Non Bookish Websites: Top Ten Tuesday #9

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This Week’s Theme: Favourite Non Bookish Websites

As someone who’s second home is the internet I actually struggled quite a bit with this. It honestly made me wonder what on earth I do on here all day? Obviously, blogging takes up a huge part of my day now and I love that! But before like? I can’t believe I used to spend so long just aimlessly scrolling on Tumblr, haha. Having this blog actually makes me feel like I’m doing something productive! That might sound silly, I don’t know 🙈

I was considering changing topics, but the former Digital Media student in me couldn’t resist talking about tech-y stuff. So you get to read me rambling on excessively about various websites. I probably could have just made a list and saved us both A LOT time – but where’s the fun in that?

Click on the icons to be taken to the website

Social Media

Tumblr Twitter Wordpress

TUMBLR: I have a serious love/hate relationship with this website, lmao. It’s been a huge part of my life (I made my account in 2009 after The Livejournal Migration) and I’ve met so many amazing and wonderful people on there including one of my best friends (hey Sheridan, if you’re reading this, I love you). I hate it because sometimes it’s just so exhausting being on there because Drama and I am too old for that 😂 and the Staff have NO IDEA what they’re doing.
// FOLLOW ME //

TWITTER: This is where I express myself and show the world just how much of a mess I am. I update Twitter a lot because I like to pretend that people care what I’m thinking. My twitter is filled with incoherent keysmash and I yell about football a lot. I don’t understand how I have any followers. That said you should totally follow me for my lame humour, constant crying and refusal to use capital letters and correct grammar and punctuation.
// FOLLOW ME //

WORDPRESS: Is it cheating using this? Well, I don’t care. I am only new to the world of WordPress, but it has quickly become one of my favourite places. It reminds me so much of Livejournal and I miss that era of my life so much. There is such a fantastic community of people here – well in the bookish community anyway. Starting this blog has helped me so much and I’m just so grateful for how supportive everyone is. Reading everyone’s posts and replying to comments is honestly one of the best parts of my day.


Music

8tracks Spotify

8TRACKS: I love making and listening to playlists and I do most of it via 8tracks. They recently bought in some new copyright laws which sucks if you’re an international user, but I still love the site a lot. I have an insane amount of playlists saved. It’s especially great for fandom inspired playlists. There’s honestly something for everyone there though.
// FOLLOW ME //

SPOTIFY: I would be LOST without this website. I have an insane iTunes collection, but it’s my source for new releases or albums that I haven’t been able to acquire. I also LOVE finding new bands and the Recommendations from Spotify has allowed me to find a bunch.
// FOLLOW ME //


Procrastination Enablers

Netflix YouTube

NETFLIX: Ah, Netflix. Creator of memes. #1 reason for people cancelling their social plans. Where would we be without you? Netflix is actually pretty brand new in Australia and I remember when we first got it I was like a little kid. I’m the type that much prefers to binge watch a show and come out of it wondering what year it is than watch week to week. I also love all the random documentaries. The kid’s shows are great too because I’m a mature adult. If I’m being honest I haven’t used Netflix in months, because I have been in a huge TV slump, but just knowing it’s there is very comforting. Shout out to me for always paying the bill despite not using it. My family should be forever grateful, tbh.

YOUTUBE: I have so many favourite YouTubers and BookTubers, but we’re not supposed to be talking about books… My favourite YouTubers are definitely Dan & Phil. I love those awkward nerds so much. I also have an obsession with all those Top 5/Top 10 channels and the channels that talk about weird and obscure stuff like true crime and creepy stories ect. I watch Let’s Plays a lot too because I’m terrible at gaming so I like seeing someone who isn’t, plus most times the commentary is hilarious. The best thing though is falling down a rabbit hole of strange suggested videos and before you know it you’re watching washing machine spin cycle videos. Or seeing a girl break eggs with her boobs (she is fully clothed by the way lmao). Incredible. The main rule to remember with YouTube is to not read the comments on popular channels/videos because you will a) lose brain cells and b) want to fight everyone. Except if you like me you won’t be able to resist and will read them anyway!


Misc

codeacademy freepik West Coast Eagles

CODEACADEMY: I’m super interested in web design and programming. Codeacademy helped teach me so much! It’s a great place to start if you want to learn HTML and CSS. They have beginner and advanced courses in a wide range of web and programming languages. It’s totally free too!

FREEPIK: This is my go-to website for all my design resources. It’s amazing. There’s background, patterns, vectors, templates ect. Everything on there is free too! So many design websites you need to pay for so I’m really grateful Freepik exists.

WEST COAST EAGLES: This is literally only relevant to me, but I had to include it because this website is in my Most Visited sites on Chrome, haha. This is the official website for the Australian Football team that I support. I am one of those crazy, obsessed sport fans so I’m always on there watching the latest videos and game replays, checking the news and injury updates and stalking the photo galleries for…… educational reasons.


