Music Monday 🎧 Top 5: Music of April

Music Monday April

I’m back with my favourite things I listened to this month! Again, this time there isn’t just albums because there’s been a lot of new single releases. Before we get into the post though I just want to share something that’s kinda exciting! My Potential 2017 Albums I’m Excited For post was SPONSORED. I never thought anything like that would happen and it’s kinda cool to see that an established music site thought it was good enough to endorse. Go check out Get to the Front, which is a really cool online music magazine. All opinions on that post are still my own, of course.

Anyway, onto the music!!

sep

The Maine – Lovely Little Lonely (2017)
Alt. Rock

If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know that I haven’t shut up about this album. It’s actually why I struggled to come up with 5 different releases for this post because this album is all I’ve listened to this month. I feel so blessed that it and bands like The Maine exist. I’ve been listening The Maine since 2007 and boy have they changed A LOT. They have grown and matured their sound so much, but they’ve done it in a way that is completely natural. Tons of bands try so hard to change their sound that they completely lose themselves in the process and I’ve been disappointed more times than I count this year by bands I usually love. The Maine manage to prove that you can stay true to yourself and completely change your sound. However, in each song there’s little homages to previous songs and earlier sounds. This band is so fucking incredible and they deserve so much more attention and recognition. Honestly, if you’ve never listened to this band or haven’t listened to this album then please do IMMEDIATELY. It’s incredible. This album will make you nostalgic for things you’ve never experienced. It’s a perfect mix of rock, pop and even has some 80’s influences. John’s lyrics are so simple, but so poetic.

Songs You Should Listen To:

Grayscale – Atlantic (2017)
From the upcoming album Adornment
Pop Punk

I rediscovered this band because they recently signed to Fearless records. I have their debut album, but it’s been a good while since I’ve listened so I can’t remember much about it. However, when I listened to Atlantic I fell instantly in love from the very first line: “my eyes are tired, but pumped with caffeine”. I’m not even sure how to explain it, but you know that instant connection you have with a song? That’s what I got with this and it’s the best feeling. I just want to drown in this song. I’m so excited for their upcoming album and I’m definitely going to go back and listen to their older stuff.

Of Mice & Men – Unbreakable (2017)
Standalone Release for now
Metalcore

After Austin Carlisle’s departure I was really interested to see what the future of Of Mice & Men was going to be. I didn’t know if the band was going to break up, if they’d continue with just Aaron Pauley on vocals or if they’d bring someone new in. The band decided to continue as a four piece. This song just came out today and I didn’t even know about it until I checked Instagram. I wasn’t the biggest fan of their last album, Cold World, and without Austin I was a bit worried about how this would sound, but it was SO GOOD? I actually love this song, tbh. It’s definitely weird seeing the band without Austin, but it’s so much better than anything from their last album. Aaron’s vocals are great which isn’t really a surprise because he was brilliant in his old band Jamie’s Elsewhere. OM&M have definitely let the music world know they are still very much a band without Austin. I’m hoping a new album is in the works.

You Me At Six – Sinners Never Sleep (2011)
Alt. Rock

Throwing it back for this next choice because I’m stuck in the past!! No but seriously I think this could be the best album You Me At Six has ever made. I was not a fan of Night People. It fell totally flat, had zero flow and lacked any kind of emotion. The only song on that album I enjoyed was Take on the World because it actually resembled the band I know You Me At Six can be. This band means so much to me and it was kinda of heartbreaking to not like something they made. Anyway, Sinners Never Sleep was such an incredible album. Bite My Tongue is honestly one of my favourite songs of all time. This album has so much grit and emotion. It’s a classic.

Songs You Should Listen To:

 State Champs – Slow Burn (2017)
From the Deluxe edition of Around the World and Back
Pop Punk

State Champs are a consistently solid pop punk band and sometimes that’s all I need. I’m obsessed with this song and it’s been on repeat. During the first listen I thought Alex Gaskarth was featuring on vocals but then learnt he helped write the song and it definitely shows, which makes me kind of sad because this is the sound I’m missing in All Time Low’s newest releases, but oh well – at least I have State Champs in the mean time to deliver me with an incredible pop punk fix.

