Let’s Talk: Newbie 2 Newbie Blogging Tips

Let's Talk - Newbie 2 Newbie

My whole blogging experience thus far has been “Fake It ‘Til You Make It.” I would be lying if I said I knew what I was doing. I’m incredibly disorganised and have no sense of time management. However, after blogging for six months I have learnt a few little things here and there and I wanted to share in case there’s any other new bloggers out there who aren’t aware!

When I first started blogging I searched extensively for “blogging tips” and quite a few of the points helped me however because I was new seeing these huge established bloggers was kind of intimidating and there definitely felt like there was a disconnect. I feel like my connection with newish bloggers has helped me so much more.

This isn’t an extensive guide or anything – just little bit and pieces of things I think could be potentially helpful!


Design

I think this is an element that can get overlooked when it comes to blogging. Obviously content is the most valuable thing, but having an aesthetically pleasing theme is important too. When I’ve been blog hopping in the past I’ve spent a lot more times on blog that are clean and easy to navigate. I think some people get intimidated by the word “design” and honestly you don’t need to be an expert!

MY TIPS

  • Take your time when it comes to picking out a theme. The free themes that WP provides aren’t the greatest thing, but there are some nice ones. Every one has their own preferences, but I think clean and minimalist themes are the best.
  • Don’t go crazy with your sidebar. It’s very tempting to put everything ever in your sidebar, but your blog will look a lot more tidier if you just put the basics. The main things to include is short bio of what your blog is about and links/widgets to your social media. This will also help people load your blog quicker. Create a separate page for your awards and challenges and then put a text link.
  • Don’t go crazy with your menu bar. Again, like with the sidebar it’s tempting to link every post you have, but it’s better to just have the main sections of your blog. Most themes support dropdown menus which means you can layer your links.
  • Use Featured Images. Featured images add a nice touch to your posts on your blog and in people’s feed. It’s a great way to get your posts to stand out and be noticed.
  • Upload a Favicon. A favicon is the little picture you see in the corner of the browser. If you want to add some personality to your blog WordPress gives you the oppurtunity to upload your own. All you have to do is go to My Site > WP Admin > Settings > General and then upload an icon in the box that says “Blog Picture / Icon“.
  • Site Title & Your Username. You can change your blog title by going to My Site > Settings. I feel like having a site title with your blog name helps your blog look more professional. Just keep it simple. The site title will also show up in Google search results. You can also change the name you see when you leave comments. Again, I think it just makes every thing a little more professional if you change your username to “Your Name @ Your Blog“. If you don’t want to give out your name, just change it to your blog name. You can change this by going here and changing or adding a “Public Display Name“.
  • You don’t need Photoshop. There’s so many great free photo editing applications out there if you don’t have access to Photoshop! Canva is definitely an incredible resource that everyone should take advantage of. I also made a post with some of my favourite resources here.

Interaction

If I was only allowed to give ONE tip for new bloggers it would be “comment on other blogger’s posts!” As someone with extreme social anxiety I know how nerve wracking this can, but from my experience everyone in this community is so nice!! I was so worried I was going to be annoying people, but everyone made me feel so incredibly welcome. Interacting is the best way to help your blog grow and as an amazing added bonus you get to make friendships with so many wonderful people ♥

MY TIPS

  • Bloggers appreciate any and all comments, but it’s great to see some heart put into the comment. “Great post!” is nice, don’t get me wrong, but we love when people have a bit of a discussion about what we actually posted.
  • Don’t feel pressured to comment ALL THE TIME. Everyone understands that everyone can get busy sometimes. If you have time just leaving a like is really appreciated.
  • If a blogger invites you to link your own post in a comment don’t be afraid. It’s a great way to get your blog out there! However, back to point one it’s nice if you actually leave a comment with this instead of just dropping your link and leaving.
  • Social Media AF. Having other social media such as Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram can really help you connect with other readers! You can connect your Twitter to your blog and share your posts! If you can catch one, Twitter chats are a great way to involve yourself in the community!  
  • CHECK YOUR SPAM FOLDER! Sometimes comments that aren’t spam will be placed in your spam folder. I always forget about checking mine, but after I recently had a problem where everything I commented was being marked as spam I definitely made an effort to check it more regularly in case it was happening to someone else.

