The Book Fests Award

Book Fests Award

It’s been AGES since I’ve down an Award/Tag and I’d never seen this one until I was nominated for it by Sara @ Freadom LibraryMeghan @ Meghan’s Whimsical Explorations & Reviews. Thank you so much, Meghan and Sara! Make sure to go check out their posts and blogs because they’re both super, super lovely ♥ I tried to find out who originally created this, but I wasn’t able to!

sep

The Rules

bookfestsaward_edited-1

  • It’s always proper and the right thing to do, when you receive something from someone, you thank them. It’s the same with this award. You can link the blogger who presents the award blog in the post you use to fulfill the requirements of the award.
  • Answer the award questions that will be listed below.
  • Write a Fifty Word Story, because it’s fun.
  • Award five or more bloggers with this Award.
  • Ask them a question of your making, you’ll like them to answer.
  • Put up the award image badge on your blog via image widget.

the questions

A book you started but never finished but want to finish. What stopped you from continuing to read it?

The Martian

For some reason every time I start The Martian by Andy Weir something in my life gets in the way. I’ve started reading it like 3 or 4 times??? I want to finish it SO BAD because I loved the movie and the book has been hilarious so far.

What elements attract you to a book, which makes you need to read it?

The first thing I notice is the cover. In terms of the content though anything horror or thriller related is almost impossible for me to resist no matter how cliche. Of course now diversity is super important to me so that’s something I’m always looking out for too.

Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

I LOVE buying physical copies – they’re so pretty. However in terms of actually reading I prefer ebooks. They are just so much more convenient. I tend to read ebooks a lot quicker than physical copies and it’s so much easier to highlight things.

What book are you currently reading or going to read?

History is All You Left Me The Love Interest

I literally have under 100 pages left of History is All You Left Me and it’s so frustrating that I’ve been in such a slump and haven’t been able to finish it! I also started The Love Interest pre-slump and am about 20% in. I’m loving HIAYLM  – the portrayal of grief is something I really relate to. The Love Interest has been interesting so far too, but I know there’s some problems with it so I’ll definitely be keeping that in mind when I read it.

Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

Yes and no? I mean, if you don’t like the general concept that’s happening in the movie then you probably won’t like the book either. However if it’s something you think you might like but the movie is cast or directed badly I don’t think you should presume that the book is badly written ect. They are two very different mediums. Sometimes the movie is better than the book so. I hated the Gone Girl book, but I loved the movie. It kind of works both ways, haha.

What book did you badly judge by its cover and end up loving?

I honestly can’t think of anything for this one? I feel like a lot of cringe-y covers are contemporary romances which I don’t read anyway? I know there’s quite a few awkward YA Fantasy/Paranormal ones too like the original Delirium covers, but I haven’t read those yet. So???

To flip this around the main reason I decided to buy A Court of Thorns and Roses was because I LOVED the cover. It’s why I picked it up and the blurb sounded intriguing enough so I bought it. I ended up really, really disliking it.

Which book character have you felt the most kin with and able to relate with?

Queens of Geek The Upside of Unrequited

Artwork by rick-a320

Ahhhhh man. This is another hard one because I mostly see bits and pieces of myself in characters? Instead of being like LITERALLY ME. The only character I feel like that about is April Ludgate from Parks and Recreation. I suppose recently I’ve really connected with Taylor from Queens of Geek and Molly from The Upside of Unrequited. Then of course Hermione and Luna from Harry Potter. Maybe Thalia from the Percy Jackson series?

Meghan's Question

If you could make any character into a Sim, who would it be and why?

Image result for blue sargent
Artwork by britaisy

Ahhh, I love this!! It’s been ages since I’ve played The Sims, but I LOVE Create-A-Sim. I think I’d really love to make Blue from The Raven Cycle. I feel like I could get super creative with her and know her style. I actually really want to try that now, haha.

Is there a specific genre that you tend to avoid and why?

Normally straight up Romance or those summer-y YA Contemporary reads. They’re just not something I can really connect to. There needs to be a deeper element to them, mostly something to do with diversity for me to even consider picking them up. High/Epic Fantasy is another one I usually avoid because they’re too much for my brain to comprehend.

50 Word Story

You’re about to see why I am NOT  a writer okay, lmao. The extent of my writing history is EXTREMELY bad self-insert band fan fic. This isn’t even a story it’s just like free form word vomit that is 53 words instead. Oops.

