SIGH // Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

stealing-snow-by-danielle-paige

Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow, #1)Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Date Published: 20th September 2016 (US)
6th October 2016 (UK/AUS)
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon – Book Depository
Australia: Angus & RobertsonBooktopiaBloomsbury
Follow Danielle Paige on Twitter

Seventeen-year-old Snow lives within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she doesn’t belong there, but she has no memory of life outside, except for the strangest dreams. And then a mysterious, handsome man, an orderly in the hospital, opens a door – and Snow knows that she has to leave …

She finds herself in icy Algid, her true home, with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change everything. Heroine or villain, queen or broken girl, frozen heart or true love, Snow must choose her fate.

Add to Goodreads

** I received a free copy of this book via Bloomsbury and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review **

sep

This review is inspired by the following Tweet because there is no way I can write a proper/serious one. I’m sorry.

I highly suggest reading Beth @ Reading Every Night’s review because she managed to put together an excellent one that is really well thought out.

This book was a DISASTER. 

When I first heard about Stealing Snow I was intrigued. I enjoyed Dorothy Must Die and I thought it was cool (no pun intended) that this was going to be about The Snow Queen and not Snow White. I was really excited to be approved on Netgalley, but my excitement was extremely short lived.

We have instalove thrown in our faces at the very first few pages. I guess technically it wasn’t instalove because Snow was in a pre-established relationship with a fellow patient at the institute she’s at. However, I didn’t believe in this relationship at all. In the few flashbacks we were given everything happened so quickly it felt like instalove. I was willing to let this slide because I thought that maybe things would pick up once Snow was in the other realm. But no friends, it got WORSE.

This is a “Lost Princess / The Chosen One” story so I did expect a few tropes, but what I was not expecting is what I like to call: The Love Square of Lauren Doesn’t Know How She’s Going to Finish this Book™.  

Image result for parks and rec reaction
An accurate portrayal of me when I realised that there was not only two love interests, but THREE.

I can barely handle love triangles, guys. I know some people don’t mind them and that’s totally okay, but a love square? When each character has known each other for like 2 days? I can’t.

As you can see by the above GIF the ONLY WAY I was able to get through this book was by posting Parks and Rec reactions on Twitter.

It’s okay though guys, because there was sooooo much romance and chemistry /sarcasm. With lines like:

I fought the urge to look away from his unrelenting stare.

Which made me imagine this:

and this wise and inspirational quote by one of Snow’s love interests:

“A life without kissing is no life at all.”

Uhh…. I could write a whole essay on how COMPLETE AN UTTERLY WRONG this is, but instead I’ll just use this handy reaction photo of April:

Apparently, there was another line that caused me major discomfort, but I’m not sure what it was because I don’t have access to my annotated copy, but I posted this GIF on Twitter so feel free to use your imagination.

Image result for parks and rec reaction gifs

Stepping away from the “romance” that fuelled this book. Snow, in general, was an extremely annoying character. She never listened and was incredibly reckless (and not in a good way). She would tell herself she shouldn’t do something, but then she’d go and do it anyway? And I felt no sympathy towards her whatsoever because GIRL. Literally 10 people told you not to do the thing.

ezgif-996328316.gif

I was struggling with this book so much that at times I really thought it was going to be my first ever DNF. However, because I was given a copy for review and from an Australian publisher I thought the least I could do was see it through to the end. Maybe something would change and I’d at least have hope for the next book.

Nope.

There were some “plot twists” that caused this reaction

Image result for parks and recreation gifs

because I honestly couldn’t deal with how utterly ridiculous and predictable they were.

Major Spoilers – Highlight to read

  • Snow discovered that she had a twin sister.
  • Her doctor at the institute was a spy of her father’s. 
  • Her mother was actually on her father’s side the whole time which makes NO SENSE because she kept Snow away from him for YEARS. 
  • Bale, snow’s love interest from the institute, was working for/enchanted by her father – I can’t remember which because I want to forget I ever read this book.

I managed to finish the book though and I’d never been happier.

Me celebrating.

Honestly, this review could have easily just been this GIF:

Image result for parks and rec oh my go

I’m not even sure what to say about the world building because …….there was none. Or nothing that sticks out, anyway.

Oh and let’s not even get into how terrible mental illnesses were handled in this book because we’d be here for a REALLY long time. It was so disrespectful. There was medication shaming and there is nothing I hate more than people who are mentally ill or who have been institutionalised being called “crazy”.

When I finished the book I gave it 2 stars and I’m not sure why. I think it was because I did find some tiny parts of it interesting. There’s a group of thieves that Snow encounters because of one of her many love interests and I thought that was one of the strongest parts of the book. They were all really interesting and the magic they used was pretty dark, but it was just drowned out by all the terrible parts of the book. Writing this review made me drop it down to 1 star though because honestly it just wasn’t enough. I remember nothing about this book except for how bad it was and how much I didn’t enjoy it.

