The Aussie Book Tag 🇦🇺🐨

Aussie Book Tag.png

Hey guys! Today I’ll be keeping up with the Aussie Pride 💛💚 that seems to be a regular feature on my blog lately with The Aussie Book Tag!!!!

This tag was created by the lovely Julia @ Picnic Reads and Ngoc @ Happy Comes First. They’re both wonderful so make sure you check out their posts and give them a follow!

I was tagged by Ngoc @ Happy Comes First and Casey @ adoptabookaus. Don’t forget to check both their blogs out!!

Banners were made by me

Covers = Goodreads

Koala

I feel like the characters I’d want to hug definitely wouldn’t want to hug me like Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater and Luke Castellan from the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I could just imagine their faces of disgust as I tried to hug them. I would definitely try though.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan .png

Vegemite

First of all VEGEMITE IS LIFE. I can eat it straight from the jar. There’s not too many books I love that everyone else hates. Maybe We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, Looking for Alaska by John Green and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. People either seem to love or hate these books with no in between and I LOVE THEM!

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Looking for Alaska by John Green Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.png

Socceroos

I say this every time but BLUE AND HER RAVEN BOYS! They are my everything. I will forever love them with all my heart and soul. The Golden Trio and the Percy Jackson kids are amazing too though. I just live for all great friendships in books and I wish there was more of them.

The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

Southern Cross

Saga Volume 2 by Brian K. VaughanSaga, Vol 2 by Brian K. Vaughan (writer) and Fiona Staples (illustrator)

 

This comic series is AMAZING and if you’re okay with weird sci-fi elements and adult content then I can’t recommend it enough. It’s so incredibly unique and there’s great relationships and the art is BEAUTIFUL.

 

Patriotism

Do I even need to say it?

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

and these:

Shift by Em Bailey Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis

Echidna

I’m guessing this can be taken in a lot of different ways. I’m going with books that had a beautiful cover that I ended up being disappointed in…

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani ChokshiA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasThe cover for The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi is STUNNING. I never buy hardcovers, but I was lucky enough to win this and it’s displayed on my shelf because it is so beautiful. The writing style matched the cover, but the instalove was unbearable (for me, anyway). I gave this book 4 stars, but if it wasn’t for the writing it would have been a 3 (which I mean is still GOOD) it just wasn’t what I was expecting? I thought Mia was going to be rebelling against her destiny for HERSELF, but 90% of her actions were done for her love interest which may have been okay if they had any kind of believable connection. The only character I really liked in this was a talking horse.

Also A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas has a beautiful cover, but the romanticised abuse and victim blaming inside it really hurt to read and it ruined a lot of the book for me. Even though there were parts I enjoyed I can’t ignore things like that.

Ned Kelly

These may not all be iconic, but they all cover extremely important subjects that can be hard to read about such as mental illness and rape. I think they’re all SUPER important to read if you can handle those kinds of things because they all do a brilliant job at representing them and don’t use any of the issues for shock value or romanticise anything. The fact that The Perks of Being a Wallflower is banned in some places confuses me so much because I really believe that book should be required reading.

Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.png

Great Barrier Reef

i

If I make a post and don’t mention Illuminae at least twice – is the post even real?

No but seriously I will never shut up about how STUNNING this book is. It definitely had me gaping in awe.

Pavlova

Confession 1: I’ve never tried pavlova

Confession 2: I don’t really like or read light and fluffy books (which isn’t really a secret, but whatever)

I suppose the closest thing I can think of is The Mediator series by Meg Cabot. It’s not completely light and fluffy, but it’s one of the only few paranormal romances that I am absolutely obsessed with. I still have to read Remembrance though!

 The Mediator Series by Meg Cabot Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

I also loved Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway. It’s a fun contemporary about a girl who’s ex is in a band and wrote a song about her and now he’s famous and she has to deal with everyone knowing who she is. I definitely recommend it if you’re in a reading slump or just like contemporaries in general.

Milo

Is there anything worse than nearly choking to death on dry milo powder? I mean it’s COMPLETELY worth it, but definitely not fun.

I know a lot of people’s go-to for reading slumps are romantic contemporaries, but that is not for me. I tend to reach for comics and graphic novels because they don’t require much of my non existent attention span. Reading horrors also help me a lot too (yep give me murder over romance any day).

Some things that have recently got me out of reading slumps are the Lumberjanes comic series by Noelle Stevenson and The Merciless II by Danielle Vega.

Lumberjanes series by Noelle Stevenson The Merciless II by Danielle Vega


Tagging

(Of course, like always, you don’t have to do this if you don’t want to!)