Memes Tags & Pingbacks

Until I started blogging I associated memes with weird cat pictures and Pepe the Frog, but in the blogging world memes are actually weekly lists and prompts that people participate in. When you’ve been blogging for a while you may want to branch out, but they are GOLD MINES for new bloggers. If it wasn’t for Top 10 Tuesday or Stacking the Shelves then I wouldn’t have met half the amazing people I know now. Book Tags are also really fun and a great way to interact with your fellow bloggers and get to know each other!

Pingbacks definitely have their issues, but most times they work and are extremely helpful. If you want to tag or mention someone make sure to link to an actual post or page on their blog. If you just use their main url i.e (https://wonderlessreviews.wordpress.com/) then they won’t be notified! Most times people will link to the blogger’s About page (https://wonderlessreviews.wordpress.com/about/), but if you can’t find one then I’d suggest just linking to their most recent post! You can learn more about Pingbacks here.

MY TIPS

  • My favourite weekly memes to participate in are Top 10 Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday. Other popular weekly memes are Stacking the Shelves, Sunday Post, and Waiting on Wednesday. There are SO many out there. Here’s a super handy list that was created by Bookshelf Fantasies!
  • BLOG HOP! If you participate in any of the weekly memes link up your post! If you have time go through some of the other links. Leave comments. It’s the best way to get other bloggers to notice you.
  • Get creative. I don’t know about anyone else, but when I’m reading people’s Top 10 Tuesday posts and Book Tags I LOVE when they do more than just write a list of book titles. Use images. Explain WHY you chose what you did. Get personal.

Pages & Posts

I mentioned this briefly in the design section, but WordPress pages feature is definitely something you should be using! You can create pages for whatever you want. The most important things, in my opinion, is having a Review Directory, a Review Policy and an About page. A review policy can let potential publishers and authors know what kind of books you do or don’t review. Mine needs a revamp, but at the moment it says that my review requests are closed, that I prefer Young Adult and that I don’t R&R romance ect. Having an About page is a way to tell everyone a little more about who’s running the blog and what your blog is about.

Posting is definitely the part I struggle with 😅. What I can tell you though is that blogging will be more time consuming than you ever except it to be. I definitely need to work on creating a better schedule and planning posts.

MY TIPS

  • Invite people to interact with your posts. Leave a question at the end or encourage bloggers to engage with your posts and ask their thoughts. It might not work all the time, but I know when I see someone inviting me to contribute to their post I feel a little more comfortable in doing so.
  • Categories & Tags. Making use of this WordPress feature is one of the best things you can do. Categories & Tags definitely help keep your blog organised and make it a lot easier to navigate. You can link both in your navigation menu. Tags also help people find your posts that aren’t following you.
  • Unlike me, try and schedule posts in advance! This can definitely help if real life gets in the way (it will!).
  • Use Google Docs or other office applications to create a Blog Schedule. This was my schedule for the first half of the month. This doesn’t have to be extremely complicated, but it can really help seeing the week ahead. Untitledaa
  • Don’t think of blogging as a job or chore! At the end of the day blogging is about having fun. We do this because we love reading and talking about books. It’s great to be organised and professional and blogging will probably cause you to stress at some point, but it’s important not to let it get on top of you. If you feel like you’re getting too overwhelmed TAKE A BREAK (runaway with us for the summer, let’s go upstate, we can all go stay with my father, there’s a lake I know)! Again everyone is incredibly understanding. It’s okay to take a hiatus.
  • Explore the settings. If you’re not sure of something – don’t change it, but there’s lots of things you can control in the settings section such as posts per page (My Site> WP Admin > Settings > Reading), comment moderation settings (My Site > Settings > Discussion) and only having an excerpt of your post in the feed (My Site > WP Admin > Settings > Reading > For each article in a feed show: Summary).

