I Really, Really, Really Need To Read You

books-i-need-to-read

It’s getting to a point where when we say “I want to read this before the end of the year” we really, really, really need to hurry up and read the book.

It’s even harder when you’ve been away from reading for such a long time because not only do you have new releases – you have a huge backlist of books you want to get too. It’s hard trying to prioritise things.

As a blogger, there’s sometimes a certain pressure to be up to date with new releases. I definitely don’t let myself get weighed down by this, but sometimes it’s hard not to get caught up in the latest releases for fears of spoilers or just because you want to be a part of what everyone is else reading so you feel involved.

Then being a distracted, mood reader makes the whole thing even more fun /sarcasm!!!!

TL;DR here are books I REALLY want to try and get to before the end of the year. I have wanted to read these books ALL YEAR, but just keep putting them off. They have literally been on my desk in a pile staring at me judgingly for like 8 months. These books have been on so many TBR and/or read-a-thon posts it’s kind of embarrassing.  So, I’m going to try and dedicate November/December to them.

sep

Covers = Goodreads

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Passenger by Alexandra Bracken The Special Ones by Em Bailey

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book. Why haven’t I read it!??!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – This is a case of “I want to judge the Hype for myself”. People either seem to Love or Hate this book with no in between and I want to see what my feelings are!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – I bought this book in February. I was supposed to read it in March… I know this is another mixed feelings book, but I love Alexandra Bracken and The Darkest Minds so I really want to see how I feel about this.

The Special Ones by Em Bailey – Em Bailey’s other book Shift is one of my all time favourites. I’d been waiting like five years for her to write a book and The Special Ones was released this year in April BUT I STILL HAVEN’T READ IT. WHY LAUREN? It’s about CULTS!!!! And is #OzYA.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I probably don’t even need to say anything for this one. The main reason why I haven’t picked it up is because I haven’t’ read The Grisha trilogy and whilst that IS on my TBR I’m really impatient and I think I’m going to enjoy Six of Crows more and I don’t want to wait. I have a hard time understand things BUT I WANT TO READ THIS SO BADLY.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – This is actually one I hadn’t planned on reading at all, but then I started blogging and I heard SO MANY GOOD THINGS I couldn’t resist. I know the next book is coming out soon so it’d be good to read them back to back.

My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier – Another one I can’t believe I haven’t read because it’s about a guy’s kid sister who is potentially a psychopath. I was so excited when this was released, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. I might actually try and read this during the Halloween Readathon because it does suit the theme.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu – I am so weak for People With Powers stories and this sounds AMAZING. I love complex and anti-hero characters.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – I think I’m one of like 3 people who hasn’t read this. The reason why I haven’t read this is purely for Intimidation reasons. I’m so scared I’m not going to like it. I didn’t like A Court of Thorns and Roses so. I don’t want everyone to hate me 😂

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – I’m trash for not having read this. The end.

More Happy Than Note by Adam Silvera – This is a more recent addition to my list, but I have fallen in love with Adam and I was originally going to read this in like July? But STILL HAVEN’T. I’m sorry, Adam. I love you.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Probably the one on this list that can cause me the most judgement. I’m just really intimidated by this, but I know how well loved it is. My sister who never reads was trying to get me to read this in like 2010. It’s been six years. I still haven’t read it. SOON, THOUGH.

sep

If you’ve read any of these I’d love to hear your thoughts!

As a blogger do you feel like you need to prioritise certain books? Is there a book that you really need to read before the end of the year?

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

31 thoughts on “I Really, Really, Really Need To Read You

  1. I’ve felt the same way before. However, the great thing about reading some books after the hype is over is that you get to form your own opinion without everyones opinions hovering over you at the same time. I hope that made sense. I’m also a mood reader so there are times that I am highly anticipating a book and once it comes out, I’m just over it lol.

    With Six of Crows, you do not need to read the Grisha Trilogy at all. Leigh Bardugo has said it herself. And it’s true, you will perfectly understand the world without reading Grisha.
    The Young Elites is also on my long awaited TBR but now that Midnight Star is out, we can just marathon it, right? Lol.
    I’m pretty sure that no one will hate you if you don’t like Throne of Glass. It is what it is lol.

