Another Hiatus Because the Universe Hates me

So….. This is going to be the most personal post I make on this blog but I think of you guys as my friends so it’s why I’m oversharing. I also just really really really need to vent.

If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that our public housing manager has filed to have us evicted. They originally told us we had two weeks to vacate, but today by chance we found out they were completely bullshitting and they were ready to send someone around tomorrow to have us forcibly removed. We managed to get a court order to stop them literally just in time. I don’t think they were expecting us to do this because they filed for a forcible eviction, but hadn’t paid the court costs. I lowkey feel like a lawyer because I’m the one who found out about the order we could serve on them. I have to joke about this whole situation because it’s the only thing keeping me from crying 24/7. We have a new court date now, but the courts can still side with public housing and we could have 24 hours to vacate our house.

We’ve been searching for a new place non-stop since we got our eviction notice and we could potentially find out by Friday whether we’ve been accepted for a house. I’m terrified we won’t get it though because of what’s happened with public housing.

The most fucked up thing is we don’t even owe rent money. The property isn’t destroyed. We’re not using it for illegal activities. This is over a missed house inspection that public housing didn’t actually even show up for. My dad called them the morning of our inspection and asked if we could change the time to the afternoon – they said no. My dad said he and my mum wouldn’t be home, but my siblings and I were so they could still come over if they wanted. They didn’t.

Besides this other things they’ve breached us for have been having old furniture, wear and tear marks that were already on the property when we moved in, having some packing crates stacked up against a wall, having mats on the tiled floors and having an old car in our backyard. A new property manager took over and we were so done with how they were treating us that we put in appeals to have the breaches overturned. However, because we have the worst luck in the history of the entire world our original property manager was now head of the appeals committee so of course she rejected everything instantly.

TL;DR – we could potentially be homeless because we missed a property inspection.

Anyway, trying to deal with this is exhausting me. I’m honestly ready to collapse and/or have an actual anxiety induced breakdown. I’ve been out every day all for the past week and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. Plus, if worse comes to worse and we’re forced to vacate immediately I won’t have internet and understandably blogging is going to be the least of my worries.

Just wanted to keep you guys updated with what was happening. I love you all and some good vibes would be extremely appreciated. If you can donate to my kofi to help with legal costs and moving expenses that would be fantastic too.

Once again I love y’all so much ♥♥

19 thoughts on “Another Hiatus Because the Universe Hates me

  1. I’m so sorry love. I hope everything works out; I went through an almost eviction a couple of years back (when it wasn’t our fault) and it was a horrible feeling. We joked and laughed, but it was literally so we kept sane. I never wish that feeling upon anyone. My thoughts are with you guys. I’m sure you’ll find somewhere…but it totally still sucks. We can’t wait to have you back!

    Like

  2. Oh, wow. I’m so sorry you have to go through this, jeez, these people are the worst, not even showing up? Sending you and your family loads of positive vibes and love, hoping everything will turn out okay ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  3. Oh Lauren I am so so sorry this has happened to you and your family. It really can’t be easy so I hope everything works out for you as soon as possible. Sounds like you really need a break from blogging so it’s the right thing to do taking a step back. In the meantime best wishes, I’m sending you lots of love. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  4. So sorry for you!! I’ve heard about evictions and they just sound absolutely awful as heck.
    All the ones I’ve heard about are just never just or fair, the people in charge always mess it up somehow.

    Like

  5. Housing uncertainty is a huge trigger for my anxiety as well, so I can totally relate to how you’re feeling. Sending my best wishes along that it all turns out for the best and that you’re able to feel less stressed soon.

    Like

  6. Oh my god. I seriously hate that there are people like that out in the world. How can they not think about what they’d feel and do if they were forced in that exact same situation. Doesn’t sound to me as if you or your family did anything wrong and to be handled that way.. I can only imagine how hard it must be..
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you and your family, hoping everything will turn out for the better! Stay strong!

    Like

  7. OH MY GOODNESS, THIS IS TERRIBLE & I don’t even know what I can say or do to help. I can’t believe how bad the public housing system is, I knew it wasn’t ideal but I didn’t know how messed up it is. Sending you a billion good thoughts & wishes & I hope everything works out in the end, also sent you some love via Ko-Fi, I know it’s not much but hopefully if everyone pitches in it’ll make a difference. LOVE YOU LOTS, LAUREN! ❤ Stay strong, girl ❤

    Like

  8. Oh my goodness! I’m so sorry this is happening to you guys! I really wish this issue gets resolved soon. Sending positive vibes your way. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

