The Sunshine Blogger Award (Part 2)

sunshineblogger

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve done a tag! I definitely can’t call myself Wonderless Tags anymore 😂 I realised I was starting to accumulate a fair few of the same Awards so I decided to finally do a post.

I was nominated for this by Ashley @ Inside my Minds and Melissa @ Book Nerd Momo like 10 million years ago. Better late than never, right? They’re both amazing so go check their blogs out!

the-sunshine-blogger-award

Rules:

  • Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
  • Nominate some wonderful bloggers and write 11 questions for them to answer.

sep

Ashley’s Questions

What is your favorite part about where you live?

I don’t really like much about the town where I live because it’s in the middle of nowhere and it feels like I’m stuck in the 1950s. I know I shouldn’t complain because there’s worst places I could be living, but I’m definitely not happy here 😂 I suppose one of the good things is that everything is in walking distance, we have some really nice cafes and even though I hate the beach it is pretty to look at it. Sometimes I take how close it is for granted because I can walk out my door and a few meters down the street and see it.

How do you find out about new books?

Before I started blogging I used to use the Explore and Recommend sections on Goodreads. Now just about every single new book I find has come from blogging or BookTube videos.

Physical books or eBooks?

I’m starting to get back into physical books, but I think I’ll always prefer eBooks. I know.

shame nun animated GIF

BUT living in the middle of nowhere it’s just so much more convenient especially for new releases. I LOOVE buying physical books though because they’re sooo pretty.

Blogging or Booktubing?

Blogging 100%. I love watching BookTube videos, but blogging is where I actually interact with people and have so many wonderful friends. I don’t think I could ever make BookTube videos. There’s a reason why I started a blog 😂.

Harry Potter or Percy Jackson?

Image result for i can't choose gif

I CAN’T CHOOSE. They’re both SOO important to me. Harry Potter was what made me loving reading, but Percy Jackson is what reminded me why I love reading.

How often do you use Goodreads?

I check it every day. Feel free to add me if you haven’t!! ✨✨✨

When did you start blogging?

March 1st, 2016! Best decision I ever made 💕💕

How did you discover your love of reading?

Image result for dr seuss books Image result for the babysitters club books

I’ve been reading my whole life. When I couldn’t read myself my nana would read to me. I grew up on Dr Seuss, alphabet books and Spot 🐶. When I got older I found Goosebumps and The Baby Sitter’s Club and of course – Harry Potter. Harry Potter is what really fuelled my love for reading and made me want to read ALL of the books. It’s also what got me involved in fandom and the internet community in general. I stopped reading for like 2-3 years and reading Illuminae at the start of the year is what made me fall back in love with it.

Which fictional character would you summon if you were stranded on a stranded island and why?

Oooh. Maybe someone from Harry Potter, preferably with a broomstick, so I can get off the island.

If you could take and switch fictional characters from one world (i.e. Narnia) and put them in another world (i.e. Middle Earth), which characters would you choose and why?

This is really interesting! I feel like there’s a lot of popular series I haven’t read, but it’d be really cool to see Percy Jackson characters in the wizarding world or vise versa. Or maybe Harley Quinn in the Marvel Universe. I’d love to see her interact with The Avengers. That’d be amazing 😂😂

What is your all time favorite book to movie adaptation?

I haven’t seen many – so this is a pretty predictable answer – but Harry Potter. It was amazing seeing the magic come to life. I know they missed a lot out, but what they did get everything was exactly like I imagined it to be. The Perks of Being a Wallflower was another amazing adaptation and I definitely recommend it.

sep

Melissa’s Questions

What’s a book you feel like changed your life? Why?

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Not to sound repetitive, but definitely Harry Potter. Like I said above it not only made me want to read all the books, but it what introduced me to the world of fandoms and online communities.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

More recently Illuminae and The Yellow Wall-Paper. Illuminae, like I mentioned, is what made me want to start reading again and The Yellow Wall-Paper was so important in terms of mental illness representation. I’ll never forget that book.

What’s a book series you’re dreading the end to? A series you don’t want to end.

I’m really bad at keeping up with series so most of the ones I love have already ended. I’m still not over The Raven Cycle ending. I’m so happy Maggie is writing more from that world though because those characters are my Everything™. I suppose at the moment it would be Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab. I can’t even bring myself to finish A Gathering of Shadows because I don’t want to have to deal with the wait for A Conjuring of Light 😂

What’s a book or series you feel is extremely underrated?

A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry

Everyone knows the legends about the cursed girl–Isabel, the one the señoras whisper about. They say she has green skin and grass for hair, and she feeds on the poisonous plants that fill her family’s Caribbean island garden. Some say she can grant wishes; some say her touch can kill.

When letters from Isabel begin mysteriously appearing in his room the same day his new girlfriend disappears, Lucas turns to Isabel for answers–and finds himself lured into her strange and enchanted world. But time is running out for the girl filled with poison, and the more entangled Lucas becomes with Isabel, the less certain he is of escaping with his own life.

This book is amazing. It’s full of magical realism and incredible Spanish mythology and folklore. The Peurto Rican setting is like a character all on its own. I loved this so, so much and I wish more people would read it! The ending is open, but everything becomes full circle. It’s like The Raven Cycle meets Poison Ivy.

If you could only eat one type of food for the rest of your life what would it be?

Image result for vegetarian lasagna

Vegetarian lasagna  😍😍😍😍

What’s something you enjoy besides reading or blogging?