Some of my fave Aussies: Reg @ She Latitude • Vivian @ Inked in PagesKristie @ Upside Down Books • Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf

People I’ve officially deemed “Honorary” Aussies: Fadwa @ Word Wonders • Katherine @ Fabled Haven • Esther @ Chapter Adventures • Beth @ Reading Every Night • Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books

And everyone else who wants to ♥


Like always I’d love to hear your thoughts!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

42 thoughts on “The Aussie Book Tag 🇦🇺🐨

  1. First of all, can I just say that the banners you did for the questions are STUNNING?! Thank you so much for doing this tag – SO MUCH AUSSIE LOVE & PRIDE ❤ Haha I actually thought We Were Liars was a book everyone else loved that I just didn't get? I don't hate it though, I just wasn't blown away by it xD Illuminae & The Raven Cycle are high up on my priority list & I want to get to them by the end of the year – can't wait to discuss it with you! ❤ Also, ANYTHING that involves Milo is worth it 😉 I'm just waiting for Milo Tim Tams to be a thing xD

    Like

  2. Ah everything about this post is just the best! Also I can eat vegemite out of the jar too! It’s not my favourite past time but it’s definitely been done more then once to prove a point 😁 and while dry milo cough is the worst thing, how good is it when it doesn’t happen 😅

    Ah I agree with nearly all of your choices AND I can’t wait for GEMINA so I can hopefully see you including that in every post as well 😁🙈

    Like

  3. Vegemite is concentrated yeast extract? That doesn’t sound too tasty…
    And what’s Milo? Is that like a chocolate powder (because of the Nestle brand?)
    I’m sorry…I’m so Aussie-ignorant!

    Like

    1. 😂😂😂 It’s definitely an acquired taste. There’s a lot of Australians that don’t like it either. You put it on toast though and it’s amazing!! And yeah, Milo is like hot chocolate but again tastes completely different. Most Australians drink it cold with milk and we put like 5000 teaspoons of the powder on top like this.

      Haha, no, that’s okay!! We really are a weird country.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s hilarious! I love that pic.
        Nah, you’re not weird. I’m sure we do weird stuff in your eyes…tough I wonder what it would be, besides sweating our asses off in August instead of freezing.
        I just remember that song where it walks about the land down under, and eating a Vegemite sandwich. I wonder if they sell it here? 🤔

        Like

  4. LMAO at wanting to hug Ronan, who definitely would not want to hug back. I recently (finally!) read The Raven Boys, am officially hooked, and cannot WAIT to return to these characters and their darkly magical world. I’m soooo glad I get to have them for three more books! 😄

    Like

  5. I had no idea The Perks of Being a Wallflower is banned in some places! That’s so ridiculous! I totally agree it should be required reading. Yes, it deals with some very sensitive issues, but in a careful and hopeful manner. Anyway, great answers! 😊

    Like

    1. Riight! I didn’t know either until I was looking at a list of banned books. I was really surprised because even though it deals with some not so nice topics it’s done in a really great way and it’s something a lot of people (especially teenagers) are dealing with.

      Thanks ♥!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks so much for the tag Lauren! And as a ‘honorary’ Australian I now have to visit there soon! 😀
    I definitely agree with you that Ronan needs a hug, but he probably wouldn’t be too impressed if you tried! And The Raven Boys are my favourite fictional squad as well, their friendship was my favourite part of the whole series!
    I am definitely not surprised to see Illuminae on your list for this tag! It’s a stunning book and left me in awe as well, the format was definitely unique and some of the pages were beyond gorgeous, like the one you photographed.
    Also I LOVE the Mediator books! I read them when I was in high school and me and my friends were obsessed with them. I still go back and pick one of them up every now and again!
    Thanks again for the tag Lauren! 😀

    Like

    1. Haha, yes!! Australia would love you to come visit Beth.

      Right 😅 The friendship in those book was so completely magical. I loved it so, so much.

      I’m constantly in awe at how stunning Illuminae is. I remember seeing that page in particular and just being frozen. I didn’t want to stop looking at it.

      They’re such a fun series!! I was really need to read Remembrance.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. One day, it’s definitely my aim to visit Australia.
        The Raven Cycle is probably one of my top books for friendship goals! I love all the characters so so much! There were plenty of beautiful pages in that book, all the ones kind of set in space were just stunning weren’t they?
        It definitely was, I read Remembrance and did really enjoy it. It had it problems don’t get me wrong but overall it was a good book. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I am an honorary Aussie?! 😀 Thank you, thank you, what an honor! 😛
    Wait, Luke from Percy Jackson? That was a surprise! I did enjoy him as a villain, especially his connection with Annabeth, but I never truly felt sorry for him or liked him so I’m super curious to know why you’d like to hug him haha. Also, it’s been a while since I read Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I remember thinking the ending was definitely shock value because the topic came out of nowhere. I mean, there were hints that something had happened, but I never imagined what it was. Maybe I missed something! I still liked the book, though. I thought it was sweet and heartbreaking at the same time. I can’t believe they ban it some places! That’s ridiculous.
    As for Milo, I have never tried it because it doesn’t exist here, but it sounds incredible. I love malt things ❤ Do you drink it cold or hot?

