The Sunshine Blogger Award Part 3

sunshineblogger

So, apparently I have accumulated a ton of these. I’m slowly making my way through all of themΒ πŸ˜… This time around I was nominated by icebreaker694 and oftalesanddreams! Thank you both so much β™₯ Make sure to check out their blogs!!

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award and write them 11 new questions to answer.

sep

icebreaker694’s Questions

How many books have you read this summer/winter? (Depends on where you are)

I’ll just go with this year because I’m not sure the seasonal total is. So far I’ve managed to read 119 books which I’m like still in shock over, tbh. I mean some of those are graphic novels, but still. I completed my GR challenge a month or so ago!!

gr.png

Do you prefer books based on modern times or the past?

I’m fascinated by history, but historical fiction really intimidates me. It’s weird because I find the past so incredible interesting, but I don’t think I’ve ever read a historical fiction. I am currently reading The Book Thief though which I’m really enjoying!!

Do you like food? What’s your favorite?

I do enjoy food especially salads, pasta and vegetarian lasagna and pizza. BUT I hate having to buy it.Β There’s so many other things I’d rather spend my money on.

What is your favorite name for a character?

I’m so bad with names. I don’t really have favourites? It’s cool when a character shares your name though!! I remember freaking out because there was a character in the Divergent series named LaurenΒ πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Or it’s even cooler, when your name is mentioned in a song.

Do you like movies or books? Both?

I’m not really much of a movie watcher. I probably watch about 5 a year give or take. I just don’t have the attention span to sit there, which I guess is why I struggle with reading sometimes too. There’s just something about books though that make me prefer them.

What book did you read for school but enjoyed anyway?

I didn’t have any assigned readings for school except for Bridge to Terabithia , which I was NOT Β a fan of.

What do you do when you’re not reading or blogging?

Sleeping.

Image result for homer sleeping gif

I listen to music or I’m (attempting to) design. I also run tours with my paranormal investigation group.

Would you rather forever buy used books or new books?

Tough dilemma. I want to buy new books to help support authors, but I LOVE the look and feel of used books. There’s just something about seeing a worn out and loved book that makes me so happy. I realised I didn’t really answer the question, but I don’t know…

Would you rather be stuck in a book world or in a movie world?

I DON’T CARE IF IT’S THE MOVIE WORLD OR BOOK WORLD I JUST WANNA GO TO HOGWARTS AND BE IN THE WORLD OF HARRY POTTER!!!!!!

Image result for hogwarts gif

Image result for diagon alley gif

Image result for harry potter gif

Me too, Harry.

What inspired the name of your blog?

It’s from this Pierce The Veil song!! Pierce The Veil are my favourite band and there’s just something about the word “wonderless” that really resonates with me.

Does the size of a book matter to you?

Not really. I prefer shorter books because of my attention span and books over 400 pages terrify me, but I won’tΒ notΒ read them. I just really enjoy fast paced plots and normally that’s reserved for shorter books. Order of the Phoenix is one of my favourite books of all time though so!!

sep

oftaleanddream’s Questions

What is something that you have to do in your daily routine, that brings you sanity?

Listen to music. I would actually lose my mind if it wasn’t for music being my constant and keeping me grounded. Also coffee. Coffee is very important.

What quirk do you find attractive in romantic partners?

I’m actually aromantic so I don’t experience romantic attraction, but I just like people who are genuinely good and are open minded and considerate of others and the world around them. It would definitely help if music was an important part of their life and Australian Football because all I’d wanna do is go to concerts and footy games. They’d definitely need to support the same team as me or it’d never work 😝

If you could have any song be a β€˜theme song’ to your life, what would it be?

I have a few!!!

Right On Right Now by Powerspace

If I could only choose ONE song, it’d be this one. This isn’t just my theme song lyrically, it’s also my theme song instrumentally and what I mean with that is that on the outside this song sounds so upbeat and happy but if you listen to the lyrics it’s actually quite serious and sad and talks about depression. I think that’s such a brilliant metaphor for people suffering. Just because someone looks okay doesn’t mean they are okay.

It Never Ends by Bring Me The Horizon

Again, this just describes my relationship with mental illnesses perfectly.

The Maine – Fucked Up KidsΒ 

I am alone
But I’m not lonely
No, It’s nothing personal
I prefer to do things on my own
And even though nobody knows me
No I’m not lonely
No I’m raw, and invincible

I love being on my own. I hate that society puts pressure on everyone that we need to constantly be surrounded by people. I only have a couple friends and I’m totally okay with that. I like going to the city on my own. I LOVE going to concerts on my own. I just like being alone and there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m not lonely and I don’t need to be “fixed”.

