Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Queens of Geek

Queens of GeekGenre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Date Published: February 9 2017
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Pages: 336
Buy: Amazon – Book Depository
Australia: Angus & Robertson – BooktopiaMacmillan’s Children’s Books

Follow Jen Wilde on Twitter

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

Add to Goodreads

** I’m participating in a Blog Tour hosted by Pan Macmillan and received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own **

(Side note: I am not feeling good right now. So this is gonna be a quicker/shorter review than usual. Sorry, guys!)

sep

I loved this book to pieces, you guys! It was one of my most anticipated reads for this year and it did not disappoint. It was a quick and fun read, but it was packed full of important issues and diversity.

Charlie is a bisexual, Chinese-Australian and Taylor has anxiety and autism. I connected with Taylor so much I almost felt like this book was written for me. It’s so easy to get mental health rep wrong and whilst I can’t comment on the autism (Jen Wilde is autistic though [and bisexual, I think?] so it’s #ownvoices) I can say that in my expeirences the anxiety rep was spot on. I cried so many times because I just connected with all the thoughts and feelings that Taylor was having.

“That’s what we do. We walk a tightrope every day. Getting out the door is a tightrope. Going grocery shopping is a tightrope. Socializing is a tightrope. Things that most people consider to be normal, daily parts of life are the very things we fear and struggle with the most, and yet here we are, moving forward anyway. That’s not weak.”

It’s easy for books that deal with Fandom to come off cringe-y, but this definitely didn’t. I connected to all the references and the culture so well. I’ve been in Fandoms for half my life, but have never been to a convention (I wish!) or really been into the Cosplay side of things, but that didn’t take anything away from my reading experience.

The romance between Charlie and Alyssa was adorable. It was instalove, but it was instalove done right. Charlie and Aylssa had a wonderful connection that was believable and their dynamic worked so well together. The romance with Taylor and Jamie wasn’t as strong because we didn’t get a POV for Jamie, but it honestly didn’t bother me too much. Sidenote: Charlie’s ex is a total asshole and I’m honestly gonna fight him. Meet me in the pit, Reese.

As I said above this book is packed with diversity and important issues surrounding fandom culture. As well as what I mentioned Charlie’s love interest is a black woman. There’s brilliant discussions about sexism and body shaming.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
“To the girl who hid in the shadows and tried to body-shame me, I’m sorry you thought that was a good use of your time and energy. I hope you find happiness within yourself. You deserve that. We all do.”

One of the things I loved most about this book was the INCREDIBLE friendship between Charlie and Taylor. It was so refreshing to see such a positive depiction of a female friendship. Whenever one needed the other they would be there and support them and listen. It made my heart so happy.

The writing in this book is really simple and it’s a very quick and easy read. I know some people have said that caused them to not be able to connect with the characters as much but it really didn’t bother me because I was just having so much fun. I felt like I was experiencing everything with the characters.

I’m sorry this review lacks a little depth, but as I said above I’m not feeling great right now. I really did love it a lot though. I can’t even express in words just how much. Seeing Taylor go through all the same things I do every made me feel less alone. This book was like a hug that I needed, but didn’t know how to ask for. Even if contemporary or fandom-y type books aren’t your usual go-to I still strongly recommend this. Jen Wilde has become a new favouite author of mine and I can’t wait to see what she writes next!

“Besides, there’s no one way to be a girl, Tay. You don’t need to fit yourself into what society tells us a girl should be. Girls can be whoever they want. Whether that’s an ass-kicking, sarcastic, crime-solving FBI Agent or a funny, gorgeous, witty beauty queen–or both at the same time.” She swings an arm around me and pulls me in.

“Are you happy the way you are? Are you comfortable? Do you feel like yourself?”

The corner of my mouth lifts into a half smile. “Yes. Yes. And yes.”

“Then that’s all that matters. Fuck everything else.”

my-rating

★★★★★

sep

Have you read Queens of Geek? Or is it on your TBR?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day.

lauren xx.png
Find me: TwitterGoodreads – society6RedBubble

19 thoughts on “Review: Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

  1. This is a great review Lauren, and you’ve pretty much made me want to read this book even more than I did before which I thought would be an impossible feat! Queens of Geek is one of my highly anticipated reads as well so I really hope I enjoy it as much as you did. I love the sound of the diversity in this book, and the fact that it was written so well too. Also normally I’d be a little wary of the instalove angle but the fact you’ve said it was done right is enough to make me un-nervous again! 😀
    Great review, and I hope you feel better soon as well! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been so out of the loop lately when it comes to books. I had not really heard about this one except your tweets, and those were enough to get me excited about it. It sounds adorable and the type of read to pick up when I’m feeling down. Sending the best vibes to you, I hope you feel better soon Lauren ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THIS IS SUCH A GREAT REVIEW, Lauren! You touched on some things that I didn’t feel I *could* with coherent and adequate explanations (and also from an outsider looking in sort of standpoint, in some instances)

    Side note, I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well! I’m not, either–the man got sick and decided to share, booooo.

    But YAYAYAYAY I’m so so glad you enjoyed this read, as I did, too! (I think you commented on my review for this a few weeks back, so I’m sure you already knew that. Still–yay!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have read Queens Of Geek and OMG I LOVED IT SO MUCH! It was well written and super enjoyable! The characters were so relatable and I loved the simplicity of it and the amount of diversity Wilde included! So glad to hear another person enjoyed this book too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great review, Lauren! I didn’t love this book but I enjoyed it too and would agree with so many of your points. The friendships were amazing and I didn’t even really consider the romance between Charlie and Alyssa to be instalove; it was done THAT well.

    Also so sorry to hear that you’re not feeling too good right now. I hope things improve as soon as possible. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you liked this one! I did too, I loved the con setting and the relationships were just awesome. And I thought Jen Wilde handled the anxiety pretty spot on. Taylor was great and relatable. Charley and Alyssa just made me smile. 🙂

    And yeah Reese. Pummel him!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review Lauren! I just read this one as well and I can only agree wholeheartedly with everything you said! What really made this book for me were the amazing and inspirational messages, the epic friendship and well, all the fandom stuf 🙂 And yes, Reese definitely was a terrible person and deseves to be kicked. Several times 🙂

    Also, sorry to hear you’re not feeling so well. Hope you’ll feel better soon and sending you lots of good vibes ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This book is so amazing I just wanted to hug my past self and Taylor and just all the characters, the ASD, Anxiety and Bi rep was amazing and I’m just so happy teens will have this book and be able to see themselves in Taylor and Charlie, AND it’s ozya! I mean its not published by aussies but still! I really hope Jen Wilde does an event in aus so I can just cry all over her and thank her for writing this book.
    Great review Lauren ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