 Throwback

LiveJournal MySpace

LIVEJOURNAL & MYSPACE: Before the era of FaceBook, Tumblr & Twitter there were two websites that Ruled Them All and I will never forgive the world for abandoning them #LongLiveTom. Whilst both websites still exist they are mere shells of their former selves. LiveJournal and MySpace were my favourite places in the world. Yes, I was one of those MySpace emo/scene kids back in 2007. I never left my emo phase if we’re being honest. I had like nearly 10,000 “friends” on MySpace and most of them were bands. Yeah, it was kinda seriously impersonal but I didn’t care. All I cared about was being in the Top 8 of bands I loved. In all seriousness though MySpace is how I discovered ALL of my favourite bands and that’s why it’s so special to me. LiveJournal was were I met so many amazing people and for the first time ever I felt like I belonged somewhere. I’m genuinely sad that I’ve lost contact with a bunch of people from there. I am happy to say I’m still friends with quite a few of them which is amazing considering I made my LiveJournal account in 2005. Internet friendships are real!

Do you use any of the websites I mentioned? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Feel free to leave a link to your own Top Ten Tuesday if you have one!

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

P.S. I’ve been out ALL day so I’m a little behind on comments/posts, sorry!

53 thoughts on “Non Bookish Websites: Top Ten Tuesday #9

  1. Netflix is the worst procrastination enabler out there, especially when you’re in the middle of binging a show! I have this problem with not wanting to wait to know what happens so if I’m really interested I pretty much get nothing done! I’ve never heard of codecademy but I’m going to check it out as soon as I hit post on this comment because I always get lost in code, haha!

    Like

    1. Aw, yes that is definitely me with TV shows! I hate waiting, haha. And yay! It’s such a great resource. There’s a lot of helpful things on there for beginners. Code still confuses me too and I’ve been familiar with it for 10 years. It definitely doesn’t help that it’s constantly changing! Fortunately there’s lots of helpful resources online.

      Like

  2. Tumblr is such a strange and scary place. You can easily get lost and see things you didn’t need to see. Lmao. I used to be very active on it as well, but it is definitely exhausting.

    Um , what is MySpace?? :p

    Like

    1. HAHAHA, yes, definitely. Seeing things you didn’t need to see always seems to happen when there’s other people around too 😂😂

      MySpace is me showing my age 😂 Basically it was a social media site where people would comment on other’s profiles and people would post blogs. It was mostly used by bands to promote their music.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you split up this post! And I think I’ll have to get creative with my TTT as it seems like I was just wondering aimlessly around the internet before I blogging!
    I’m still so very confused with tumblr. I have one for my blog, but I hardly go on it because my time is already divided between twitter, WordPress and Instagram. I CAN’T TAKE ANYMORE SOCIAL MEDIAS!
    For me for Netflix I either go in a lot once or never go on it.

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you Astra! I absolutely loved your take on this week’s topic. I so know what you mean about aimlessly wandering though, haha.

      Tumblr is definitely confusing 😂 I was just fortunate enough to go over at the very beginning so I managed to have a bunch of people that I already knew and a decent amount of time to get an understanding of how it works. I definitely have a social media addiction, haha.

      Yes, same!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love Spotify! Mine if I ask what’s the difference between 8tracks and spotify? Codecademy sounds like a great resource. Makes me wonder why I spent so much on a degree learning something I can learn from the Internet for free >_<

    Like

    1. 8tracks is strictly playlists and not full albums ect. if that makes sense? It definitely doesn’t have as many licensing rights as Spotify does so there’s a lot of songs on playlists that aren’t available and will stream through YouTube instead. I find 8tracks playlists so much easier to browse and catalogue than Spotify’s. Mostly because I’m insanely organised with my music and 8tracks allows you to save playlists in different folders, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so great!! I was considering upgrading (mostly for the sound quality, because I’m an audio snob 😂), but I figured I didn’t really need it because my iTunes library is huge and has all the albums I listen to and the free version does what I need it to do! Otherwise I would have definitely upgraded too! Thanks so much, Jorelene ♥

      Like

  5. LOL about Tumblr, I thought about joining but I’m not sure if I even know how it works. 🙂 Netflix of course when it’s binge time and I love 8 tracks too.

    Like

  6. I feel digitally illiterate here, I only use facebook and youtube (and I have a Twitter account). I kind of missed the first train for all these. I want to learn html and design though so I can actually make something of my site.

    Like

    1. Aw, no!! I’ve been interested in this sorta stuff for like 10+ years, haha. I feel like the Internet is the one thing I’m good at 😂 codeacademy has a lot of great resources for beginners! I’m actually thinking of making a resource type post in the future too for web and design resources. So hopefully that might be of use to you!

      Like

  7. Oh I love your throwback to Livejournal and Myspace. I was addicted to them and still kind of miss them. Though I am loving WordPress right now, which kind of fills the hole Livejournal left 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha, thank you! They were so great and I always feel so nostalgic whenever I think of them. I’ve definitely fallen in love with WordPress and it has definitely helped bring a lot of elements back that I loved with Livejournal. It’s great being able to interact with everyone.

      Like

  8. It’s so amazing how all of these sites sort of capture how I was in different stages of my life? Tumblr – oh gosh, those Tumblr days were so aimless, I spent so much time on it. I just kept scrolling and scrolling. But I loved that time. Livejournal was actually life. I’d look for new layouts every day. I hardly use them anymore… I hope WordPress doesn’t become like that for me. I don’t ever want to stop 😀 Really great post!

    Like

    1. Ahh, right! I feel like I’m entering a new stage with WordPress because I’ve been on Tumblr less and less since I started blogging. Livejournal was actually the main reason I learnt to code 😂 I used to have a community where I made themes for people haha. I miss those days so much! WordPress is definitely helping though, I love how like Livejournal it’s a lot more personal!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh man I am always on Tumblr, I constantly refresh my feed every ten seconds looking for new posts even when I know there is probably not going to be anything and oh it is the worst for my procrastination habit too. Same with YouTube and WordPress and well, I’m always refreshing posts and looking for videos to watch when I really should be writing reviews or my own posts or even filling in things for work.
    I have all the social media accounts but I don’t really use them (other than WordPress) to post my own stuff. I’m literally the person who constantly stalks people’s feeds but never posts anything themselves 😀
    Great post for this week!

    Like

    1. That used to be me! I have actually been on Tumblr less since I started blogging, but I don’t think I could ever stay away completely haha. They are definitely all great sites to waste time on haha 😂 I’m on a YouTube binge right now whilst I’m catching up on blog posts and comments.

      Haha! There are a lot of people’s accounts that I stalk too 😂 If you ever decide to start using them though I’m sure they’d be great and I’d definitely be interested in following you ♥

      Thanks so much, Beth!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was talking with my sister the other day about Tumblr, I tend to post something once in a blue moon on that site and haven’t really been active on it since way before I started my blog on here! I still have all my accounts just because I procrastinate on them all the time.
        I’m gonna try and start using Pinterest again soon, just because I love that site and because there’s so many amazing ideas and other things on them, I also need to create a Goodreads account so I think I’m gonna slowly start builing up my social media presence again. 😀
        That’s all right ❤

        Like

    1. It’s definitely a big and confusing place! I’ve been interested in online stuff for 10+ years so I feel like I’ve had a bit of time to get a hang of things, but there’s definitely still stuff I’m not sure I’ll ever get the hang of like Snapchat 😂 Riiight!! It’s crazy how much time has passed.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. The Tumblr staff definitely don’t know what they’re doing hahaha.

    I love Netflix so much, ugh! I agree with you 100% about it being comforting just knowing it exists.

    Also yes about not reading comments on Youtube videos. I feel like my bad moods are usually triggered by people being mean and hateful and dumb, so when I forget about my number 1 internet rule (don’t read the comments), I get really sad.

    Like

    1. Hahaha, right!!! I’m still mad at them for taking replies away. I mean I know they eventually brought them back but still! And they always make me really dumb design choices lmao.

      Yes! I wish I wasn’t in such a huge TV slump so I could use it more, but oh well at least I’ll know it’s there when I’m ready 😂

      Omg yes, that is my rule too!! But of course I always end up breaking it 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Procrastination enablers! 😂😂😂 That’s great, that’s what all of it is for me. I’m such a procrastinator! Netflix is the worst one though. I am so happy to see Spotify on here! I use Spotify ALL the time. Great list! ❤️

    Like

  12. AHHHH Livejournal and MySpace, how I miss you! Such a good post Lauren! Who knew websites outside of books even existed right?! My whole world has shrunk to WordPress and Twitter hahaha. Also thank you for mentioning the Code Academy site, I’ll definitely be checking that out as I really want to sharpen up my HTML skills! Such a good tip! x

    Like

  13. Oh my god, I never hear anyone talk about livejournal anymore! When I found my old journal I had to delete it because it was so embarrassing 😂

    I can’t believe I haven’t heard of freepik either, so thank you for that! ❤

    Like

    1. I refuse to let it go 😂 Sometimes I’ll reread my old entries and be so tempted, but then I am like super attached to it and it’s kinda hilarious looking back on it so I’ve decided to keep it.

      Aw, no worries! There’s so many great resources on there!

      Like

Leave a Reply

