My Anticipated Reads for the First Half of 2017 (Part 1)

anticipated-2017-reads

I was going to post this for TTT, but then I realised I had 30 books on my list because I AM AN INDECISIVE TRASH CAN (there’s so many good books coming out next year?). Then if you follow me on Twitter you would have seen that my little sister ended up in hospital (she’s home now!) so on top of that and Christmas shopping I just didn’t have time (it’s why I’ve been away for the past week). So you get it now instead and in two parts! Yay!

thrillers

final-girls-beautiful-broken-girls-follow-me-back-the-roanoke-girls-city-of-saints-thieves

City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson – [Jan 24] – Β A girl and her motherΒ flee the Congo for Kenya. Her mother is shot and she’s after revenge and starts working as a thief with a local gang. Plus anything involve music is a huge win.

The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel – [March 7] – Intense family drama/mystery about a girl who’s mother runs away and then years later her cousin goes missing. She has to figure out if it’s connected and what’s really going on.

Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger – [June 1] –Β A pop star meets their #1 fan, but no one is who they say they are. According to the blurb it’s like a Catfish episode that takes a “deadly turn”. I love internet culture so I’m extremely interested in this.

Final Girls by Riley Sager – [June 29] – A bunch of girls who survive different massacres. One of those girls shows up dead. I LIVE FOR THIS TROPE.

Beautiful Broken Things by Kim SavageΒ – [Feb 21]Β – Two sisters commit suicide and a boy that was in love with one of them discovers a trail notes that she left behind.

horrors

house-of-furies-the-burning-world-the-merciless-iii-black-mad-wheel

Black Mad Wheel by Josh Malerman – [May 23] – A band is conscripted by the US government to the go into the desert to find the source of this mysterious sound.Β  I loved Josh Malerman’s first book, Bird Box, so I’m really excited for this.Β 

The Burning World by Isaac Marion – [Feb 7] – THE SEQUEL TO WARM BODIES THAT I NEVER THOUGHT I WAS GETTING. I AM SO PUMPED FOR THIS GOD DAMN BOOK. I HAVE BEEN WAITING SO LONG.

House of Furies by Madeleine Roux – [May 30] – This incorporates photos and is about a girl who’s a maid at some fancy house in England and the guy who owns the place is doing some Messed Up Shit apparently. Gimme.

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega – [June 27] – Should this series have been a standalone? Probably. Do I care? ABSOLUTELY NOT. I am so trash for The Merciless.

fantasies

strange-the-dreamer-caraval-a-conjuring-of-light-the-dark-prophecy-the-bone-witch-a-crown-of-wishes

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi – [March 28] – This is the companion novel toΒ The Star-Touched Queen. I wasn’t the biggest fan of that book, but I loved the mythology and writing. Another thing I loved about that book was the character of Gauri and that’s who this book focuses on!

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco –Β [March 7] – The moment I saw the cover I was like “yes thank you”. It sounds so interesting too and is all about a girl who is a necromancer.

Caraval by Stephanie GarberΒ – [Jan 31]Β – I was lucky enough to read this already and let me tell you the hype is real. It’s so magical and enchanting. I got so caught up in it. I can’t wait for everyone to be able to read this!!

The Dark Prophecy by Rick RiordanΒ [May 2]Β – I NEED THIS BOOK LIKE AIR!!!!! THE HIDDEN ORACLE WAS EASILY IN MY TOP 5 FAVE BOOKS THAT I READ THIS YEAR!

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. SchwabΒ – [Feb 21]Β – THE LAST BOOK IN THE SHADES OF MAGIC SERIES AND I AM NOT READY!!!!!!!! I NEED MY CHILDREN TO BE OKAY!!!!!!!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini TaylorΒ –Β [March 28]Β – I don’t even know how to explain this?? BUT LAINI TAYLOR’S WRITING STYLE IS EVERYTHING.

 

sci-fi

pitch-dark-dreamfall-empress-of-a-thousand-skies

Pitch Dark by Courtney AlamedaΒ  [ **This has been pushed back to 2018. Boo.**] – This is set in space and I read “rag tag rescue team” and that was all I needed to know. I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

Dream Fall by Amy PlumΒ –Β [March 28] – The moment I read the blurb all I could think of wasΒ Nightmare on Elm StreetΒ and I was instantly sold. The MC has insomnia and decides to take part in a new experiment and it fucks up everyone’s dreams and they get trapped in their dreamworlds.

Empress of a Thousand SkiesΒ –Β [Feb 7] – This sounds way too complicated to explain so I’m going to steal something from the GR blurb “aΒ saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy”.Β Just go read the summary on GR because it sounds amazing.

sep

Are any of these books on your TBR? Let me know what you’re most anticipated 2017 release is!

Stay tuned for part 2 where I’ll talk about upcoming contemporaries, historicals and non-fiction/short stories that I’m excited for!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

42 thoughts on “My Anticipated Reads for the First Half of 2017 (Part 1)

  1. SO MANY GOOOOOOOOD BOOKS COMING OUT NEXT YEAR, I can’t even handle myself right now my poor wallet is going to hate me!

    I am SO looking forward to Caraval, Strange the Dreamer, and The Bone Witch! I mean, obvs there are others that aren’t on your lovely list here, but… I’ll stick to the ones you’re excited about too, yes? Yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pretty much all the fantasy books are on my to-read list and most anticipated release list for next year! I have an ARC of Caraval and am so excited to get around to it because I’ve heard amazing things about it. Plus Strange the Dreamer, A Crown of Wishes and A Conjuring of Light are going to shoot straight to the top of my to-read list the instant they’re released! Both sound absolutely amazing and I can’t wait to have them in my hands!
    I need to read more of Rick Riordan’s series next year, hopefully before The Dark Prophecy is released!
    These all sound like amazing books though, and I’ll definitely be checking out a few of those sci-fi releases you’ve featured as well! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry to hear about your sister – glad she is home now! πŸ™‚ There’s SO MANY wonderful sounding books coming out next year? And so many of these I didn’t even know about! Now my TBR is bigger, but that’s the life of a book blogger, hey. πŸ™‚ From your list, I’m also looking forward to City of Saints & Thieves, House of Furies, The Bone Witch, Strange the Dreamer, and Empress of a Thousand Skies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad to hear your sister is back home now Lauren. I have her in my prayers still, I hope things start looking up for you and you can all have a wonderful christmas together! I got Carvel in the mail so I NEED to start reading it now to review, super duper excited for that and of course the release of ACOWAR and Lord of Shadows next year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ve got some really great choices here, Lauren! I think I need to look to you when choosing horror/thriller novels for my TBR… I’m barely in that genre so I’ve no idea what to read even when I want to read.

    Also SO excited for ACOL. My feelings echo yours completely I JUST NEED THEM ALL TO BE OK, OK?! 😫

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YESSS to all the books on your fantasy list! I mean, I wasn’t into The Star Touched Queen, but Gauri was far more interesting than Maya the MC so I hope this one would be a lot better πŸ˜› Empress of a Thousand Skies also sounds interesting! I’m not the biggest fan of outer space sci fi but I love Illuminae and just a couple of days ago I watched Star Wars Rogue One and now I want to read ALL the outer space books :’) great list Lauren! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m literally so excited for The Burning World. I don’t know how I managed years of waiting for it because right now just having to wait a little over a month is killing me! A lot of these books I’m excited for too but there are some new ones here I’ll have to add to my never-ending wishlist!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Umm, yeah. All the fantasy books are on my TBR! I can’t do contemporary really though I try to get in the mood. And thrillers and horror don’t appeal to me. The sci-fi looks interesting so I’ll have to check em out!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Omg great list! I want to read all of the thriller ones you listed, most of the horror and fantasy ones, and a decent amount of the others. I’m going to look up the ones I don’t know now on GR. Thanks for sharing. I love seeing what books are coming out soon. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. City of Saints & Thieves, Follow Me Back, Caraval, The Dark Prophecy, Strange the Dreamer, Dream Fall and Empress of a Thousand Skies are all definitely on my TBR πŸ˜€
    I need them all in my life RIGHT NOW!

    I also got to anticipated some more books thanks to this post. Like Final Girls – which really reminds me of the movie The Final Girls (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Final_Girls).

    Great post! ^_^

    Like

  11. A Conjuring of Light and the Dark Prophecy are high on the list of books I’m anticipating. Though I’ll have to soldier on through half a dozen books before I catch up with their respective series. I don’t expect to be able to catch up in time, but I’ll definitely try my best. Even if I don’t catch up, it’s still good to know the book is coming out soon, so it’ll be there when I need it.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Fantastic list! Oh, You will be glad to hear that I started A Darker Shade Of Magic this week. It’s on audio so I”m taking it slowly, but I’m liking it! The characters are fascinating. πŸ˜€ I’m glad I won’t have to wait too long for the trilogy to be complete, should I wish to read it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