ARCs

ARCs or Advanced Readers Copies are probably one of the things that comes up most when you’re a book blogger. ARCs are given to bloggers/BookTubers ect. in exchange for honest reviews. I’m definitely not an established ARC receiver, but I wanted to share what I’ve learnt. ARCs are definitely a plus to blogging – it’s great to be able to recieve free books but ARCs shouldn’t be the sole reason why you start blogging. The best place to start your journey into ARCs is Netgalley. These are digital, but you gotta start somewhere!

I haven’t contacted any publishers directly (yet), but from what I’ve seen around the blogosphere it’s best to wait until you’ve been blogging for at least six months. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I feel like it’s a lot harder for international bloggers to receive physical ARCs.

MY TIPS

  • ALWAYS disclose in your review that you received a copy of the book for free. This is mostly for the benefit of my US friends because it can be a legal issue if you don’t. I mean I’m sure book bloggers are the least of the Federal Trade Commission’s worries, but hey – it’s better to be safe than sorry, right? Anyway, I think it’s just a good practice to let people know regardless.
  • To help get your ratio up on Netgalley read and review some of the Read Now books. These are books that you don’t need to be approved for.
  • Make sure your Netgalley profile is as informative as possible. Include links to your blog, how long you’ve been blogging for, your followers ect. Link to your social media and places where you’ll be cross posting your reviews.
  • Edelweiss is another site similar to Netgalley, but I’ve yet to been approved for a book there. Still give it a go though!

Be Yourself

Finally, there is no right or wrong way to blog as long as you’re being respectful and a decent human being. I realise saying “be yourself” can come across as really cliche, but it’s honestly so true. Definitely take inspiration from other bloggers – I do all the time – but don’t mimic them. You have something unique to bring to the blogging world yourself and you don’t need to be anyone else.

I understand that people may not want to talk about themselves on the internet, but I prefer blogs where you can see there’s an actual person running them. Some people may just want to post reviews and participate in blog tours and nothing else, but if you post tags or talk about your life then it makes the whole experience so much more personable. One of the best parts of blogging has been getting to know everyone in this wonderful community. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there! Let your personality shine through in your posts.

Helpful Links


I hope this was able to help some other new bloggers out there!

Like always, I would love to hear any of your thoughts.

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

109 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Newbie 2 Newbie Blogging Tips

  1. This is such a cool post, you definitely know your stuff! And I should really sort out a blogging schedule as well, especially with uni just around the corner 😅

    Like

  2. Great post, have to disagree with you about 6 months blogging though, I wrote a post called ARC’s Ggggrrrr a while ago as people kept throwing the six months and so many followers around etc, it should be personal choice when you feel ready to request ARC’s.

    Great informative post though. 😀

    Like

  3. Very helpful tools. I actually just FINALLY got a decent pic of myself and plan on adding it to my About page. I’m tired of seeming so anonymous! I hope I’m doing all right, though mostly it’s hard to do special posts on top of how much reading I do. So I try! Haven’t received any good book bargains this month. But I do have some more cover doubles I’m excited to share!
    Your blog is wonderful: one of my faves❤️.

