Music Monday 🎧 How I Find New Music

How I Find New Music.png

I’ve been obsessed with finding new music for as long as I can remember. I love the feeling of discovering a new band and hearing a new song and falling instantly in love. My iTunes library is a little over zealous because of this, but honestly I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Back in the day, MySpace was my #1 source to find new music (closely followed by PureVolume). I scoured the site for hours discovering new bands. I would listen to every single band that sent me friend’s requests and it’s how I found some of my all time favourite bands like All Time Low, You Me At Six and Pierce The Veil ect. Once it died, however, I feel like it was a lot harder to find new music.

Twitter can be great, butΒ most of the bands I found through MySpace were because they sentΒ meΒ a friends request. Bands have followed me on Twitter, but not a lot and I haven’t really discovered too many bands from there. Twitter, however, IS great for keeping up with your favourite bands.

Some people are content with having a small, familiar collection and I can respect that, but if you’re like me and are hungry for some new music hopefully this post will help you!!

So how do I find new music to fill my never ending iTunes library? Well…

sep

S P O T I F Y

{ add me }

Spotify has quickly become my #1 way for finding new music. You can use all these features totally free!!

One of my favourite features on Spotify is their “Discovery” playlist which is a personal list of recommendations that updates every week. This can be found by clicking “DISCOVER” tab on the main page.

Spotify Discover

Another great thing on Spotify is theirΒ RelatedΒ ArtistsΒ feature. Go to the profile of one of your fave bands and then click through all the relatedΒ artists.Β Β It is so easy to get lost in a rabbit hole with this one because for each artist I’ll just keep going through the relatedΒ artistsΒ – so be carefulΒ πŸ˜‚

Spotify Related

Finally, I also occasionally use the “TOP RECOMMENDATIONS FOR YOU” feature. You can find it by scrolling down a bit on the “DISCOVER” tab. Then you can just click through it using the arrows and check out anything that catches your eye.

Spotify Recs

You can also use the search feature and use keywords that interest you and browse all the playlists. There is literally a playlist for EVERYTHING. I don’t really search for playlists, but if I see bands or music sites tweeting out Playlists then I’ll usually go through them! Some of my favourites are:

A couple others that could be useful:

L A S T . F M

{ add me }

I know last.fm is kinda outdated now, but I still like using it to keep track of my stats. I think it’s interesting to see who my most played artist is ect. I still occasionally check out their recommended sectionΒ (you need an account)! The only downfall with this one is that you obviously have to be scrobbling music for a while so it can give you recs based on what you’ve been listening to. I think it’s definitely worth signing up for an account though!

last.fm

RECORD LABELS

Yep, sometime I still do the old school thing and check out the website of labels my favourite bands are signed to.

A lot of my fave bands are signed to Fearless and Rise Records so I check their websites and look at their roster sections.

Then I’ll also check out their YouTube pages and various other social media toΒ see if anything catches my eye!

Recently, I discovered a cool band promo network called Dreambound. I can’t even list all the amazing bands I’ve discovered through them!

Of course, if you’re not someone who keeps up with the label side of things it might mean you have to do some Googling! You might be surprised how many of your favourite bands are signed to the same label though. To make a bookish connection, it’s a lot like Publishing Houses.

GOING TO SHOWS

Unfortunately, I don’t get the opportunity to do this nearly enough. When I do though, I always make sure to check out support bands. Next time you’re going to a show, get their when doors opens and listen to the opening bands if you’ve never heard them! Not only is it a GREAT way to support the scene, you could also find a new favourite.

When my town had a music scene I would go to shows even if I’d never heard of the band.

Image result for support your local scene

I can’t deal when people are horrible to support bands. The band you’re seeing who is headlining was a support band once. Show them some respect.

If you’re going to a festival and have some free time go see a band you’ve never heard of.

Wanna know when bands are going to be in your area? Try these:

G O O G L E

When all else fails… GOOGLE!!

Whilst this can be a lot more difficult to nagivate, you’re guaranteed to find something by typing in “New Music” or “Music Recommendations“.

Google

Just a couple I found right then were:

sep

How do you find new music?

If you do anything I didn’t mention here then let me know!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day.

lauren xx.png
Find me:Β Twitter – Goodreads – society6 – RedBubble

30 thoughts on “Music Monday 🎧 How I Find New Music

  1. I’m so addicted to Spotify for how easy it is to discover similar artists. I’ve built entire playlists that way in the past based on a mood I was having or whatever. I do miss the MySpace days, I gotta say.

