 pages

I’m currently leaning towards Night Film because that just seems like it’s going to be super interesting and it’s a thriller, which I LOVE. It has a format similar to Illuminae with like Wikipedia articles and photos ect. I also have a physical copy and it’s on my Priority TBR, so!! If a miracle happens and I actually finish it then I think I’ll go with The Book Thief. Honestly though, who the heck knows what’s going to happen. I guess we’ll have to wait and see 😅 I know these books aren’t much over 500 pages and that there’s ones out there in the 1000s, but still these are intimidating to me and that’s the entire point of this challenge. I’m really hoping this will help ease my stress when it comes to large books and I’m excited to take part!


Are you participating in the Tome Topple Readathon? Do larger books intimidate you or are you totally chill with them?

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

54 thoughts on “I Am Conquering My Big Book Fears // Tome Topple Readathon

  1. I’m not sure I’m brave enough for this right now (plus I’ve had a reading slump, I feel like I need to catch up on numbers? Why I wonder, we know it’s quality over quantity.. ? hm.)
    HAVE so much FUN! I will be living vicariously through you on this one. Can’t wait to read all about it, and looking forward especially to the Book Thief if you wake that one up 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, I’m not sure I am either tbh! 😅 Ah, I definitely understand that. I’ve been out of reading quite a while so I feel like I have a huge list to catch up on!

      Thanks! If I don’t get it during this readathon then I’ll definitely be reading it sometime soon.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Some books I don’t even notice how long they are, and then there are others that I check the pages all the time! It really depends on how much the book intrigues me. This sounds like a great challenge for some books I’ve had on my TBR. And Night Film is one I’ve been eyeing for some time. I’ll check the video on Thoughts on Tomes to see if I’ll participate 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely! That was like me with Illuminae. That book wa gigantic, but I didn’t even notice because I was so immersed and having so much fun. I’m hoping Night Film will be the same. If you decide to participate, I’d definitely be interesting in hearing what books you plan on reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I signed up! Now I have to figure out what book to read. I’m honestly considering Night Film because the book I had in mind wasn’t as big as I thought, oops.

        Like

  3. Large books used to be my favourites a few years back, because I didn’t have a library card and no kindle and only read German copies, which are a lot more expensive than English copies, so I was always happy to have some more pages, before the book would end. But now that I have a library card (which I don’t use that often, but still) a kindle (with tons of free books and sales with books for just a few bucks) I find myself reading a lot less big books than before. It’s weird haha 😅 I might jump on last minute for the readathon, I’m not so sure though, because I don’t know how much free time I’ll have next month. Happy reading, you have some amazing books on your tbr! 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s definitely understandable! When I was younger I definitely had no problem with larger books. I read the 5th Harry Potter book in one day 😅 Now I’m definitely like you though because I have more books available to me I just want to read all of them and I can read smaller books quicker.

      If you decided to participate then I hope you have fun too 🙂 And thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s impressive! I also read similarly big books in short time back then, sometimes an almost 600 page book in two days, on school days even. Those were good reading days haha. Yes, that’s exactly what I think! Smaller books mean you can read more different ones in short time. You’re welcome ❤ 🙂 Thank you too 😀

        Like

          1. Same. You’re not alone 😂 😅
            Ah I totally know what you mean. I’ve been in a slump for so long now, but it’s not a normal one. I want to read and if I sit down to read I’ll finish the book in short time, but I’m currently having problems with the part of actually sitting down just for reading. There’s always something I do instead so I don’t get any reading done. I don’t even know why 😳 😅

            Like

    1. Right! Haha, I’m not sure I am either, but we’ll see what happens 😅 Thank you! I want to read ACOMAF before I get spoiled, but I also didn’t really enjoy ACOTAR that much so I’m a little hesitant. I do plan on getting to it eventually though!

      Like

  4. I’m not sure how many books I have on my to-read list which are over 500 pages but this is a great idea for a reading challenge! And you’ve picked some great books as well; I may have only read A Court of Mist and Fury and The Book Thief but they are both amazing! I really hope you love them both as much as I did 😀
    I have The Diviners on my to-read list too, haven’t gotten around to it yet but maybe I’ll wait for your review before deciding when to pick it up! 🙂

    Like

    1. I didn’t either until I checked Goodreads and I saw there was way more than I realised. I even have some in the 1000s If I don’t get to them during the readathon I’m hoping I will soon – especially The Book Thief.

      If I decide to go with The Diviners there’ll definitely be a review up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! They honestly scare me so much. That’s very true! It definitely depends on how enjoyable the book is. I just can’t even bring myself to start reading bigger books to see 😅 but I’m hoping this readathon will help me be less nervous!

      Like

  5. I have the same fear! I will have books that are 400+ pages sitting on my shelf for months at a time. I think the book is the one that overcomes that fear depending on how good it is. Hope it all works out for you! Good luck!

    Like

  6. I’m hoping to get through The Diviners during this readathon, too! I still have The Book Thief to read, also. Maybe we can buddy read them together?!

    Like

  7. Ooh this sounds like a wonderful readathon. I’m one of those people who aren’t really intimidated by big books but I tend not to prioritise them because I can read a few shorter books in the same amount of time. I hope the readathon goes well for you and I highly recommend The Book Thief!

    Thanks for visiting us at Happy Indulgence too!

    Like

    1. Yes! I’m definitely excited because I’m hoping it’ll help me conquer my fear, haha. Being able to read short books quicker is definitely one of the main reasons why I tend to avoid bigger books. Thank you! I’m really excited to eventually get to The Book Thief.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Just happened upon your blog. I absolutely loved The Book Thief and The Diviners! They’re amazing reads. I’ve recommended them to many people and even the ones who shy away from big books enjoyed them. 🙂

    All the best for the readathon! 🙂

    Like

  9. I’m really scared of books with more than 300 pages! I’m more worried about the fact that I might lose interest in the book, no matter how awesome (like clash of kings), midway. I really admire you for taking up this challenge! I’m looking forward to reading about your experience! 😊 all the best!

    Like

  10. I think I’m going to participate in this! I read whatever and don’t mind the size of a book (unless it has an extra 200 pages of ramble that doesn’t need to be there) although I find myself reluctant to pick up some bigger books if I’m not in the mood for them (like the Outlander series).
    I have a few big books I need to get to so hopefully this will give me the motivation to pick them up XD

    Like

    1. Yay!! Oh yeah that’s the worst!! I think that’s another reason why bigger books intimidate me because the pacing tends to be slower. I don’t have any plans to read Outlander, but those books still terrify me 😅 If you decide to participate then I hope you have fun and good luck 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I’d like to participate, though I’m still trying to decide on what books to read 🙂 I do have quite a few big books on my TBR that I’ve been meaning to get to for ages now so this seems like the perfect time!

    Like

  12. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one! 🙂 I loved the Passage but I couldn’t finish it. 😦 I’d love to read all the books you have here! especially The Diviners. Good Luck Lauren! 🙂

    Like

  13. I just heard about this on Instagram and I am definitely thinking I’ll be joining up! What a great idea!

    I just finished ACOMAF last week and trust me when I say you will FLY through it. I read 400+ passages in a single session because after a certain point I just could not stop. It’s been a week and I’m still buzzing from that book. It is soo good ❤

    Katie @ http://www.katsyxo.com

    Like

    1. Yay! It’s definitely a great motivation to knock some bigger books off your TBR.

      It’s really good to hear you enjoyed it! I wasn’t the biggest fan of ACOTAR so I’m a little hesitant to read ACOMAF, but I’m still going to try and go in with an open mind!

      Like

Leave a Reply