    Like

  4. These are really great tips – and I’ll just say you totally don’t seem like a newbie! Anyway, I’ve been out of the blogging sphere for a while now, so these are really helpful for getting back into the swing of things. And I just love your graphics and always feel like it’s a draw towards your blog (I’m an aesthetic person at heart). I will definitely be taking these tips to heart. Thanks for the info! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      A schedule is definitely something I still really struggle with, haha. It definitely helps to see it more as a guide so if you go off schedule you don’t feel too bad. If you participate in any of the regular memes it helps to put those down and then work your other posts around them. Try and figure out how many reviews you want to post too and pencil those in. I’m aiming for a review every week – but it hasn’t quiet gone to plan yet 😂

      Reg’s post that I linked to has a lot more helpful stuff regarding organisation and schedules! She has a template available to download too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is one of the best posts I have read, I LOVE it, thank you for sharing ALL of these wonderful tips, and for quoting my blog post ❤ I agree, interacting really is important, and one of the BEST part of blogging. I always felt like I needed to master the art of Photoshop, but I'm glad I'm doing kind of okay without it, I think? It's good to know you can still make something of your blog without being an artist, ahah. GREAT post! ❤

    Like

  6. Lauren this is an AWESOME post. You’ve covered so many key things about blogging and using WordPress – ping backs and spam comments are two technical things that I definitely think trip people up when they first start so that’s super handy. This is basically the ultimate how to guide for setting up a book blog haha! Great post. 😊 x

    Like

  7. Great post, Lauren! I’m coming up on six months in two weeks and I’ve gotta say it feels like so much longer. Lately, I’ve been a bit tired and feeling burnt out with writing so many comments back. I try to comment a lot and probably more than what’s normal at times, but I’ve noticed it’s taking a lot of time away from other things I need to be doing. I’m a big fan of commenting though. I blog to communicate with people not just to read posts. The people are my favorite part of blogging. I’ve met a lot of awesome peeps. Edelweiss is a point of contention for me today, so when I saw that in this post I was definitely thinking ARCs Grrr! like Drew’s post. Haha! I got one so far and denied for 4 today. It’s like I have to give them a kidney to approve me for an ebook on that site. It’s so ridiculous. I don’t have a clue what they’re basing their decisions off. Anyways, I love this post. I agree with all of your points. There’s so much to blogging I don’t think people realize when they first start. It’s very overwhelming. At times, I wish there was a manual we could all consult. Personality is my biggest reason for following a person. I love to see the person behind the blog and not just the writer.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Jill! Blog hopping and commenting is definitely one of the most time consuming parts and I’m always falling behind haha like you said it’s definitely worth it though!! I honestly don’t even bother with Edelweiss anymore, haha. I feel like they’re more for librarians and booksellers? I’m not sure how bloggers manage to get huge hauls from them!!

      I still can’t believe you’ve only been blogging for (soon to be) six months!! You’re such a natural at it and your posts are always so informative!! I follow a couple of blogs that only post reviews and nothing else and it honestly just feels like I’m following an automated generator haha it’s like……. WHO ARE YOU? I actually went on a bit of an unfolflowing spree because I want to see people’s personalities! And not just the same copy & paste blog tour 50 times haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I try to keep up but I’m running out of energy some days to read all those posts. I think it’s okay if I do a massive blog hop day and try to comment when I can. Typically, I open every blog that comments on a post of mine. It’s easier to track people down that way. Edelweiss is really annoying me. I got one ARC and was so excited and it’s been nothing but denials since. Damn them! 😂 It’s an ebook. I don’t know why they’re so stingy about it. Aww, thanks! I was planning to do more writing posts and discussions. I do like writing those. And I’m planning a post about bloggers I like. I hope you don’t mind if I link you in the post. 🙂 Oh, I know. There are some blogs that don’t feel at all like people. I’m like are you an Android? lol. Blog tours also get to be a bit much after a while. I enjoy personalized content and reviews that sound human. 🙂

        Like

  8. This is such an amazing post Lauren! I wish I’d had something like this when I was just starting out because it would have been so helpful! And even though I’ve been blogging for a while now I’m still going to find myself using some of these trips, especially the social media ones given I’m trying to expand my social media platform for my blog! Also I need to give my blog a bit of a makeover and I need to add a review index and review policy pages as well. Lot of work to do over the next month or so but it will be worth it.
    I’ll definitely bo bookmarking this post for future reference, I loved all your tips! 😀