BUT LAUREN, WAIT! WHAT ABOUT THE NEW PARAMORE SONG?

Yeah, not a fan sorry. It’s fun and catchy as hell, but that’s it. It’s missing what made Ain’t it Fun and Still Into You stand out as pop hits. There’s nothing more to it – it just kinda coasts at one level. I really am happy to see Paramore back though. Hayley is a huge inspiration to me and I’m still excited for the album!!

sep

What have you been listening to this month?

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day!

 lauren xx.png

See more Music Monday posts

Find me: TwitterGoodreads – society6RedBubble

25 thoughts on “Music Monday 🎧 Top 5: Music of April

  1. I wasn’t a fan of the new Paramore song either, it was way too 80’s vibe for me. But then again, I didn’t like their last record either until I listened to it on repeat for a week straight. I’m excited to listen to Of Mice and Men’s new song though, I was lucky enough to see Austin play one more time last year before he left.

    Like

    1. Right! I normally love anything inspired by 80s too because it’s one of my favourite eras of music, but there was just something about it that missed the mark :/ I hope you like it!!! Ahh, that’s cool!! I saw them twice in 2013 so I feel lucky that I got to see them play with Austin too.

      Like

  2. Ohh, these all seem like great bands Lauren. I haven’t listened to any of them myself, though I can say I’ve at least heard of a couple, but now you’ve given me some recommendations of songs to check out I may have to add them to my iPod for my commute to work each day! 😀

    Like

  3. THE MAINE!!!!!!! I LOVE THEM ❤ I'm seeing them tomorrow and I'm so excited! 😀 😀 I'm loving their new album!
    I'm so happy you included Sinners Never Sleep because that is the only YMAS album I love love love. Uhhhh the feels just thinking about this album! 😀
    I'm totally obsessed with the new Paramore song. I'm a sucker for pop music so it's got me hooked haha!

    Like

    1. Ahhh, that’s so awesome!!! They’re coming to my city next month (with All Time Low!!!) but I don’t think I can afford to go because I have to travel down and money isn’t the best right now 😩 I hope you have an amazing time though 😀

      Riiight!! I love most of their stuff, but that one is definitely the best album and especially considering it was released in 2011. It was incredible.

      Sometimes I can be too, haha. It was just missing something for me :/

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This makes me want to expand my music collection 😂

    Love that sinners never sleep is on your list! It’s the only signed album i own and it means so much to me, I still can’t believe how disappointing night people is in comparison 😩

    Like

    1. Haha, yessss. That’s my goal 😉

      Ohhh that’s so cool 😀 I’m so happy I got to see them live during that era. It’s also strangely comforting to hear someone who’s a fan say Night People isn’t that great because everyone seems to love it and I’m just like ??? are we listening to the same album??? ahaha. Like the actual “Night People” song is just ….so bad. It sucks though because I really wanted to love it 😩

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your music posts, Lauren! 😊 You just reminded me that I’ve still yet to listen to The Maine’s new album. I remember when we talked about them a while back and I went on a binge listen of their old albums but not their newer ones. But after listening to the songs you included I definitely need to fix that. So many songs I need to add to my Spotify! 😂

    Like

  6. Aah I can’t believe I missed a Music Monday…
    Like I said before I urgently need to check out more of The Maine, because I didn’t know them that well, but I love the few songs you featured!
    Also, Bite My Tongue is pretty much my all-time favorite You Me At Six song!
    I’m not that big a fan of the new Paramore either. Like you said, it’s fun and catchy, but I don’t LOVE it. I don’t feel the need to play it 24/7. I do seem to like it a bit better with each listen though.

    Like

    1. Ahh, that’s okay ♥♥♥

      Yesssss. Definitely do it!! I love their music so much.

      Bite My Tongue is such a classic. Honestly one of the best songs ever.

      RIGHT??? It just kinda coasts. I love some of Paramore other pop-centric songs so much too, but this one is just a bit??? I am kinda getting more into it though, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