I wished I could have at least somewhat enjoyed this, but I didn’t. If you loved this book then please don’t take offence to this review. This is just my opinion. I hate saying what I think people should or shouldn’t read, however, I can not recommend this to anyone. If you want to read it I definitely suggest picking it up from your library.

my-rating

★☆☆☆☆

57 thoughts on “SIGH // Review: Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

  1. I feel weird liking a review of a book that I haven’t read but ever since I read the synopsis for the book, I knew I had no interest in reading it. It really didn’t appeal to me and now with reading your review I’m sure that my gut was right in thinking I wouldn’t be fond of it.
    I love the Parks and Recs gifs especially the last one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review Lauren! Gifs & ALL! LOL. I had a real icky feeling about this one when I first read the synopsis but I was hoping that she would prove me wrong smh. Love squares are the absolute worse! I commend you on seeing it all the way through instead of DNF’ing with Netgalley 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh boy, I’m scared of even attempting to read Stealing Snow. I’ve heard mostly *bad* things about it, and it makes me really sad considering I really-really like the Dorothy Must Die series and am very excited for the fourth book (coming out next year).
    I think I will give Stealing Snow a chance but all the negative reviews made me really hesitant about picking this book up.
    I’m sorry to hear you had such a struggle reading Stealing Snow. It’s horrible to have to finish a book you don’t like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Literally found myself laughing out loud while reading this. And I also remember reading your tweets. How did you not DNF this book? Because I would’ve thrown it on that pile lol. I remember reading Beth’s review and I was like “yeah no” and it’s still a “yeah no” from me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha! Love that opening line and all the GIFs! 🙌 I also read Beth’s review and took this book off my list after reading. I was actually glad I got denied an ARC because this sure sounds like a book I would’ve ranted about. 🙂 Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hahaha, all of these Parks and Recreation gifs made this review SO ENJOYABLE to read. Even if you didn’t like the book. I was actually really looking forward to this book, but seriously? A love square? After TWO DAYS of knowing each other? I’m sorry, but I CANNOT handle that. Nope, nope, nope. I don’t mind love triangles — as long as they are written well and all the characters are at least likeable — but I don’t think that this book is for me if there is a love ‘square’ and instalove. Great review though! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review, this definitely made me laugh! I’d heard bad things about Stealing Snow but now I’m definitely going to steer clear. For one, instalove coupled with a love square just sounds like hell on earth. And being disrespectful towards mental illness? That’s just horrible. Medication shaming really gets to me because as someone who’s been there, I couldn’t have done it without meds, nor could some of my family who need to be on meds for their mental health else they’re very unwell. Ugh thanks for warning me about that, I was partly considering giving it a go just to see how bad it was at one point! Now I definitely won’t be doing that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m loving all of these GIF’s XD I looked at this book and just turned away knowing that I should wait until reviews were up before I even thought about it and everyone I’ve seen have been saying exactly what you did! There is no way i’m going near this love square(like what even?) LMAO
    Great review Lauren! Hopefully the next book you read is MUCH better 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I seriously can’t remember seeing a single positive review of this book so far lol When I first heard about the book I was excited because it seemed really interesting but at this point, I have lost every bit of interest I had in it. 😛 This is the first time I’m hearing about the medication shaming and overall crappiness of mental health rep though so thanks for pointing that out. I absolutely hate when books do that crap.
    Extra points for you, btw, because you used Parks & Rec gifs haha

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The picture you used for the quote “I fought the urge to look away from his unrelenting stare.” had me cracking up so much 😂. This is such a great review! I’m definitely avoiding this book at all cost. I’ve read Beth’s review and then a few others and all of them have been rants and/or negative and the more I hear about how terrible it was the gladder I am that I didn’t hit request when I saw it on NetGalley. I’m like you and can’t stand love triangles (though I do have a few exceptions) and can’t imagine surviving a love square. I would have DNFd just for that. This is the first review where I’ve heard about it handling mental illness terribly and as I’ve already encountered one book this year that has done the same I’m glad again that I didn’t request it. It sucks, however, that you ended up not enjoying since you were looking forward to it. Either way, great review and I commend you for not DNFing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love this. I can picture your reactions to each bit, I was sort of looking forward to this book because the cover drew me in but I don’t think I could even bring myself to try it with the possibility of THREE love interests?! Twilight was hard enough back in the day with Edward and Jacob, how am i going to pick a team with 3 people?! and I HATE insta-love. I’m thinking I should avoid this….

    Please do more reviews like this, you had me cracking up throughout!