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you so much Beth!! I absolutely love your blog. I remember when I first started blogging yours was one I really looked up to 😊 I’m really looking forward to seeing more of you on social media! Your Bookstagram is amazing so I’m sure everything else will be too ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Lauren! I have such a great time blogging so I always love finding other blogs, like yours, that I can follow and people I can talk to 🙂 Also it’s great to hear you enjoy mine as well.
        And thanks, I’m enjoying Instagram at the moment and hopefully soon I’ll create another account for my blog! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. This is a really great post! This could definitely be super helpful for any newbie bloggers out there. I was looking at posts like these when I started blogging and I totally agree that when they come from popular bloggers, it does feel like there’s a bit of a disconnect. I think part of the problem is that once you’ve been blogging for awhile and you’ve built up your traffic and everything, you kind of forget some of the smaller things that are only obvious once you’ve been blogging for awhile. They tend to kind of assume that you know some things and I don’t think they mean to, it’s just what happens after blogging for awhile. But it still makes it difficult for the people they’re trying to give advice to!
    Anyway, great post! I’ll stop rambling now hahaha

    Like

    1. You’re not rambling ♥ Yes! That’s exactly it. Like I had never used WordPress before in my life and was so used to other blogging platforms I felt so confused and there were lots of little things missing from the established bloggers posts because it was probably just something that they’re so used to doing it’s easy to slip your mind! A lot of it was just me exploring and trying out various things haha. It’s why I tried to put a lot of smaller things in here. Thanks so much, Kourtni!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Lauren, you’re a blogging goddess!! This post is amazing and I already followed some of your tips. I also share this with a friend who wants to start blogging soon and I’m sure she’ll find it incredibly helpful.
    I got approved for just one ARC from Edelweiss and I felt like The Chosen One, lmao that website is definitely strict! Also, thank youuuu for sharing my post about blogging stress, I hope it helps others who also experience it 🙂

    Like

    1. Ahh, Esther!! You’re too wonderful 🙈❤ Thank you!! Haha, that’s so great about Edelweiss!! I rarely bother with the site anymore because I never get approved – the only book I have from there was one that was a “Read Now” 😅 No worries! I loved it!!

      Like

  11. Yaaas, this is a super useful post! I especially love your tips on commenting because everything there is SO true. Getting comments is always nice and that but it’s always that extra more special if it’s more than “great post!” and actually tailored to what you’ve written on the post. 😛

    ALSO I LOVE YOUR SCHEDULE OMG. The colours are so great and everything looks so professional!

    And thanks for including my post! ❤

    Like

      1. Yes, definitely! I mean, I appreciate all that comes my way but then there are comments to my negative reviews that are like “Sounds like a great book” and I’m like ??? Did you get that from me?? Haha.

        Aww, thank you! I’m glad. ❤

        Like

  12. WOW This was such a great post! I’m so happy you posted it! Thanks for taking the time out to give a bunch of tips at once. I started blogging recently and it was really hard to find tips directly for wordpress so when I saw your post I had to read it and I’m so happy I did!

    Like

  13. This a wonderful post! I’m a new blogger so it’s really nice to have someone state some helpful tips to explain things. I’m glad I’m already doing a few of these things and I’m looking forward to implementing the tips I’ve not used yet. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  14. This is a great resource, I like how you laid it out very concisely and covered a lot of topics. I’ve been blogging for a few years now and I can still learn from some of these ha ha. Nicely done. I would definitely shoot any new bloggers over this way to read it, it could help a lot of new bloggers with their growing pains. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  15. I happened to have stumbled upon your blog and am very happy to have read this post. I created my blog 4 years ago but recently started to commit to blogging and your tips especially the one about engagement and interacting with other bloggers is definitely essential to growing a blog. It’s way more fun if we’re in this nice blogosphere together 😊

    Like

      1. You’re welcome. Yes, very relatable. Even though I started this blog four years ago it was about 5 months ago I started making an effort. I don’t always have the best follow through but blogging mostly every day just to know I can certainly helps. You’re right how wonderful everyone is. It can be overwhelming but that positivity is refreshing and most welcome

        Like

  16. This is a great post! So many useful tips for first time bloggers. Honestly, I kind of wish I had a quick rundown post when I started. I just googled and had a million different tabs open hahaha.

