My Favourite First Sentences // Top 5 Wednesday #3

Quick PSA: For some reason WordPress’ spam filter Akismet has flagged me as Spam. This means all my comment are automatically being directed to people’s spam folders. I just wanted to let you guys know so you don’t think I’m just ignoring all your posts! The spam issues been sorted! Thank God! And it’s happened again. This is so annoying. Why does WordPress hate me? 😂

Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme that was created by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey but is now being hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. For more information on how to participate go check out the Goodreads group!

This Week’s Theme: Favourite First Sentences

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Top 5 Wednesday, but I really wanted to participate in this one because I LOVE when a first sentence or paragraph of a book instantly hooks you. Of course, like always… I’ve taken a “creative liberty” with some of my answers 😂 They’re also in no particular order because I can’t handle that kind of pressure.

Images = Goodreads

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

The Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

This immediately got my attention and I needed to know more. What exactly was a “half-blood” and more importantly why didn’t Percy want to be one?

Bonus:If you’re a normal kid, reading this because you think it’s fiction, great. Read on. I envy you for being able to believe that none of this ever happened. But if you recognize yourself in these pages – if you feel something stirring inside – stop reading immediately. You might be one of us. And once you know that, it’s only a matter of time before  they sense it too, and they’ll come for you. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

The whole first page of The Lightning Thief is one of my ALL TIME FAVOURITES. It does such an incredible job of pulling you into the world. I freaking LOVE how meta it is. It really makes the whole thing seem so real.

A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Okay, so this is me cheating. This isn’t exactly the first sentence, but an acknowledgement at the start of the book. It really resonated with me though and I felt an instant connection with it. It sounds kind of presumptuous, but I just knew I was going to love this book as soon as I read this.

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Hi, it’s me cheating AGAIN. This is the first sentence of chapter one, not the prologue. ANYWAY! After reading this entire series I love this even more. You all know how much I adore the friendship between Blue and her boys. This is just such a Blue thing and it made me laugh because I can totally relate.

Bonus: The “Depending on where you began the story […]” starter from The Raven King. I just loved how this sentence was used throughout the book at the start of various chapters and how it incorporated all the characters and really helped tie together how they all played a piece in what was happening.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

I loved Night Film so much because Cordova felt so incredibly real that at times I was even questioning myself about whether he was actually fictional or not. Again, this just pulled me into the story instantly. Why did everyone have a Cordova story? Who exactly WAS Cordova? Why wouldn’t they like it?

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Technically this is 3 sentances and I haven’t actually read this one yet, but I’m hoping to really soon. As soon as I read this I was like “HECK YEAH!”. This is my aesthetic. I’m so excited to read this book because I have a feeling I’m going to love it.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J.K. Rowling

I realise this is 6 not 5, but…… how could I not include this? It’s such an iconic classic. This sentence just makes me so nostalgic and I remember when I first read this book I needed to know more about why these people wanted everyone to believe they were so perfectly normal. I can still recite the entire opening to the Philosopher’s Stone by heart. It’s something that will stay with me forever.


Do you have a favourite first sentence to a book?

If you have a Top 5 Wednesday post feel free to leave a link so I can drop by!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

39 thoughts on “My Favourite First Sentences // Top 5 Wednesday #3

  1. Those are all amazing first lines! I’ve only read Percy Jackson and HArry Potter.
    I now want to read The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich because LOVE THAT first line! 😉

    Like

  2. I love all of the first sentences you picked, they are definitely all captivating. I really love the first sentence you chose from The Dream Thieves and I definitely agree with you when you mentioned loving the “Depending on where you began the story…” chapter starters from The Raven King, I adored those so much! 🙂

    Here’s a link to my T5W post for this topic: https://awonderlandofbooks.com/2016/08/17/top-5-wednesday-favorite-first-sentences/

    Like

  3. Woo, I can recite Philosopher’s Stone too ❤ It's such a classic first sentence and it makes me smile every time I see it. And I'm so excited to read Night Film, I bought it ages ago but I haven't gotten around to it yet. I think I need to pick it up soon though.

    Like

  4. Ohh these are amazing picks. I definitely agree with you about the Percy Jackson series, that opening dragged me into the story and wouldn’t let me go. I really loved Percy’s voice and his narrations are what made me love the series as much as I did!
    Also I agree with you on the start of both ADSOM and The Dream Thieves, both books (and both series actually) are just brilliant at starting the story on a real high point!
    Great picks for this week’s theme!

    Like

      1. I must have been the same when I picked it up too. I’d heard so many amazing things about the series and I was a little worried I wouldn’t like it as much or it would take me a while to get into the story but I was wrong because I loved this series from the first paragraph! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed your choices, even if they made me want to add books to my TBR haha. I really enjoyed the first sentences of The Raven Boys, even if I prefered the first one in the prologue than the one you quoted, every single sentence in that book is incredible.

    Like

  6. Harry Potter ❤ The Lightning-Thief ❤ Omg, that's a good question. It's really not something I usually think about at all. Hmm, for me the book just has to be enjoyable, whatever its first setence, but maybe the one in City of Bones or Captive Prince or The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. I think it goes like ''It's a truth universally known that a rich single man… is in need of a wife.'' something like this ahha

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh these are some great picks! I love the Percy Jackson, Raven Boys and Harry Potter ones! Pretty much every first sentence in every Raven Boy book is solid gold for me though (and also almost every sentence that follows because Maggie Stiefvater is a writing genius!)
    I’m currently reading A Darker Shade of Magic and I’m only in the beginning still but that acknowledgement definitely caught my attention as well.
    Still have to read the other two, but that first sentence for The Dead House is already creepy and intriguing 🙂
    I don’t participate in Top 5 Wednesday (love reading/watching them though) but I love quotes so I may use this sometime in the future anyway 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yes! Maggie’s writing ability is INCREDIBLE in those books.

      Ooh yay! This comment is a bit late so I”m not sure if you’re still reading it, but I hope you’re enjoying/enjoyed it!!

      I would definitely be interested in a post like this from you 😊

      Like

  8. The first paragraph of Lightning Thief really pulled in right in. The humor, Percy’s voice, just everything was superb 😀 I just read the Dream Thieves’s first line two days ago. That really is very Blue thing.

    Like

  9. Percy Jackson! 😀
    How could I *not* have been immediately hooked after that first sentence? One of the bests, no doubt (:
    Rick Riordan is fantastic when it comes to pulling you in from the very first page. It happens to me in all of his books.

    The dead house really starts like this?
    This is so awesome! :O

    Also, great favorite first sentences list (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