If you could go back in time what would you tell your 8 year old self?

There’s SO much. I think the main thing would be to just be kinder to myself. And that all the bullying I endured wasn’t a product of who I was. I’d tell myself that everything those kids said wasn’t true.

What is your favorite childhood book and why?

Image result for goosebumps

The Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine!! This kickstarted my love for Horror. I was so obsessed with these books especially the Choose Your Own Adventure ones. I used to LOVE the TV series too and I had so many VHS tapes of recorded episodes #ShowingMyAge

Image result for the babysitters club books

Also, The Baby-Sitters ClubΒ series by Ann M. Martin. These, along with Goosebumps, were the first books I started collecting. I wanted to start a Baby-Sitting Club so badly and I wanted to be best friends with all the girlsΒ πŸ˜…

sep

I wont be tagging anyone because I think everyone’s done this already.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on anything I mentioned!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

34 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award Part 3

  1. Looks like I have a bunch of new songs to try out! =)

    Oh man, you’re such a prolific reader; how do you do it? I’m awed.

    Heck yes to the beauty of well-worn used books! I love poking through everyone’s Bookstagram accounts and stuff, but I’m always disappointed by how few worn/used books are presented. There’s so much beauty and history in a book with a spine so cracked you can’t read the title, and every page creased from dog-earring, and maybe some corners rubbed soft and rounded. That’s a book with personality, you know? Whoops, I’m rambling.

    Have you ever written about your reading experience, or books, or a particular book, explicitly from an aro perspective? (Wait, have I asked you this before?) If you have, I’m going to immediately (after my vacation, so, like, in a week) dig through your entire blogging history to find it. That’d definitely be a fascinating read.

    Someone needs to go hug your eight-year-old self. I’m glad she eventually learned those lessons, anyway! =)

    Like

    1. Yay!

      Haha. I think the fact that the majority of my reading is done through graphic novels helps me look better. I can read those insanely quickly.

      Oh my gosh, YES. I love it so, so much! And please, ramble away. I always feel like the odd one out sometimes in the bookish community because everyone is so insistent that their books be in pristine condition and each to their own, but I love when a book looks read.

      I actually haven’t and that’s a really good idea! I might just have to turn that into a post. Thanks for the idea!!

      She’s definitely still learning, but she’s getting there!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mental note: add more graphic novels to my TBR, for when I need to feel more productive.

        Hurray for finding a used-book bud! 😁

        Aw, you’re welcome! I’d be stoked to read anything you had to say on the topic, but obviously there’s no pressure or anything.

        😁

        Liked by 1 person

        1. They’re so good at making people think you’ve read a lot πŸ˜…

          β™₯β™₯β™₯

          No, it’s a really good idea! I guess I hadn’t really considered it because I haven’t come across any aro rep in books, but then I guess that itself could be what the post is about. I feel like a lot of people don’t really know what aromatic is either, so it’s always great to bring awareness to it.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Aro people really do need more representation in both books and the world at large, that’s for sure.

            If you’re open to talking about it, I’d be especially interested to know how you tend to respond to/engage with the romantic plots and subplots in YA novels.

            But I really don’t want to sound like I’m prying, so I’ll tell you about my experience a bit first. Assuming you don’t mind that I ramble about myself, unasked, in your comments section. *Shifty look.*

            I’m–if this is even a real term–panromantic demi-greysexual (romantically attracted to every gender, only sexually attracted to people I’ve already fallen in love and established a relationship with, and very rarely experience sexual desire even then), and I didn’t realize that my experience with sexuality (read: total obliviousness to sex) wasn’t universal until I was in my early twenties.

            I mostly read adult fantasy novels while in my tweens and teens (before YA became the huge thing it is now), and whenever I came across a sex scene, my response was always along the lines of, “Why are they doing this thing? They have horses they could be riding! Who would pass on RIDING HORSES? This makes NO SENSE.” And that’s still pretty much my response, though I’ve learned to accept that sex makes sense to the characters, even if it doesn’t to me.

            Often, when reading a book that involves a character’s sexual desires (even just a teen thinking about sex during school or something), I have to read an excerpt to my husband to find out if it’s a realistic portrayal of “standard” sexual desire and experience. Because I just have no clue. (He’s always patient with me and my confused/alarmed/surprised questions, bless him.)

            I feel like I’m missing some significant, common human knowledge, which practically everyone–even the fictional characters I read about–innately understands. Usually it doesn’t bother me, but sometimes a book’s portrayal of sex and sexual desire makes me feel uncomfortable and othered. And as YA becomes more open to sexual topics, and as NA becomes more of a thing, my sense of discomfort and othered-ness has been growing.