It’s the way your heart beats in time to the music because it’s the blood that’s pumping through your veins. It’s ink and needle etching your love permanently into your skin for the world to see, but it’s still not enough. It’s drowning yourself in your favourite lyrics so you can finally breathe.

tagging

I literally have no idea who has or hasn’t done this tag or who is even ok with being tagged for awards and things anymore so feel free to do this if you want and use Meghan’s or Sara’s wonderful questions!!

sep

Would love to hear your thoughts on anything I mentioned!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day.

 lauren xx.png

Find me: TwitterGoodreads – society6RedBubble


19 thoughts on “The Book Fests Award

  1. Ah Hermione and Luna. I’ve been fighting an urge to read Harry Potter because i’ve had to reread (sorry you don’t like it) ACOTAR AND ACOMAF ready for ACOWAR. I’m feeling a big pull to read it again. I need to be reunited with Luna, Hermione and Ron.
    I’ve also read Delirium and loved the first book when I read it years ago but never moved on, now there’s so many books on my TBR I don’t know if I will ever go back to them!

    Like

    1. Luna and Hermione were both so important to me when I was growing up. Luna especially helped me embrace my weirdness, haha.

      I’ve owned Delirium for SO long, haha. I loved Lauren Oliver’s newest release Replica so I want to try and get to it at some point but who knows 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I still haven’t read Replica! I totally forgot about that book. I get what you mean, there’s so many books out there that the ones we own end up keep getting pushed under the newer ones!

        Like

  2. I loved reading this! I’m glad you enjoyed doing it! 😀 Horror is an amazing genre! One of my go-tos! Blue would be an amazing character as a Sim! I loved her in the books! 🙂 I also really loved your 50 word story, it was relatable and so well put! 😀

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you so much!! Riiiight. It’s my favourite and is normally what helps me get out of slumps so I might have to try and pick one up actually and see if it helps get me out of the one I’m currently in. I really want to go into CAS and see if I can create her now, haha. Ahhh, thank you!! I was lowkey nervous about posting it because I’m not a writer at all, but I figured I’d just go with it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Martian was a book I had trouble with but still loved if that makes sense? I definitely understand why you have’t finished it, I think the part I disliked the most was how….math-y and science-y for me at times! The best part is how hilarious Mark’s narrative is though!
    I’m definitely looking forward to hearing your full thoughts on The Love Interest since it sounds so good but I have heard mixed things on it.
    I’m also excited to read my copy of Queens of Geek since I feel like I’ll be able to really relate to the characters too!
    I also laughed when you put down you don’t like romance or summer-y YA contemporary because that’s ME TOO! If there are any books I’d run away from it’d be those! I always think I don’t like all contemporary but that’s not true because I loved books like “The Hate U Give”, you nailed it with saying summery-y ones because those are what I avoid too! 🙂

    Like

    1. omg yes, the science and math stuff is DEFINITELY going over my head, haha. I think if it wasn’t such an unique take on a survival story that I probably wouldn’t be able to get through it?

      I hope you LOVE Queens of Geek. It is a really simply written book, but it discusses so many important issues and the characters are all super relatable. And it’s not that type of cringe-y fandom book either.

      RIIIIGHT. They just don’t really do anything for me? I mean I get why people want to read them because they’re light and fun, but I need something with more grit and substance. Ahhh, I’ve REALLY gotta read THUG.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! The fact that it’s a survival story on Mars makes it much more thrilling to read but yes if it wasn’t I wouldn’t bother to read it because like you said it goes way over my head!

        I put Queens of Geek on my TBR for this month so I’m looking forward to it. I’m glad that the characters are all relatable since I feel “geekier” characters to me would be!

        I hate to add to all the hype but THUG is straight up amazing…. haha 🙂

        Like

  4. Oh, these are some fun and original questions 🙂
    Happy to hear you’re loving HIAYLM, despite the slump! I just finished The Love Interest and I liked it at first, but about halfway I just… didn’t. And I’m so disappointed because it was my most anticipated book of the year. Hope you’re enjoying it way more though!
    Love the characters you picked – Taylor, Molly, Luna and Hermione are all so relatable in thir own ways.
    And don’t feel bad about your 50-word story! I LOVED it and related to it, and that in just 50 words so ❤

    Like

    1. Right! It was cool seeing an Award/Tag that didn’t have all the same questions.

      Ahhh no, sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy TLI. I have heard lots of mixed things. It’s such a shame because it’s definitely one of my most anticipated too. Fingers crossed I can still like it even if I don’t love it.

      Ahh, thank you 🙈

      Like

  5. Great answers for this tag Lauren, I’ve never seen this tag before so I really loved reading your post.
    I still need to read The Love Interest, The Upside of Unrequited and Queens of Geek but seeing them all featured in your answers has made me all the more excited to get around to them, hopefully soon! 😀
    Also I really love physical copies of books but yeah I find it so much easier to read those on my Kindle, especially while on the train which is where I get most of my reading done! 🙂
    Again great answers for this award. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment