The Reason Why My Reading Has Suffered This Month // The Pokemon Go Book Tag

The Pokemon Go Book Tag

I’m sure everybody is aware of Pokemon Go. I, like everyone else, have fallen into a Pokemon shaped hole and refuse to come out. Pokemon was a huge part of my life growing up. I was obsessed with the show, movie and Gameboy games. I could even recite all 150 of the original Pokemon off by heart and in order.

I know a lot of people have issues with the game, but as someone with severe anxiety and mild agoraphobia it’s been the first thing in forever that’s actually made me want to leave my house. I’ve done more walking the past few weeks than I have this entire year. It’s really fun and reminds me of my childhood.

When I saw that there was a Pokemon Go book tag, I demanded that asked nicely if Naz @ Read Diverse Books could tag me! If you’re not already following Naz’s blog then you need to change that immediately. It’s incredible.

The Pokemon Go tag was created by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. You can see her original post here. I’m also using the graphics Aentee created because they’re super cute and I’m lazy.

Covers = Goodreads

pokemon-tag-01starters

The Goosebumps series! Or basically anything by R.L. Stine – I really love the Fear Street series and The Baby Sitter from Point Horror. I especially loved the Choose Your Own Adventure books. I would spend hours finding every possible outcome. I really loved the Goosebumps TV series too. I used to record them on VHS (showing my age there 👵🏻). I could have chosen Harry Potter or even The Baby Sitter’s Club for this, but I want to use Harry Potter for another question and Goosebumps is a series that has most influenced me. These books kickstarted my love for horror, the paranormal and all things weird. They’re probably the reason why I’m so desensitised to Horror today.

pokemon-tag02pikachu
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Do I even need to say anything?

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)Ok I want to preface this by saying that if I see a book everywhere then it actually makes me want to read it more. I’m the worst with hyped books because I am extremely curious and want to know how I’ll feel about the book. There are some rare occasions where I don’t want to read hyped books not because they’re hyped, but because they’re just not something I’m interested in. The main one right now being Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I have no desire whatsoever to read this book.

(Side note: If I see one more Zubat or Ekans on Pokemon Go I think I might actually go on a murderous rampage).

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)I read Cinder by Marissa Meyer recently and it honestly surprised me so much. I thought I’d find it okay-ish because I love Cinderella and I love that it had sci-fi elements. I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did because it’s filled with a lot of tropes that I’m not usually a fan of. However, there was something about it that made me not even care and I was really engrossed and invested in the story.

 

 

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)Um. Where do I even start? If a book is over 400 pages then I find it intimidating. I’d probably go with A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. This has been on my shelf since season 1 of Game of Thrones aired and I haven’t even opened it. Now that I’m no longer interested in the TV show and am intimidated enough as it is by high fantasies I actually don’t know if I’m ever going to read it. I know a lot of people love this book and series, but yeah. Maybe one day? We’ll see!

I’m also hesitant to start series with a lot of books in them like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

 

pokemon-tag06-gengar

Night FilmI never get scared by books. Ever. It’s kind of annoying because I always see people talking about scared certain books have made them or that they can’t sleep at night and I’m just over here like casually chilling. Whilst Night Film by Marisha Pessl didn’t necessarily “keep me up at night” or really scare me it did REALLY mess with my heads at times. I felt so caught up in the story and like I was an actual part of the investigation. Cordova felt so real at times that I actually had to Google him just to make sure he wasn’t. The psychological aspects of this book were done so brilliantly and there were scenes that made me anxious. The constant questioning of what was or wasn’t real. The ideas behind Cordova’s films and all the mixed media throughout the book really made the entire thing so realistic.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

If I’m being honest I’m not huge on shipping anymore… but some pairings I really love are:

  • Percy x Annabeth from the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan
  • Ronan x Adam and Blue x Gansey from The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Ezra x Kady from The Illuminae Files series by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

and the most ~~~ controversial ~~~ non canon one that to this day still owns my entire heart, soul and being and nothing ANYONE says will EVER CHANGE MY MIND ABOUT THEM

  • Harry x Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)If you’re new then you should know that Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff is one of my favourite books ever and I could talk about it forever. To everyone else who sees me mention this book in every single post I’m sorry you have to see me talking about it again. Except maybe not because I LOVE IT SO MUCH. It was so intense and nerve wracking and I didn’t want to put it down. So much was happening and it was such a fast paced read.

 

 

pokemon-tag09-eevee

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan

As long as Rick Riordan keeps writing books set in the world of Percy Jackson then I’ll keep reading them. I will NEVER get sick of Percy or Camp Half-Blood. I know some people think this series is overdone, but every time Rick announces something new I get so excited.

pokemon-tag10-egg

Of Fire and StarsDefinitely Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. When I first saw it on Goodreads I thought it was another trope-ish Fantasy, but then I reread the summary and saw it was about A PRINCESS FALLING IN LOVE WITH THE SISTER OF THE GUY SHE’S BETROTHED TO.  Sign me up. This isn’t being released until November and I NEED IT NOW. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a YA fantasy where two girls runaway together and fall in love. I’m so so excited to read this!!!

 

 

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

  • Rick Riordan
  • R.L. Stine
  • Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff as co-writers
  • V.E. Schwab
  • Rebecca James (although I don’t think she’s writing anything new so that’s sad, ha)
  • Em Bailey

 

pokemon-tag12-legendary

 

Six of Crows y Leigh BardugoI haven’t read The Grisha Trilogy yet, but I’m already so excited to read the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. I know people say you can read it without having read The Grisha Trilogy, but I think I’m still going to try and read that first because I tend to get confused very easily, haha. I know this series is super hyped, but I don’t care. IT SOUNDS AMAZING.

 

 

pokemon-tag13-server-down

The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo, #2)As soon as I finished The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan I needed the second book in the series. As you can see from the cover The Dark Prophecy isn’t being released until May 2017 😭😭😭 I know I haven’t really been waiting for this FOREVER, but I did finish The Hidden Oracle the same week it was released so it is feeling like forever, haha.

Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff are also co-writing a new series together which is all about a ragtag bunch of misfits in space, aliens and battling for the universe BUT IT’S NOT BEING RELEASED UNTIL SOMETIME IN 2018.

(Side note: the servers being down are so annoying. I wasted an entire Pokemon hunting trip a while ago because the game wouldn’t open.)

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

NimonaI’d never read anything by Noelle Stevenson before and wasn’t familiar with the Nimona web comic so I had absolutely no idea what to expect going into this. I thought I would like it because I tend to like most graphic novels, but I was not expecting the onslaught of feelings it game. This made me cry. I had a book hangover from this graphic novel. I remember finishing it and looking up fanart and then I started crying again. This has been one of my favourite reads of this year. I would give ANYTHING for Noelle to write a sequel. Or prequel. Or one page.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

SOC_Duology_Slipcase_3D-1I’m not really up to date on ~ collector editions ~ of books. Mostly because I can’t afford to buy them and it makes me sad so I don’t really go seeking them out either. Two book I REALLY want are Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo with the black and red pages. They’re not collector editions, but they are so pretty. Again, not collector editions but I really want to own physical copies of The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater in hardcover because they’re all so beautiful 😍😍😍

Tagging

I’m not sure which of you guys are as obsessed with Pokemon Go as I am, but if you are then consider yourself tagged! I’m also gonna tag Kai @ Black Cat Kai because I know that she’s as invested in this dumb game as I am 😂


Has Pokemon Go messed up your reading? Or have you been able to escape its’ clutches?

Also, be sure to let me know any thoughts you have on the books I chose!

I hope you’re all having fantastic day xx


35 thoughts on “The Reason Why My Reading Has Suffered This Month // The Pokemon Go Book Tag

  1. So we’re considering Harry Potter a classic already? Is that a record the fastest a book became a classic? haha

    I also become more interested in a book the more it gets talked about haha. Isn’t that how advertising and word-of-mouth works? I feel the same way abut Me Before You. The movie was great, though! x) P.S. I have only seen ONE Ekans the entire time I’ve played and Zubats are hard to find around here. I barely found enough to evolve one into a Golbat. :/

    I get why you haven’t started GoT. But you haven’t opened the book in 6 years??? Why! lol I’m a bit surprised that you haven’t started Throne of Glass. Even I read that book!

    Pokemon Go intervened with my reading only the first two weeks or so. Now I only play when I’m at work (lmao) or when I go out. I am mostly waiting for more features to be added. I need trading. Also, a way to get more potions! I want to fight more Gyms but keep running out of potions and the only way to get more is to find Pokestops. It’s too damn hot to be running around for too long, though. Ugh.

    Like

    1. Haha! I kinda just interpreted classic to mean something that was well known instead of like a classic-classic which I’ve only read about 3 of so 😂

      I don’t really think I’ll watch the movie either, but I looove Emilia Clarke so I might consider it just for her, haha. Oh my god, they are EVERYWHERE here. I can’t open the app without being surrounded by them, haha.

      I honestly have no idea 🙈 I just bought it and stuck it on my shelf and kinda forgot about it to be honest, haha. One of the other reasons why I haven’t started Throne of Glass is because I only just got back into reading this year. I haven’t really read anything other than comics in almost 2 years so I have a huuuuuuge backlist to work my way through. I want to try and get to it soon though just because I feel like the only person in the entire world who hasn’t read it haha.