    I read Simon and thought it was super cute. It’s one of those fluffy light reads, I would suggest it when you need something quick and light after a dark read. Aristotle and The Book Thief, I didn’t really like so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts when you get to that =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I wanted to do a “to read before the end of the year” post but I already know I won’t be able to read much and it would only depress me to see all those titles not receiving their share of love 😦 Right now I’m focusing on ARCs, two requires my immediate attention because their reviews are due in November, and the rest from NetGalley will have to wait because if assigned readings I still haven’t read xD
    I enjoyed Passenger 🙂 The time travel shenanigans are well done. I’m looking forward to the second book! Six of Crows is on my immediate wish list, I can’t believe all those awesome reviews, I need to see for myself, haha! Throne of Glass is … a series I love to hate xD My lack of love for Celaena, the nicknames I gave the other characters and the fact it’s a perfect book to snark on has spurred me to keep reading the series, but it was merely okay for me until the book I’m currently reading (Queen of Shadows). I had to read the 4th book to finally warm to Celaena (I tolerate her now) and get invested in the story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg you have to read Six of Crows definitely.It’s my best read of the year!!! And I also need to start Red Queen and the young elites series.And I am one of those 3 people who also haven’t read Throne of Glass series 😄😊

    Like

  4. Oh this is a great list!
    Simon is one of my favorite books ever. It’s a short, cute and fluffy read. I’m one of the people who loves Red Queen but I am aware of its’ flaws. I liked Passenger enough, but I wasn’t wowed either. SIx of Crows is AMAZING! ❤ You don't have to read the Grisha trilogy before reading Six of Crows because the world is clear enough. However, if you also read Crooked Kingdom before the Grisha trilogy there are some spoilers for that series, so I would be aware of those if you're still planning to read it afterwards. Throne of Glass is another one of my faves, so I'm a bit biased here 🙂 And YES to both Ari and Dante and More Happy Than Not!
    I'm a serious mood reader myself, and honestly I just try to indulge those moods most of the time. Reading is a hobby and it should stay fun. Sure, I'd love to read all the latest hyped books soon, but if I feel like reading an older book or even do a re-read, then that's what I'll do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am the same way. In fact, I have not read every book but Simon, Six of Crows (both of the books is superb and Simon isn’t that long of a read so you should be able to read it in one sitting without no issues) and I am close to finishing up Passenger. I don’t think I am ever going to read Throne of Glass series. I am planning on reading Wolf by Wolf in November. Do you want to buddy read that book with me? I