    Also I totally wanna be your Spotify friend now πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I honestly just use Spotify πŸ˜› I mostly listen to the music I already know and love, but I’m making an effort to have at least a few new favourites every month. Sometimes I seek them out myself, and sometimes I just find them (through the radio or as part of the soundtrack of a show I’m watching) πŸ˜€ I think my favourite Spotify feature is the new releases playlist, cause it helps me keep up with the artists I’m interested in x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that’s understandable!! Sometimes I think I need to stop seeking out new music because my iTunes library is wild. If you use Spotify a lot and want to try and find something new then the Discover Weekly playlist is really good!! It’d probably work even better for you than it does for me since you do most of your listening on Spotify.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I’ve seen you talk about your iTunes library and I’m always like HOW! πŸ˜€
        Yeah but honestly, whenever I click on the Discover playlist I get scared by all the songs I don’t know πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

        Like

  3. Great post! I love the playlist on Spotify punks not dead, such a good playlist, plus the AP discovers is good too. I use AP the mag to find my new bands… although I haven’t done that for a while ( and I’m months behind reading them!πŸ˜•) but it was a great way for me to find bands, that’s how I found Pierce The Veil.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh the prices here are insane too. I used to buy AP every month but it’s gotten to the point where 1) I can barely find it anywhere and 2) it’s close to 10$ so I just subscribe to it, so much easier! Is it still really pricy to subscribe?
        And yes all those years ago, I remember ripping out their picture and putting it on my wall because I couldn’t get over how cute Vic was (still is! πŸ˜› <3)

        Like

        1. I haven’t really looked into a subscription price. I should check it out!! I feel like the shipping will be ridiculous though which is probably why I haven’t looked into it. There used to be an Australian magazine called Blunt where I would get ALL my posts from, but they stopped publishing and my walls are crying so I really should try and find a replacement!!

          Ahahaha, don’t even get me started on my intense love for Vic Fuentes πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I just looked up AP’s subscription fee just because I was curious & it looks like they’re having a sale for international subscriptions. 40 USD for 1 year & 55 USD for 2. I don’t know what the exchange rate is for USD to Australian dollar, hopefully it’s better than the Canadian rate!
            ANYWAYS, haha, that sucks that they got rid of that magazine!

            Haha, uhhhh Vic πŸ˜› It’s on my bucketlist to get a hug from him. πŸ˜€

            Like

  4. I’ve gotten pretty much addicted to Spotify the last year. I hardly ever use anything else anymore when it comes to music – I love the playlists, the discover features and just about everything about it (only downside is that some songs are not on there, but that’s not that many overall). I used to be a HUUGE Last.FM addict, but since I don’t scrobble anymore (I don’t think it works with Spotify, but maybe I need to check that), I haven’t logged in in years. Sure do miss Myspace sometimes πŸ™‚ And other than that, I think my biggest source to discover new music is your recommendations, haha πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here!! I don’t think I really appreciated how useful it could be. Although it’s kinda bad now because I have found way too many new bands and I need to STOP. You can scrobble with Spotify!! I set it up ages ago though so I can’t remember if it was easy or complicated?? The MySpace era will always be my favourite β™₯ And ahhh, that makes me so happy. I’m so glad I can be helpful πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. YES to the Spotify ‘Discover’ playlist! That’s pretty much how I find all of the music I listen to nowadays as well. That thing can be a gold mine. And same about the related artists section, I always get lost in that. πŸ˜‚ Especially whenever I stumble across a band I haven’t listened to in years. Besides Spotify I user either Pandora or YouTube. I’m always stumbling across new bands and such on both. Great post, Lauren!! πŸ’•πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s sooooo good. I used to be super skeptical about Spotify’s recommending system, but I have found so many great bands and I look forward to it refreshing every week πŸ˜‚ I’m trying to use YouTube more. The promo network (Dreambound) I found on there was amazing. I haven’t really ever used Pandora, but I might have to check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I jump on Spotify first thing every Monday just to listen to the new songs. I think the recommendation system works so well because it seems to base it off of what you normally listen to which is nice. And I’ll have to check out Dreambound because I’m officially curious! πŸ˜ƒ

        Like

        1. Right! I think why sometimes it’s been a hit and miss for me because I listen to 90% of my music on iTunes and mostly use Spotify for discovering new artists. It’s definitely seeming to have improved πŸ˜€ They post a lot of smaller/unknown alternative bands!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. YAAAS FOR THIS POST. Spotify isn’t actually available in India and I’m like, “WHAAAT? HOW? WHY?” πŸ˜‚ Ah I actually love listening to underhyped songs but then I’m always listening to Adele or Imagine Dragons. Shoot. I absolutely heart this post, Lauren!!!❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