    Like

    1. Haha, yes!! There’s no escaping now 😉

      Ahh, yes 🙈 I’m not even sure why, but I just really loved him as a character. He’s one of my favourites. I always have a weak spot for well done complex characters. I loved his relationship with Annabeth and Thalia. I remember my heart absolutely breaking in the final book and every book after where he was mentioned I would feel so sad haha.

      I can definitely understand why you’d feel like that! I remember being shocked at that revelation too, but I feel like it was done in a way that helped explain the plot and Charlie was showing signs of PTSD and repressed memories and like I feel as though some plot lines use abuse solely for a “jaw drop” reaction but in Perks there was a reason for it? If that make sense at all, haha.

      It’s amazing!! We drink it hot and cold. Mostly cold though with a ton of extra powder on top like this haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I totally get what you mean with Luke and with Perks too. I hadn’t thought of it as PTSD, you’re right! When I read I didn’t know anything about PTSD so I didn’t realize what was happening :O
        That’s so funny that you put powder on top! I had never seen that. I’m gonna try it with a chocolate drink and hopefully I won’t choke on the powder haha
        I tried fairy bread the other day by the way! I’m a good honorary Aussie, you see? I’m commited to learn and try all that I can haha

        Like

  8. OMG I LOVE THIS TAG. And I love the banners that you made! The Koala is so cute and I love Milo. This paragraph is so choppy but I don’t care. 😂

    I haven’t had Vegemite in a while and I actually miss it! I can’t eat it out of the jar because it’s too salty for me, but I love it on toast and with parmesan cheese because cheese. Aaand I definitely need to pick up The Sidekicks soon – literally everyone who has read it loved it.

    Thanks for the tag! I’ll have to file this one under my to-do list because it looks so fun. 😊

    Like

    1. Haha! Thank you so much!!

      Ahhh cheese and vegemite is SO GOOD. I haven’t had that in so long. The Sidekicks was so good! It had such great characters and there wasn’t absent parents either. Will Kostakis is hilarious too.

      Can’t wait for your post!!

      Like

  9. Honestly, if I were offered the chance to dive into The Raven Boys books and live there I would take it. Being a part of that squad would be a dream. And I would hug Ronan. Even though he DEFINITELY wouldn’t appreciate it. And I’m with you about We Were Liars, I absolutely loved it. I’m not one for contemporaries but THAT BOOK. And I’ve never been to Australia, but I can’t wait to visit someday.

    Like

    1. Ahh, I would definitely be right there with you in visiting the world of The Raven Cycle. It sounds so amazing. I want to be everyone’s friend so bad! I’m so glad you loved We Were Liars too!! I’m the same with not really being for contemporaries, but that one was amazing.

      Like

  10. AHHH thankyou so much for doing the tag! Your graphics are stunning! The cover for Star Touched Queen is absoloutley stunning isn’t it! Also all the promo for Illuminae!

    Like

  11. Haha thanks for the tag! I can’t wait to answer these questions 😊😊 *waves flag around* I can’t believe you eat Vegemite from the jar though, *checks to see if you’re human*. I really want to read the Lumberjane series! I think if I enjoy Saga that’ll be the next one I get.

    Like

  12. Well, this post made me learn about Echidnas, Pavlova and Milo 🙂 I hope I’ll be able to go to Australia one day and then I’ll be able to try this Vegemite stuff myself 🙂 Though from the looks of it, this pavlova seems like more of my taste 🙂
    Anyway, YES for Blue and the Raven Boys as favorite squad! They are so amazing and I agree completely with you that we should have more of this kind of friendship in books. Also, I would love to see Ronan’s reaction to being hugged 😀

    Like

  13. YAAAAS !! Thank you, thank you, thank you ❤ I've seen this going around and I always thought to myself meeh this sounds great but I'm no Aussie so I move along haha!
    I'll for sure do this because the categories are great but I don't know when, because you know how bad I'm with tags haha.
    Did you make the little graphics if so, they're GREAT!! Can I use them?

    Like

  14. I also really like the bookish friendship! We need more of them! (I also love the golden trio, gangsey, and the seven btw). I’d love to try and hug Nico di Angelo though. He would probably (definitely) try to avoid me, but at least I tried xD

    Like

  15. Hmmm, I looked Vegemite up. I would try it to see if it’s for me, but the description I read say nope. lol
    I like that you have go-to books for a lot of different tags. lol @ Illuminae appearing in all your tags. 😀
    Have you read all of Jay Kristoff’s books?

    Like

Leave a Reply