      Yeah, I’ve definitely eased up on it a bit now. It’s also bee raining here a lot so I haven’t been able to do any walking, haha. I so wish there was trading! There’s no gyms anywhere near me so I haven’t even attempted them yet haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, no! But the gyms are so fun. Especially if you have a team of people who can help you take over a Gym and dominate the area! You get Pokemon coins and stardust the longer you hold gyms. I’m sorry there aren’t any around you. 😦

        Btw, I heard that Khangaskhan (sp?) is a Pokemon exclusive to Australia. That’s hilarious if true. 😂

        Like

        1. Haha. I’d probably be so bad at it. I mean I did okay in the actual games, but some people’s Pokemon are insanely leveled up. I just like trying to catch the Pokemon 😂 It’d be cool if you could have random battles with people in your area though!

          LMAO!! That’d be so funny.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh this tag looks so cool! I haven’t been playing Pokemon Go because I know what I’m like and I’d literally spend all my free time out pokemon hunting instead of writing my dissertation haha!

    I feel the same way about Me Before You. My friend read it ages and ages ago, and she loved it so she ended up telling me pretty much everything that happens so I’ve never really been inclined to pick it up.

    I’m literally so excited for Of Fire and Stars!! It sounds amazing!

    Nimona is so good. I actually used to read the webcomic and then I totally forgot about it (I ALWAYS do that with webcomics) so I was so happy to see that it was an actual book. I absolutely loved it, it totally surprised me. I still pick it up occasionally just to reread my favourite parts haha!

    Like

    1. Haha! That’s definitely understandable. I admire your self control. I would probably still end up caving and playing it 😂

      I pretty much figured out the gist of it because of everyone saying how sad it is and talking about the themes. I normally like sad-ish books, but there’s just something about it that makes me not care about this one haha.

      Right!!! I can’t wait to read it.

      Ahh, that’s so cool!! I absolutely love it to pieces. I buy all my graphic novels and comics digitally, but I’m really considering buying a physical copy of Nimona because I love it so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. First of all, I have not seen a single freaking ekans in this game and I’m a little mad about it…
    Anyway, I tagged myself to do this and posted it this morning haha I also chose Game of Thrones as a book (well, series) I haven’t started because of its size. It’s just so long… But my older brother really wants me to read the series and so does one of my bosses at work so I’ll probably get around to it eventually. I just don’t know when haha
    I’m also SUPER excited for Of Fire and Stars. There are so few fantasy books that have prominent LGBT characters, much less LGBT relationships, so I’m really excited to read it. Plus I follow Audrey on Twitter and she seems like such a sweetheart.

    Like

    1. Haha, I’m so jealous. They are literally EVERYWHERE here. I was even at the beach the other day and only found Ekans. I was so mad 😂

      omg right!!! It’s so huge and there’s so many characters and it just seems so dense and I don’t know, haha. A part of me does want to read it, but I definitely don’t have the motivation to start it anytime soon.

      Yes!! I’m so excited it. It’s suuuper important. It’s even better when the author is lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great tag! I haven’t really gotten into the Pokemon Go craze and I don’t think I will but I love the idea behind this tag! I would definitely count Harry Potter as an iconic classic, it’s a series I am always going to go back to and always going to love, and I am so so thrilled to see you loved Cinder as well. The Lunar Chronicles is one of my all-time favourite series so I am always pleased to see someone else has loved this book.
    All your OTPs are some of mines as well, especially Percy and Annabeth, and I will definitely never get tired of the Percy Jackson books. I’ve only read the first series but I still need there to be more than there currently is! Also I loved the edition of Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom, honestly I may have to pre-order it!
    Great answers for this tag! 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks Beth ♥!!

      Haha, I’m jealous that you’ve managed to resist it 😂 Yes, that’s what I was thinking with Harry Potter! It’s something that is really iconic and will always be a huge part of my life.

      I’m really excited to continue with The Lunar Chronicles! And I can’t wait for you to read more series in Percy Jackson!!

      The Six of Crows set is sooo pretty.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right ❤️
        And I just know what I’m like. I feel like it will be an app I’m obsessed with for a week and then after that week I’ll never open it again!
        Exactly, my friend loved the books when she was younger and now she can’t wait for her nephew and niece to be old enough for her to read the books to them!
        I’m hoping to start the Heroes of Olympus series in August, I feel I need to pace myself with these books because once I’m through all the ones Rick Riordan has released I’m gonna have to wait for the next like everyone else!

        Like

        1. Haha! Admittedly, I have eased up on it a little because I keep finding all the same Pokemon and it’s driving me crazy. I’m hoping they’ll implement some new features soon.

          Aw, that’s so sweet! I’ve been trying to get my younger siblings to read them for so long, but they keep refusing! I’m going to keep trying though, haha.

          Yes, the waiting is the worst! Once you get to Mark of Athena and House of Hades in the HoO series you’re going to be so thankful that you never had to wait 😂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Ohh that’s a common complaint of my friends as well, we seem to have only three types in Southend and loads of the same one!
            My sister read them a while back, she borrowed my books and she really enjoyed them, though it was when she was older than I was when I started so maybe give it time with your siblings! 😀
            Ohh, I feel like there’s a massive cliff-hanger to look forwards to in that case. And yeah if there is I will definitely be glad I don’t have to wait! 🙂

            Like

  5. Added Night Film to my TBR because of this post, your description of it sounds fantastic and I can’t wait to pick it up asap now 😊 This tags awesome I went to the park the other day to play Pokemon and there were 20 people there doing the same thing it’s amazing 😁 If I see another Rattata I’m going to join you on a rampage 😅😠 bahahah

    Like

      1. I’ve been really let down by all of the thrillers I’ve read this year it will be good to finally read something awesome 😀 I swear my Pokemons rigged I was with the partner walking around the block and he caught all these amazing things and all I got were Rattata’s and Doduos! 😦

        Like

  6. This is such a fun tag, I may do it as well 🙂 Combining Pokemon and books, what could be better?

    I’ve also been a Pokemon fanatic since the very beginning – I LOVED the show, movies and games so much. I still have a very old Gameboy that still works and once a year I like to take one of the games and replay from the beginning. I’m a little behind on Pokemon Go, because it only was available in Belgium since last week, but I’m getting there. Now if only I could find some more Pokemons other than Pidgeys and Rattatas! 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooh yess!! If you want to do it consider yourself tagged 😊 I’d love to see your post!!

      Ahh that’s so cool!! I don’t have my Gameboy anymore, but I’ve used an emulator on my phone before and replayed some of the games and it’s been so much fun! And haha I know what you mean. They’re all I’ve been able to find too. I’ve even been to the beach TWICE and got nothing 😅

      Like

      1. Thanks! I’ll definitely do this tag soon 🙂
        Oh I’ll have to try an emulator on my phone too! You know, just in case my 15-year old Gameboy finally dies on me (even though I hope it never does!)
        Ah I was hoping to go to the beach next week to go pokéhunting, would be a bit disappointing if there’s nothing then either :s But I actually caught a Vulpix at my house yesterday, so miracles do happen 😉

        Like

  7. I was SO obsessed with Pokemon as a kid…I had one of those binders with the cards all organized. And yet I haven’t played Pokemon Go. The thought of actually having to go outside and, ya know, INTERACT kind of stresses me out, honestly. But I really should just go for it, since everyone is having so much fun with it. Also, Ronan and Adam are my OTP for life and I would kill for a book about them.

    Like

    1. Ahh, I had one of those too!! I remember Pokemon cards actually got banned from my school 😂😂

      I definitely understand what you mean ♥ It’s kind of been helping me a little, like even if I just walk out the front of my house can be a huge step for me some days. If you ever need a little extra push some days I feel like it’s a surprisingly good motivator.

      Oh my god, yessss. I reread their chapters in The Raven King a million times.

      Like

  8. There’s no freaking Pokemon Go in my country and that makes me so sad!! Still, if it ever became available here nobody would go around playing it because of the fear of someone stealing your phone (to say the least). So it’s better this way so I don’t risk it haha
    I really disliked George R.R. Martin’s writing, so I wouldn’t recommend it, but everyone else seems to love it. I also gave up on the show. It’s definitely not the thing for me.
    I love reading this list, it’s super cute!

    Like

    1. Aw, nooo 😔 but oh my gosh, wow! That sounds intense!

      I’ve heard a few people who have disliked it. Honestly, I don’t think it’s going to be for me either. I’m not a High Fantasy fan at the best of times. I might try it on my Kindle eventually and see how I go.

      💕

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I was tagged to do this a while ago and I’m so excited, I love the categories! I’m not a big Go fan because I don’t have internet when I’m out and about, but I love the Pokémon Diamond/Pearl/Platinum games, as well as the Mystery Dungeon ones!
    Also, you cry too much, Lauren. 😂

    Like

    1. Yay! I can’t wait to see your post 😊 I haven’t played those ones haha. I had Blue, Yellow and Silver on my GameBoy Color and GameBoy Advance 😂 And Pokemon Gym Stadium on the Nintendo 64 #ShowingMyAge

      LMAO!!! I’m just a really emotional and empathetic person 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Usually when someone says a book made them cry I’m like, wow, it must be really devastating! But when you say it I’m just like, whatever, Lauren cries all the time. 😂😂😂

        Like

Leave a comment