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s quite a few of these I’ve yet to read too *blush* I actually feel nervous about starting Throne of Glass. There’s just so much hype around it and seems to be adored by everyone. It’s so intimating, I just keep putting it off. Not to mention there’s a lot to read! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m SO behind too hahahah which means that even though there are 4 books on here I want to throw at your face and hope that somehow the words sip into your brain, I won’t because ther author gazillion I still haven’t read either.
    One that I’m really excited to get to though, is Six of Crows, I just got it last month and can’t wait to see what everyone is raving about. I made two lists at the beginning of the year of books and seires I want to read before the end of 2016 and let’s just say that even though I made some kind of progress in achieving that, I’m VERY behind and doomed to fail, and I’m okay with that to be honest xD There are also some books on there that I lost interest in reading sooooo…
    Anyways, enough ramblings and good luck to us hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think wanting to keep up with new releases and popular books is definitely part of being a blogger, it’s a bit of peer pressure I think. I absolutely love Six of Crows and Throne of Glass, as well as My Sister Rosa, Simon vs and many of these so you can’t go wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have so many books I need to read before the end of the year as well, and it’s like I keep forgetting we’re only about two and a half months away from that (oh my god can you believe we’re that close to the end of the year?!)
    Some of the books you got left on your 2016 TBR list are favourites of mine. I really hope you enjoy Simon Vs, Passenger, Six of Crows, Wolf by Wolf, Throne of Glass, Ari and Dante and The Book Thief. They’re all amazing books in my opinion so I can’t wait to see what you think of them (and yeah I am so shocked that you haven’t gotten around to The Book Thief yet, you really need to soon it’s such a brilliant book!)
    Anyways, good luck to getting through all these in the next two and a bit months, do you think you’ll make it?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh jeez, we share similar books we’d like to get to before the year is up Lol! Wolf by Wolf, My Sister Rosa, The Young Elites, & My Sister Rosa which doesn’t come out til November here in the U.S. So many books–so little time 😔 I try so hard to prioritize my reads but often fail. I guess right now I make sure to stay on top & on time with my NetGalley ARCS. Now that I have ARCS from Comic Con though, I’m going to treat those just like NetGalley ARCS & read/review as their publication date nears. All this goes out the window though saaaaay for example the release of Gemina next week 😂😂😂 smh 🙈🙈🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My “YOU MUST READ THEM” Books from this List: Simon vs. (It’s super duper cute and sweet), Wolf by Wolf (it is one of the coolest mixes of historical fiction and science fiction that I’ve ever read), Throne of Glass (it’s okay if you don’t like this, personally I’m a fan but it has its issues), Ari & Dante (ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME) and More Happy Than Not (prepare to die from heartbreak. seriously). I gave up on Red Queen when I saw it had so many similarities to other popular books and I just didn’t really care enough to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. You need Six of Crows so bad you don’t even know how much you need it until after you meet Kaz and fall in love with him. 😍 We’re starting a Kaz support group on Twitter. Haha! I would love to know your thoughts him and the characters. Get reading, girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I can relate so much to your comment about being a mood reader. I am such a mood reader! I actually planned on reading the Throne of Glass books this month but then I ended up getting caught up in Six of Crows and now I’m not in the mood to read ToG anymore. 🙈
    Several of the books on your list of books you want to read before the end of the year are on mine as well. And Six of Crows and Ari & Dante are fantastic! Especially Six of Crows. I hope you enjoy both whenever you get around to them. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Omg yes, there’s so many books I need to read before the end of the year too! Unfortunately, I have exams for the next few weeks, so I can’t read for like a month! But Passenger and Red Queen are on my tbr list too!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. OMG, The Book Thief has been on my TBR for aaaages too. Like, YEARS. And I still haven’t read it, mostly because I’m terrible at keeping to a schedule, and I don’t want to be sad and everyone’s saying how sad it is. 😭

    I also haven’t read Six of Crows/anything Grisha. At this point I feel like I’m too lazy to. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. The Throne of Glass series is up & down for me. I didn’t like the first two books in that series much at all. But then I LOVED book 3 & 4, however book 5 was a little lackluster. However the series as a whole is so good! I definitely recommend it. However I can say that it probably won’t be the most amazing book in the world, so lower your expectations and you may like it more!

    I really didn’t like The Young Elites because it was so dark. But I could definitely appreciate that this series is about a girl who is the villain. It was definitely interesting! I’m too scared to read book 2 though because it probably gets a loooot darker..

    Red Queen is definitely a hit or a miss. I liked the first book, but then the second book was SO DARK and I just wanted EVERYONE TO DIE. So I don’t even know if I’ll get around to reading any more books in that series because it depressed me so much…

    Good luck, I hope you get to read all of these before the end of the year!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  17. I totally agree with you, book blogging has changed the way I read, or mostly, the way I decide what to read next. Since I started blogging, I started to really keep up with release date. I guess I don’t want to be left out?haha and that’s tiring because my country isn’t always up to date with books so most of the time I end up waiting until it’s out or order it from bookdepository. There are also review copies, books we request from netgalley, and readathon so I totally understand how our TBR could get overwhelming sometimes 😛 I read most books on this list but ONE that you absolutely NEED to read soon is Six of Crows ❤ it's so so so good and the sequel is out (and equally good) so you could probably binge read both 😛 but I recommend you to savor though hahaha happy reading, Lauren! 😀

    Like

  18. I still have to read a few of these myself “The Young Elites” and “Wolf by Wolf” being two of the big ones! Also I just read Throne of Glass this year and am in the middle with my rating but if you don’t like it I’ll help defend you, haha just kidding! I thought people would be mad with me for not liking it but that’s actually quite the opposite! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