Music is the biggest love of my life. I might love it more than reading, but shh. I love going to concerts, they’re honestly like my home. I’m seeing Mayday Parade next week and I’m so excited. Here’s a Spotify playlist of some of my favourite bands and songs.

I enjoy IT, web and graphic design. It can be super frustrating at times, but it’s really rewarding when you actually finish or fix something. I’m super into Australian Football. I’m always watching and re-watching games. The season is over and it’s KILLING ME. I also have my paranormal investigating which is super fun.

aflrd21greaterwesternsydneyvwestcoast15od8zwkaj_xaflrd21greaterwesternsydneyvwestcoastjrdaxci3dgbx
My boys ♥♥♥

What’s your favorite season?

WIIIIIIINTER. It gets ridiculously hot where I live and I can not deal with it. Last summer it reached 48C (114F) and was the hottest recorded temperature in the entire world for that day.

Stand alone or series?

This is always a tough one because I love when a story can be wrapped up in one book. It really helps with my non existent attention span. However, there’s some books that I never want to leave and I just want to stay in the world forever.

What book to movie adaptation are you looking forward to the most?

I’m not much of a movie watcher so I coudn’t even really tell you what’s being adapted. I heard that Illuminae was picked up so it’d be cool to see that. Since I finished A Monster Calls last month I’m excited to see that! The trailer looks incredible and I’ve heard from people who saw advanced screenings that it’s amazing. And it’s not technically a movie, but I’m really interested to see the Netflix adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events. 

Is there a character that everyone else seems to dislike, but that you really love?

I think I have more characters I dislike that others love than the other way around 🙈. But, when The Maze Runner was super popular I know a lot of people disliked Teresa, but she was my favourite. I love Bellatrix from Harry Potter if that counts? I know she’s a villain, but I can’t help it. Oh and I love Alaska Young from Looking for Alaska and I know a lot of people dislike her.

If you could have any power at all what would it be?

Definitely the ability to transport myself anywhere in the word. It would be so useful.

If it was possible to be physically transported into any book world which one would you choose? Why?

Again, I know everyone says this but – Harry Potter. I would love to be able to go to Hogwarts. I refuse to give up hope about my letter 😂 There’s just so many places I want to explore in the Wizarding World. Otherwise, even though I probably wouldn’t survive one day, Camp Halfblood!

sep

I’m not nominating anyone because I think everyone I know has already been nominated!!


Like awalys I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of the books or other things I mentioned.

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day.

P.S. Sorry I’ve been so terrible at replying to comments on posts. I’ve been feeling a bit of a blogging burnout. I’ll get through it though 💪🏻

19 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award (Part 2)

  1. I am totally with you on Harry Potter,Lauren.That’s the first book I have ever read (second being twilight 😂).My love for it will never go away 🙂

    Like

  2. It is SO pretty where you live, and how you’re able to walk just a few minutes to have stunning views like this. I am SO JEALOUS.
    I really need to read A Monster Calls soon, before watching the movie. I love that trailer so much. Also, I’m probably going to cry ahah. Loved your answers! ❤

    Like

  3. So much Harry Potter. I LOVE IT! I completely agree with you on everything Harry Potter so… 😂
    Also, I read part of The Yellow Wallpaper in school years ago and enjoyed it. I need to get a copy of the book to read the full thing. And I’m with you on wanting the ability to transport yourself anywhere in the world. That would be incredible. Great answers, Lauren! 😊

    Like

    1. HAHA 😂😂 I tried not to use it so much because I feel like it’s such a go-to answer, but at the same time how can I not?? It’s so important!!

      Ooh, yay!! And right?? It would be so great to just be able to go anywhere you wanted without worrying about it. Thank you ♥♥

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great answers for this tag Lauren! I love both Harry Potter and Percy Jackson so I wouldn’t be able to choose between them either. In fact for me Harry Potter was the book that got me into reading in the first place, so it definitely holds a special place in my heart, and of course I’d love to be transported to Hogwarts as well, honestly though who wouldn’t?
    I’m also always reading eBooks as well, I love paperbacks don’t get me wrong but when it comes to actual reading I prefer eBooks just because you can’t damage them, I hate creased spines and pages :/
    I am so so excited for the A Monster Calls movie, and the Series of Unfortunate Events series. There are so many good films coming out soon, and wow I didn’t know Illuminae had been option that’d be amazing seeing it on the big screen. 😀

    Like

  5. You were nominated 10 million years ago. Lol 😂 I’m so bad with my tags the last few months. I haven’t gotten a pingback since April and I have no idea when I’m tagged anymore. Then I forget to do the ones I see. I’m so behind. I feel ya on falling behind on commenting. I have been in such a blog funk before and after my move. I think a lot of people have from what I’ve noticed. I bought Illuminae on kindle for $1.99 the other day. That’s such a killer deal I couldn’t pass it up. I’m so glad that it got you back into reading. I think The Hunger Games was the book that pulled me out of my long no reading funk years ago. Illuminae sounds like an awesome book though. Someone told me to get a paper copy so I can see all the pictures clearly. I might buy the hardback just to see for myself. 🙂

    Like

  6. I just bought A Fierce and Subtle Poison when it was on sale for $1.99. I was a little nervous bc of the reviews…but I trust your judgment!! Also, I pretty much agree with everything else you mentioned!

    Like

Leave a Reply

