Top Ten Tuesday: #5

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s theme: Ten Books Every [X] Should Read

My choice: Ten Books Every YA Thriller/Horror Fan Should Read or Ten Books to Try Out if You Want to Start Reading YA Horrors & Thrillers

I’m seriously cheating with this because I posted a Top 5 YA Horror list a while ago when I wasn’t really using the blog properly, but I honestly couldn’t think of anything else so 😉 And this way I get to add 5 more books to it. I know there’s a ton of great horrors/thrillers out there that I haven’t read yet, but I’ll get to them! I’m always open to recommendations!

Click on the covers to go the Goodreads page.

Shift by Em Bailey Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake Need by Joelle Charbonneau

Shift by Em Bailey – An amazing psychological genre-bending thriller with an insane plot twist that will MESS YOU UP. You’ll probably cry

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake – An amazing friendship group with a wonderful dynamic. Ghost hunting. A cursed ghost that’s more than meets the eye. There’s romance, blood and one of the main settings is an abandoned Victorian manner in the woods. Like, c’mon. Talk about the perfect #aesthetic.

Need by Joelle Charbonneau – A scarily realistic look on the psychology of how far certain people will go to get what they want feat. social media

Stolen by Lucy Christopher Say Her Name by Juno Dawson Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James

Stolen by Lucy Christopher – A super realistic and intense take on Stockholm Syndrome. You’ll be messed up for days/weeks/months. You’ll probably cry.

Say Her Name by Juno Dawson – A brilliant retelling of the Bloody Mary legend, with fun pop culture references and a lovely female friendship. Books don’t usually scare me, but this made me want to avoid my bathroom mirror for days.

Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James – A contemporary thriller with so many twists and turns you’ll be on the edge of your seat the entire time. It’s a roller coaster from start to finish. You’ll probably cry.

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion Four Houses by Victoria Scott

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – One of the most unique and creative takes on zombies that I have ever seen. You’ll probably cry.

Four Houses by Victoria Scott – A crazy, amazing short story that feels like a full length novel. An extremely interesting and unique concept that is super haunting, messed up, beautiful and will make you think. You’ll wish you could keep reading it forever. Oh yeah btw, it’s free.

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz – Every teen slasher ever in book form. Interesting characters with multi POVs. There’s a strong female lead, blood, gore and it’s set in an abandoned amusement park. What more could you want?

The Merciless by Danielle Vega – Psychotic teenage girls perform exorcisms in their spare time. Fast paced. Intense. Blood. Gore. Messed up. The ending will drive you crazy in the best way.

Make sure to let me know if you’ve read any of these books or plan on reading them! Also leave a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post if you have one!


34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: #5

  1. Nice list! I definitely should read some more thrillers or horror books. I’ve only read Warm Bodies from your list (and LOVED it), but these others seem great too. Especially Stolen has been on my radar for a while.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed Warm Bodies 😀 I’m all about encouraging people to read more thrillers and horrors, haha. Stolen is definitely a must read. When I first heard about it I was so worried it was going to be some kind of sketchy romance, but it’s so gritty and realistic.

      Like

  2. These are such good picks for this week! And I love the theme as well, I haven’t read any of them but I’ve heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood. I loved Kendare Blake’s other series so I may have to pick this book up!

    Like

  3. Great list – I love horror and thrillers, but don’t read nearly enough! Great pick for Anna Dressed in Blood – I loved it! Unfortunately I didn’t like Shift though, but I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I’ll be certain to add some of these to my TBR, especially Welcome to the Dark House, which sounds amazing!
    Heres my TTT

    Like

    1. They’re so good! I’m so happy you liked Anna! And aw, that’s okay. Honestly I’m just glad that someone has heard of Shift never alone read it, haha. I’m sorry it wasn’t for you though! Yay, I hope you enjoy them 🙂

      Like

  4. I own Say her Name, Welcome to the Dark House, and The Merciless but haven’t gotten the chance to pick them up yet! I’ve been sort of hoarding horror books, as I want to get into an “October Horror” routine. XD We’ll see what happens though, lol.

    Like

Leave a comment