Music Monday 🎧 My Albums of the Year

albums-of-the-year

It took me about 2 weeks to decide my favourite albums of the year. I created about 4 different lists. I originally had over 50 albums that I wanted to try and cut down to 10. It was not easy. 2016 was a really a good year for music and I discovered so many new bands!

Please ignore how repetitive I am when explaining why I love each album. I am NOT a music reviewer. I just listen.

sep

To see a full list of all my favourite albums then be sure to check out this Spotify playlist!

If you want to see a list of ALL the albums I downloaded in 2016 you can do that HERE.

sep

This is in alphabetical order because trying to do favourite order would be even more impossible

Bad Omens – Bad Omens [Post Hardcore]

bad_omens_self_titled_1425
Stream the Album on Spotify

I only found out about Bad Omens last month, but I became obsessed with this album. I listened to it on repeat about 15 times. Something about their music just instantly connected with me. It’s been a while since I found a new post-hardcore band and it was just really great coming back to my favourite genre.

Favourite song


Panic! At The Disco – Death Of A Bachelor [Alt Rock]

81swv9e0dwl-_sl1500_

Stream the Album on Spotify

I mentioned Panic! in my “Bands that Changed My Life” post so I was really excited, but nervous for this album. I wasn’t a fan of Hallejulah when it was first released. I was really worried this album was going to be Pretty.Odd all over again for me because I don’t like that album. However, as more singles got released I really loved them. Then hearing the whole thing I was in love and it’s hard to believe that there was a time when I thought I was going to like this.

Favourite song

This song never fails to put me in a good mood. I just want to dance around my room every time I hear it.


Pierce The Veil – Misadventures [Post Hardcore]

100000x100000-999
Stream the Album on Spotify

You’ve probably seen me talk a lot about how much I love Pierce The Veil. They’re another band I mentioned in my “Bands that Changed My Life” post. They are so important to me. This is PTV’s first album in 4 years. I honestly didn’t think we were ever going to get it at one point. It was an incredibly long and anxious wait, as thoughts like “maybe they’re breaking up” plagued my mind. That wait was totally worth it though when Misadventures was finally released. I’ve been listening to this album on repeat since May. It’s everything I wanted and more. Pierce The Veil have such an unique sound, both instrumentally and vocally. In interviews Vic always says how he wanted every song to be a story on it’s own and it definitely is.

Favourite songs

Vic wrote Phantom Power and Ludicrous Speed about how difficult writing Misadventures was and it’s just so real and raw. You can tell just how much he put himself through to get this album out. I also think this song really showcases how versatile Vic’s vocal range is. Song For Isabelle is about a girl he met. She spoke about how all the horrible things that happen in the world make her feel so helpless and I relate to that so much. The opening verse describes how I feel a lot.


Rarity – I Couldn’t Be Weaker || Trash Boat – Nothing I Write You Could Change What You’ve Been Through [Pop Punk]

rarity 0007216450_10
Stream I Couldn’t Be Weaker on Spotify || Stream Nothing I Write You Can Change What You’ve Been Through on Spotify

These are together because I’d be pretty much saying the same things. I discovered both bands this year and instantly connected with their unique pop punk sound. I love the gritty and raw feel to each album and both are really different to a lot of other pop punk bands that are out there. Both albums definitely focus on the heavier side of pop punk and I love it.

Favourite Songs


Real Friends – The Home Inside My Head [Pop Punk]

rf_home-cover_lores

Stream the Album on Spotify

I’ve loved Real Friends for a few years now. When I first started lightening to them all they had out was a couple of EPs so it’s been awesome seeing them signed and release albums. When I first listened to The Home Inside My Head I really liked it, but didn’t think much else about it. However, recently, I started listening to it again and I was just pulled in. The lyrics made me feel so many nostalgic things.

Favourite Song

I just really love the way this song sounds? It’s so gritty. It makes me feel alive.