            Ugh, I’m sorry for rambling about myself. I’ve never told anyone (except my husband and closest friends) about my experience as an ace-spectrum person reading about sex, and it’s nice to describe it to someone who might be able to relate in their own way.

            I’ve never heard an aro reader discuss how they respond to the prevalence of/obsession with romance in YA; hopefully it doesn’t bother you, personally, nor make you feel like you’re missing something everyone else has.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. No, don’t apologise. Thank you so much for feeling like you could share this with me! I appreciate it so much. I love hearing about other’s experiences because I don’t really know that many ace/aro people irl.

              I didn’t realise I was aro until a few years ago. I was in a really bad relationship in my late teens/early 20’s so I just thought that’s why I wasn’t interested in romance/relationships again. I saw a lot of asexual rep on Tumblr, but I felt like it wasn’t quite me and then I found out about aromantic and I was like “whoa, this is me?” and it was such an enlightening moment.

              For me, personally, I have more trouble dealing with the romance side of things than sex. It’s especially hard in YA especially YA contemporary which is why I usually always avoid it because it focuses so heavily on characters being “in love” with each other. And I’m just like ‘……but how? you’re like 16 and you’re ready to settle down?” I just can’t comprehended it, haha. I also get uncomfortable with romantic affection irl and in fiction. Sometimes I will find sex scenes uncomfortable though which is why I avoid NA.

              Sometimes it bothers me a title, but that’s mainly society’s pressure that we all have to be romantically involved with someone to be “complete”. It has made me feel like I’m broken at times, but I’m mostly totally fine with who i am and know that it’s not me with the issues – it’s society. I also get worried that there’s too much focus of “romance” in YA. I feel like teenagers are in such a hurry and feel pressured to find a relationship because it’s presented as what’s “normal”. I’d love to see a book where a character openly talks about how they don’t want to be in a romantic relationship and how that’s totally okay. So far the only book I’ve read that’s even mentioned the word “aromantic” is Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire and I actually started crying when I read it haha.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Oof, I’m sorry to hear that you were stuck in an unhealthy relationship for so long, and that it continued to affect you so significantly afterwards. I can certainly see how you’d come to that conclusion, though.

                Hurray for Tumblr and its active LGBTQIA+ community! It fills me with all the joy, knowing that people are able to find answers about themselves (not to mention so many supportive voices) on such a popular platform. Hopefully, because it is such a popular platform and is fairly widely accessible, more aro and ace teens are able to figure themselves out now than were able to when we were their age. Save them a few years of confusion, at least.

                Avoiding contemporary YA makes sense; the genre really is saturated in romance, unfortunately.

                And, like you said, that intense focus on romance really does hammer home the societal belief that only those who are romantically paired off are “complete”–which boils my blood just thinking about. It’s bad enough that girls and young women have historically been taught to judge their own worth through the men around them (like, in terms of their sexual desirability to men, and the type/class/rank of men they have relationships with). Because you’re right; YA really does seem to be shouting at young people (especially young women, from what I’ve seen) that finding and keeping a boyfriend is at least as important as, like, maintaining your grades and solving that murder and saving the world. And that’s bullshit.

                Bah.

                It’s good to hear that you’re confident enough in yourself and your experience to not be terribly bothered by society’s romantically-inclined pressures. You’re my role model, not gonna lie.

                Oh, I totally get the whole crying thing! Those rare moments of real representation are powerful. Here’s hoping we see a lot more aro rep (and well-written, not-romance-centric stories) asap.