    Like

    1. I know, it’s such a shame that it was so disappointing because it had a lot of potential but didn’t deliver on any of it. The love square was the worst. One of the love interest had no purpose to the story either and could have easily been removed. And haha,thank you!! I think this is definitely how I’ll be structuring my negative-ish reviews from now on 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I have a review of stealing snow was well, and I just want to say I 100% agree with everything you said. All the spoilers/plot twists at the end were thrown in for the sake of being there and I felt like it was so rushed! Anything remotely interesting happened on the last 50pgs but at that point I didn’t care.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great ranty review, Lauren! I’ve seen this release floating around Goodreads and other blogs but the mixed reviews held me back from developing an interest, so my decision to steer clear was once again confirmed by your review. I’m sorry you had such a disappointing read, though 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks for the honest review, Lauren! Going on the blurb alone, it sounded interesting, but based on your review I will definitely NOT give it a try. Instalove, love squares, annoying characters and stupid plot twists are just not for me. I DO want to start Parcs and Recs now, because those gifs are hilarious! 😉

    Like

  15. I was declined for this one on Netgalley and this would be one that I don’t mind that I was at all after seeing some negative reviews from those I usually agree with.

    Like

  16. This is a great review Lauren, and I loved the gifs you used as well! The reaction gif you used for the love square was my reaction as well, I’ve never made a secret of the fact that I am NOT a fan of love triangles, so a love square was just a huge ‘NOPE’ from me. And oh that picture for the unrelenting stare is the most hilarious thing I’ve seen today, I am totally going to remember what whenever I think back on this book!
    I couldn’t really buy into the characters or the story, everything at the end just came to quickly (it felt like twist after twist after twist and not in a good way) and the one with Snow’s mum just made no sense whatsoever!
    It’s a shame because this book had a lot of potential and it could have been really good, it just didn’t live up to my expectations at all!
    Great review, I really loved reading your thoughts on this book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Beth!! Haha, I’m glad you liked the gifs 😀 I admire you so much for being able to write out a proper well-thought out review. The love square was so unnecessary! Kai’s character could have been taken out of the book completely and nothing would have changed. I mean it wouldn’t have improved the book majorly, but I may have given it 2 stars instead of 1 😅 And yes, exactly!! The whole thing was so messy and made no sense. It’s a shame though! I’m tempted to read the sequel just to see if it improves, but I don’t know if I want to put myself through it again haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and yeah I felt the gifs really brought the life the struggle you had reading this book. 🙂 Thanks Lauren ❤️ sometimes I’m not sure how I did it!
        Yeah that’s never a good sign when you can take a character who is one of the love interests and say the book would be completely the same without him. I agree though because now I’m thinking back I can’t really think of anything Kai did that was essential to the plot.
        Some of them seemed to come out of nowhere as well. Like good twists can surprise you but looking back you see hint and clues, you just didn’t with this book!
        I think if I don’t enjoy the second I won’t pick up the third!

        Liked by 1 person

  17. Hahaha this review cracks me up! I have now taken this off of my reading list completely. There is absolutely nothing that makes me want to read this book. Especially if there are a million love interests! What on earth?! Man, wouldn’t it be nice to have that many guys after you, that you’re also attracted to? More often than not it’s the guys that like you that you have no interest in back…

    I’ll skip this. Thanks for the review!

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Wow: – single star rating! I’m scared now! I have this on my holds on Overdrive…I think I’m number 3 on the list? I wonder about it, so I have to read it.
    Love the review…the gifs made me laugh. 😂😂😂

    Like

  19. OMG really? I was actually anticipating to read this one. 😦 Now, I highly doubt if I will still read it. Thanks for the great and honest review!

    Like

  20. I cannot tell you how much I love this review, Lauren! I was going to post mine but instead I’ve just decided to post it on NetGalley because it was SO negative haha. I totally agree with you on pretty much every point – world building was nil, love square was ridiculous, writing was disjointed and the portrayal of mental health was poor and stereotypical. I’ve just read your spoilers and I’m laughing because I didn’t even read that far and OMG what?! How does that third one even make any sense?! Great, honesty review! 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, thanks Sammie ♥ I would have loved to have seen your review 😅 And riiiight. It’s such a shame because it could have had so much potential, but instead it was a mess. I’m not a writer, but I honestly wonder how things get approved sometimes because……. I knowwww!!! I just sat there like, “…..are you serious?”. What was the point of her mum hiding her away for years when she could have handed her over when she a baby and total vulnerable lmao. It was the most ridiculous thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha! I don’t think you would have…well you would have but it wasn’t very blog appropriate tbh lol! Exactly. It’s weird because I’ve heard her Dorothy Must Die series is pretty good? Seems like she had an off book with this one. EXACTLY. I hate plot points like that, it’s kind of like the author gets to the end, realises there isn’t a twist and then just throws one in that doesn’t make sense or align with the rest of the plot. Bad move! Still, hilarious review. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