    Thanks for the shout out as well 🙂

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

  17. I often worry if my personality comes through in my blog? I only blog a couple of times a week, so it’s usually 1 review and something else. I try to make reviews personal sometimes, but they’re not always. :/ I try to shine through in the comments I leave, though. 😀
    I agree that commenting is rewarding but so time consuming. Lately I’ve been so busy that I only have time to visit people who have commented on mine, and even THAT takes sooooo much time. I don’t always have time to visit bloggers who don’t comment/visit my blog, and I feel a little guilty sometimes, but I really try on weekends.

    I need to do more memes & tags, I think. Maybe one every month? They’re fun when I do them, trying the once in a while should be fine. I’ll try to make them fun so that people know it’s OK to leave comments and that I’m a person! I get pretty decent engagement, but a lot of the times when I visit people’s blogs, they don’t visit back and after a while, I stop visiting them because I’m too busy to spend time on people who only care about their blogs 😦 I know that sounds horrible, but I think we all feel it sometimes. Omg, this just turned into comment about my insecurities, lol. Sorry, this was an amazing post, Lauren. I love where your blog is going and how you’re providing great and original content. Keep up the amazing work! ❤

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Naz! That really means a lot to me!! ♥

      And don’t worry!! I totally get what you’re saying. I definitely understand how time consuming it is. I’m sure you’ve noticed how sometimes I’m replying to 2 week old posts 😅 I think your blog does an amazing job of showing your personality! I still can’t believe you’ve only been blogging six months too! You seem like you’ve been doing it forever. Everything is super informative and I’v discovered so many new and diverse books and learnt a lot too!

      Like

  18. Great post!!! ❤ I agree with you that interaction is definitely the key to successful blogging (not that I'm a success or anything…). I love commenting on other bloggers' post because most of the time, they're so relatable and I can't help but giving them a piece of my thoughts. But I agree, I cringe everytime someone commented 'great post' and then drop a link to their post. I mean… would it be so hard to write a thoughtful comment first? and then drop the link later :') and omg yes I checked out my spam folder around a week ago and there are so many comments marked as spam!! I also owe meme, especially Top 10 Tuesday, a lot. I got most of my followers from TTT linkup, I think 😛 it also allows me to discover great blogs out there. Though I don't really do meme as often anymore because I feel like I'm repeating the books? Haha and also because I have my own ideas for blog posts.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Puput ♥ Interacting with other bloggers has definitely been one of my highlights of blogging. The community is so wonderful and I’m still overwhelmed by it.

      Yes, TTT was basically how I met everyone too!! But I totally get what you mean about it feeling repetitive sometimes and wanting to make your own posts. I feel like once you start reaching the six month mark of blogging you really start getting into your own and feeling comfortable to share your own posts/ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. “Fake It ‘Til You Make It.”? Wow, that sounds like… exactly what I was doing up until now ‘^_^

    Lauren, this is such an amazing and helpful post!
    If it was the me in the first two months of blogging finding this post, I would have thought it came from heaven just at the right time to save me.
    As I am today, I know as much as you do about book blogging, but it’s important to keep supporting the newbies. And, well, even though I’ve been blogging for six months now, I still feel like a newbie, so… ^^
    Your tips helped me remember some very important things about book blogging. Thank you!