Stuck Out – What We’ve Come To Be (EP) [Pop Punk]

a4060162014_10

Stream the Album on Spotify

What We’ve Come To Be may only be a 3 song release, but it deserves to be here. I discovered Stuck Out a few weeks ago and they’re easily one of my favourite bands now. They’re songs are raw and gritty (can you sense a trend of what I like when it comes to music?) and have such a great sound. The reason this is here is because those 3 songs have me DYING for more. I can not wait until this band releases a full length because I already know it’s going to make it onto my top albums list for that year. Plus, I love supporting local bands!

Favourite Song


Too Close To Touch – Haven’t Been Myself [Post Hardcore]

0045778747061-png-925x925_q90
Stream the Album on Spotify

This is only Too Close To Touch’s second album, but it’s easily one of the best of the year. The songs are full of so much emotion. Their debut was AMAZING, but this has shown that they’ve gotten even better. A track off this called Eiley is one of my favourite songs of the year. It makes me cry (like sobbing crying) every time I listen to it because it’s so real and genuine and 100% emotion.

Favourite Song 

This song is about the vocalist’s sister who passed away. You can feel the pain he feels. It’s beautifully heart-wrenching how honest he is.


Trophy Eyes – Chemical Miracle [Pop Punk]

56ee5d874c32e78353e3cad47cf2558f-960x960x1
Stream the Album on Spotify

Another Australian band I discovered this year that made my top albums list! Trophy Eyes lyrics are so raw and honest. I immediately connected with the themes in them. They don’t hold back. From the first song you’re just thrown into intense and real lyrics and each song just builds on that. Again, they focus on the heavier side of pop punk which I love.

Favourite Song


With Confidence – Better Weather [Pop Punk]

47d673dc-474c-49ae-b47e-eb60bcab66e6-1024x1024
Stream the Album on Spotify

You’ve probably seen me talk about With Confidence a lot too! They’re another Australian band. I’ve been a fan for a few years now and seeing them signed to a major US label and release a debut album has been so good. This album completely took me by surprise. I’ve loved all their releases, but this feels like a 2nd or 3rd album not their first. Everything about this is perfect; the lyrics, the vocals, the sound. I am so excited to see what With Confidence does next.

Favourite Song

Jayden, the vocalist, wrote this about mental illness. The title is Voldemort because 1) he’s a huge Harry Potter fan and 2) it’s a play on how everyone is too scared to speak about mental illness and how their’s a stigma attached to it


Honorable Mentions

As I said above my original list had over 50 albums. I couldn’t not give a shout out to some of my other favourites that I lost sleep over because I couldn’t decide whether to include them or not.

All links go to Spotify

The 1975 – I like it when you sleep for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of itA Day To Remember – Bad VibrationsThe Amity Affliction – This Could Be HeartbreakAgainst The Current – In Our BonesBeartooth – Aggressiveblink-182 – CaliforniaChelsea Grin – Self InflictedColumbus – Spring Forever • The Hamilton MixtapeHands Like House – DissonantsHayley Kiyoko – Citrine [EP]letlive. – If I’m The Devil…Little Mix – Glory DaysMoose Blood – BlushTkay Maidza – TKAYVanna – All Hell

sep

Do you love any of these albums? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

What’s your favourite album that was released this year?

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx


14 thoughts on “Music Monday 🎧 My Albums of the Year

  1. Great list! I love Panic at the Disco’s new album it’s so much fun to listen to!
    I am a huge Pierce the Veil fan, but I don’t know, maybe it was their long hiatus, but I couldn’t get into that album. I bought it & I’ve listened to it but it doesn’t speak to me like Selfish Machines did. God that is still my favourite PTV album!
    I just bought the new ADTR album for my brother for Christmas, I am such a bad punk-rock fan I’ve been so out of the scene this year and I haven’t listened to it 😦 But Issues had a really good album, I like Head Space, I can say I listened to one album this year ha! OH & Andy Biersak (I am so spelling that wrong) his new album was also REALLY good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve only heard of Panic at the Disco from your main list and Little Mix, The Hamilton Mixtape and Blink 182 from your honorable mentions list. My favorite album to be released this year has to be Lady GaGa’s Joanne!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Little Mix sticks out like a sore thumb but it’s great that you like them too! Most of these are bands that I do not know so I can only comment on how cool I think all the album covers are. I used to try and create my own versions for my favorite albums but I failed really hard haha.
    I cannot find your profile on Twitter or respond to the DM you sent me last night my time so I hope you’re okay and I hope to see you around there again ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha!!!! Yeah. My music taste can be pretty random. Tkay Maidza is hip hop so I suppose that’s even more different to Little Mix. Oooh, that’s so cool!! I used to make really cringe-y banners and things back in the day on Livejournal 😅