                Liked by 1 person

  2. Tags are the only thing that we hoard even faster than books πŸ˜‚ 119 is HUGE! The size definitely doesn’t matter. Some big books are so boring while novellas can be so good. Oh gosh, I told myself the same thing to my therapist two days ago! I only realized the bullying was not my fault a few years later. I wish it hadn’t made me doubt myself so much when it happened.
    GOOSEBUMPS!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. I loved reading your answers for this tag Lauren. And yeah I have a ton of Sunshine Blogger Awards I need to work my way though, I think that’s going to be a job for next weekend though! πŸ˜€
    I completely agree with you I would love to live in the Harry Potter world, either the book or the film version. The closest I got was the studio tour which, while amazing, isn’t quite the same. Also yeah, when I’m not blogging I’m usually sleeping, or working. My life pretty much revolves around blogging, working and sleeping at the moment.
    Ohh congrats on reaching, and passing, your Goodreads goal this year, are you going to try for more books in 2017? And I hope you enjoy The Book Thief as well. That’s an all-time favourite of mine! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Thanks, Beth πŸ˜€ Haha, right! I didn’t realise how many I had until I checked recently Ahh, the studio tour sounds like it would be amazing. That honestly sounds like me. I feel like I center everything around blogging now, haha. Thank you! I don’t like setting my goal too high because I feel like it intimidates me. I think it was originally 20 at the start of the year and then I kept bumping it up. I feel like I’ll probably do something similar for 2017, but maybe start with 30 or 40 and see what happens πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. I think I have a lot of this award I need to get through as well. That is going to be a long post with a lot of questions! πŸ˜€
        The Studio Tour is amazing, and yeah blogging has taken up my whole life at the moment.
        I’ll probably end up doing that for 2017 as well! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  4. YOU GO TO CONCERTS BY YOURSELF TOO?!?! I have yet to meet another person who does this. I always get laughed at because I do, but I do end up having a great time!
    Ah the Baby Sitter’s Club, I remember being asked in the second grade who my favourite author was & I said Ann M. Martin. I think I still own some of the books somewhere. I just want to re-read them again now!

    Like

    1. YES!!! It’s something I always encourage others to do as well. Ugh, people at laugh at you are dumb haha. I’m glad you have a great time on your own β™₯ My mindset is why should I miss out on seeing one of my fave bands just because other people don’t wanna go? Normally you end up making friends in line too which is awesome! I went to a show last month by myself and the band I saw even said how awesome it was so πŸ˜€

      I really want to reread them too. It would be so nostalgic.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OMG YES! I have the same mindset! That used to be my issue when I was a teenager because my parents wouldn’t let me go into the city, but now I’m like here I go off to see my fave band.
        Yeah, I always end up meeting people while standing around.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha. I feel like Australia isn’t huge on assigned reading?? Our school system is really weird. I also left school before my exam years and went to a trade school instead so I didn’t have to do any kind of subjects that would require assigned reading.

      Like

  5. 119 books is a lot, Lauren!! That’s like 20 more than me. I thought you were a slow reader like me. D: Are you reading lots of short graphic novels? If so, I am too. lol
    I love historical fiction and am only intimidated by it if it’s a huge book, rarely by the subject itself. Though there are some historical fiction books I won’t read because it just sounds boring. πŸ˜› The Book Thief is excellent, though. Glad you’re finally getting around to it!

    These awards/tags look pretty fun! I may tag myself for a rainy day. I assume it doesn’t matter if I haven’t done parts 1 and 2 of the tag?

    Like

    1. Haha yeah, they’re mostly just graphic novels. I’ve probably read under 100 actual full length novels πŸ˜‚

      It’s definitely a genre I want to explore more, but I feel like I would get bored by a lot of it too. I need fast paced stuff to hold my attention and I feel like historical stuff is a lot slower. However, I have been surprised by The Book Thief and am loving that the chapters are pretty short!

      There’s not actually parts to it, ahaha. I’ve just accumulated like way too many of them (and people have been way too nice and keep nominating me) so I’ve split them up into different posts.

      Like

  6. I thought you’d be too young to have read the Babysitter’s Club! I remember those books, too! I wanted to live in Stonybrook!
    Did you ever see the movie? It’s so cheesy but I loved it as a kid!

    Like

    1. Haha, nope!! I read them in the late 90s. I am 26, so πŸ˜… I just look and act like I’m 16. And same!! I literally wanted to start a Baby Sitting Club I was so obsessed. Oh my god, yeah, I did see the movie!! It was soooooo long ago, but I remember it being super 90s and I loved it haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved it too! I crushed on Logan so bad! I was such a dorky girl!
        Never would have guessed 26. It’s ok, we can be 16 forever together! Lmao!
        Yeah, I tried to babysit for awhile and something got broken when the kid knocked it over…I stopped getting calls after that. And I didn’t have enough friends to form any clubs…just my books!

        Like

  7. Hahaha how could you not want to spend money on books? Food, books & gym clothes are basically ALL I spent my money on last year xD And OMG I LOVED the Babysitter’s books – I’m thinking of re-reading some of them bc they were such a big part of my childhood. Did you know they’ve turned them into graphic novels as well?

    Like

    1. Haha. I don’t mind spending money on books, but I absolutely hate having to spend it on food. Some days I really love food, but most days I wish there was some kind of invention that was a healthy/nutritious alternative to food so I’d never have to worry about it again πŸ˜‚ I really want to reread them too!! And oh my god, nooooo??!! I didn’t know that!! Will defs have to check it out!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