    Fantastically amazing post, Lauren! 😀

    Like

    1. Haha! Honestly I’m still doing it now and it seems to be working 😅

      Aww, thank you so much Zoey! I’m really glad people are saying they would have found this helpful! I definitely feel like a newbie still too especially when some people seem to have their blogs so together. We’re definitely all learning and growing as bloggers though so I’m trying not to let it get to me too much ♥

      Like

  20. Thanks so much for this post! I’m fairly new to the world of book blogging, and I’ve been struggling to interact with the rest of the community – so I’m taking on your tip and leaving a comment!

    It’s good to know that everyone goes through that “newbie” stage and is continually learning – makes me feel better about my blog!

    Like

  21. This is a thoughtful and thorough post, Lauren! I wish I had read this post when I started blogging. I didn’t know what tags or awards were when I first started. I’m definitely going to be sharing your post with new bloggers who need help. ❤ Thank you for writing such a supportive and extensive post! 😀

    Like

  22. this post is amazing!! so many good and helpful tips! I’m definitely going to use a lot of these tips, and especially I’m trying to comment and interact with people more. 🙂
    whaaat. Why I don’t know where is a spam folder..I feel so stupid now.

    Like

  23. Great post! All really helpful tips – especially the ARCs and Design sections. I just recently started (about a month now- yay!) and I feel as if I’ve read every ‘tips and tricks’ post on blogging out there but most of them say the same stuff. This post really helped!

    Like

  24. Great post! Definitely one to keep bookmarked 🙂 As a relative newbie, I love all your tips – I’m actually a bit proud that I’m doing most of these right, so yay 🙂 Still some to work on though, like the scheduling of posts (I’m terrible at that and then I end up stressing to get a post out on time) and the ARC requesting (still have some work do on with my Netgalley account and such)

    Like

  25. This post is everything! A seriously great and helpful post, Lauren. 😄 I love all of your tips and I believe that this will help a lot of new bloggers out there. I wish that this post existed when I started my blog, because like you I’m still faking my way into book blogging.

    I agree that having a great blog design is a must, it just makes your blog more welcoming and pleasing to the eyes. And yes, interacting with other bloggers is the most important thing! I love the feeling whenever I read long and meaningful comments left by bloggers on my posts, it just makes blogging more fun and… real because I feel like I truly am connecting with people from all over the world. I guess, it’s time for me to write a review policy and rating guide for my blog haha, but I don’t think I’ll ever pick up a blogging schedule because I know I won’t be able to stick to it.

    And yes, I think it’s true that international bloggers have a harder time receiving ARCs. I’m from the Philippines and most of the local bloggers I know that are receiving ARCs are already very established and has a significant following in different social medias, and I can’t even be approved on Netgalley easily because often times the publishers prioritize countries like US, UK and the like. But it’s definitely okay, I also haven’t requested an ARC directly to a publisher, because of the pressure and resposibility that it might bring. 😅

    Again, great post and very helpful indeed. 😄💕💕

    Like

  26. I love this post! As a newbie blogger (only been going a few weeks) the main part that I’m struggling with is commenting on other peoples blogs. How scary is the thought? But I know it has to be done and it’s really nice to read that somebody else was nervous about starting that bit too.

    Also need to make a proper blog schedule, planning posts in my head wont do.

    Thank you so much for these tips, they are going to be such a big help!

    Like

  27. This is such an useful post with many useful links:) I couldn’t agree more. Newbie or not, I still struggle with scheduling posts when real life gets in the way, so that’s something I still definitely need to improve on. I think no matter how long we’ve been blogging for, we are all still learning and all tips are handy.

    Like

  28. I’ve been blogging for almost 4 years and still feel like I’m just “faking it” half the time! Really useful post though – love how detailed it is without being repetitive or difficult to follow!

    Definitely some tips in here that I’ll be using with my blog – I really need to sort my schedule out, it’s pretty much non-existent after Blogtober!

    Dani x | flourishingfreelancer.com | brighteyedandbewildered.comm

    Like

Leave a Reply