      I just felt like really trapped and suffocated yesterday by everything (it was one of my bad days) and there was nothing but fighting on my TL and I have enough of that going on my irl so I just deactivated it for a while. I’ll probably be back soon because I can’t stay away. I just needed a break ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was lowkey super worried about you, and I was kind of scared that it might’ve been something with your sister so this is actually calming me the f down haha I totally understand what you mean about the fighting. Sometimes I can’t handle it and check out of Twitter for awhile. I miss you lots there though so I hope to see your tweets soon ❤️😘😊

        Like

        1. Ahh, I’m so sorry for making you worry ♥ I probably should have said something. I just felt rly self destructive so I kinda did it on a whim and without thinking about the consequences that might have happened since my brain was all “no one will even notice” haha. My sister and I are both okay ♥♥

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Of course I’m gonna notice! We were just talking the night before and my message didn’t send, so I tried to send it in the morning and then Twitter was like “you can’t message her anymore” and I freaked out haha. Either way, I’m glad you’re both okay and I totally understand and I’m glad you took the steps to accomplish what you needed to be safe and happy. I hope you come back so we can chat again ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay, a new Music Monday ❤ I only know a few of these albums (Panic! At The Disco, Pierce The Veil, With Confidence and Too Close To Touch) but I love them all! Oh, and of course The Hamilton Mixtape, Blink 182 and Against The Current from the honorable mentions. Will definitely be checking out some of the others!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great list Lauren, I imagine for you picking your favourite artists must be as hard as picking your favourite books for this year! I feel like I have the same favourite artists every year so it’s not as much of a challenge for me picking my faves of 2016. 😀
    I haven’t actually listened to any of these, other than Panic at the Disco and Little Mix from your honourable mentions, but I will certainly be checking a few of them out. I feel like I’ve heard a lot about Pierce the Veil from you in particular and I’m curious about their songs to say the least!
    Hopefully 2017 will be just as good a year for music for you. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. There’s so many bands on your list that I haven’t heard anything of yet, so they’ve all been added to the check-out-immediately list! 😃 Too Close To Touch is SO good, I yet have to check out the full album though. Some of Against The Current’s and The Amity Affliction’s new songs are on my favorites list! And ADTR, ah I wanted to absolutely love their new album, but writing a review and actually having to put in numbers how much I enjoyed it made me realize how high expectations were for it. Which song of Bad Vibrations is your favorite?
    Great list, Lauren! Not suprised it took you 2 weeks to put this list together, there’s way too many new Releases to choose from! I probably would’ve needed a full month haha 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I hope you find some stuff you enjoy 😀 Ahhh you have to listen to TCTT’s album in full as soon as you can because it’s incredible. Bad Vibrations was a really solid album! I feel like it’s so hard to rate ADTR albums because they have such a similar sound, but I love that because I know I’m always going to like what they release haha. I think my faves from this album are Paranoia (because it describes anxiety/panic disorder perfectly) and We Got This because “I’ve got this” is something I try to tell myself every day. What about you?

      Haha, it almost did take a full month 😀 There were so many good albums!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! Can’t wait to set time aside to listen to the full album, I feel like it needs to be listened to without any distractions. 😄
        True, ADTR stays true to their sound haha yeah it’s nice to not be hit in the face with a completely new sound every other album like some other bands do. (Though that can be amazing as well.) Paranoia is great! My absolute favorite is Bullfight, it has an amazing balance between lyrics, melodic and heavy rhythms which I appreciate a lot in songs!
        No surprise there haha I didn’t even think of making a top list because there’s no way I could do it this year. Maybe next year though 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment