BOOK TAG: My Intimidating TBR

btmit

Once again some minor self promotion that I created a Bookstagram. There’s not much there at the moment, but I hope to get better at it!

I was tagged to do this by the lovely Felicia @ Fell For Books! Go check out her post and blog and give her a follow, because she’s awesome ♥

The Intimidating TBR Tag was created by LindseyRey, but unfortunately all her videos seem to be deleted. This tag is where we talk about some books in our To Be Read pile that intimidate us for various reasons!

I actually used books from my own shelves for this and it’s made me realise how many books I haven’t read that I actually own. Oops. This is one of my favourite tags I’ve watched so many BookTube videos with it!

Covers = Goodreads 

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasWhat book have you been unable to finish?

I’m not sure if this means DNF, but since I’ve never (touch wood) DNF’d a book I’m choosing A Court of Thorns and Roses because I’ve been reading it for so long. I started it before The Great Reading Slump and I still haven’t finished it. So that’s like a year, lmao. I was really enjoying it so I don’t know why I keep putting it off? I think it’s the High Fantasy aspect. I am determined to finish it now that A Court of Mist and Fury has been released. I’m already freaking out about that one because it’s like over 600 pages??? #RIPLauren

 


American Gods by Neil GaimanWhat book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

Not just because this book is HUGE, but because I feel like it’s one I’m REALLY gonna have to focus on. You all know how my attention span is. I feel like this is going to be a book that I can’t have my mind wandering whilst reading it. I’m kind of scared I won’t be smart enough for it either, but I heard about the TV show and I know how loved Neil Gaiman is so I really do want to eventually try and find the time to read it. It also sounds really interesting.

 


Pandemonium by Lauren OliverWhat book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

I actually struggled with this a bit because I am such a commitmentphobe when it comes to series that I rarely ever buy the next book unless I’ve read and loved the first in the series. I’m also TERRIBLE at finishing series so I probably only have a handful of sequels. The only reason I have Pandemonium is because it came in a boxset with Delirium and the boxset was only like $10 and it was cheaper than buying the books separetly. Delirium has been sitting on my shelf unopened since 2011. Yeah. I will get to it one day.


The Outliers by Kimberly McCreightWhat book have you yet to read because it’s a new release?

I literally bought this book yesterday. I could not believe it when my local Target store had a copy because they are not normally up to date with new releases. Actually my local book store had it in a week before it’s release, but it was like $30! I’m not even kidding. This is how much my local bookstore charges. PAPERBACKS are never cheaper than $19. It’s why I buy all my books from Target (where it was only $14), used bookstores and online. I know this has been getting slightly negative reviews, but it’s a YA Thriller which I LOVE so I think I’ll like it regardless. I couldn’t resist the cover either, okay. It’s so pretty. I’m so excited to read it!


City of Ashes by Cassandra ClareWhat book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t like it?

I’ve spoken before how incredibly intimidated I am by everything that Cassandra Clare has ever written. I read City of Bones ages ago and I seriously struggled with it. It took me soooo long to get through it and I was not a fan. I know everyone says this series gets better, but I’m so scared I’m not going to like this one either. My sister finished reading it the other day and she was telling me bits and pieces and it just put me off even more, to be honest haha. I love the TV show though so I REALLY wanna try. There’s just so many books in the series and I have commitment issues.


Catching Fire by Suzanne CollinsWhat book have you yet to read because you aren’t in the mood?

Please don’t hurt me for not having finished The Hunger Games series. In my poor attempt at a defence I’ve only really got back into reading after almost two years of picking up like four or five books. I can’t really use that as an excuse though because I absolutely flew through the first book and I loved it so much that I went out the very next day and bought Catching Fire and Mockingjay. Then I just never read them… I know part of it is because I got spoiled for almost everything that happened in these books on Tumblr during the time were they everywhere. The first movie hadn’t even came out at this stage so I don’t think it was unreasonable of me to expect people to use spoiler warnings/tags, but apparently they didn’t think so 😂 I just haven’t been in the right mood since to pick it up.


A Game of Thrones by George R.R. MartinWhat book have you yet to read because it’s humongous?

I actually don’t know if I’m ever going to read this. I bought it during my obsession with Game of Thrones, but now I’ve completely lost interest in it and haven’t watched it since like season 3I’m super intimidated by so many elements in this book. I know tons of people love it, but it’s been on my shelf for like 4 years and I haven’t even opened it. There’s also so many books in the series that are all massive. I would like to try it maybe, because I know lots of people love this series and have said that they’re glad they read it. Maybe one day!


Fallen by Lauren KateWhat book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy with bad reviews?

The reviews for this book aren’t all bad. It does have a 3.7 rating on Goodreads, which is pretty good imo. There’s also a ton of people I know who gave it 4/5 stars. I don’t really let reviews influence my decision to read a book so the negative reviews for this isn’t really why I haven’t read it. It’s just more of me buying it because I thought the cover was gorgeous and just never getting around to reading it. I bought this a year or so after it was released and now four years have passed and I’ve just kinda lost a lot of interest in what it’s about?


Throne of Glass by Sarah J. MaasWhich book on your TBR is the most intimidating to you?

I know it probably seems crazy putting this here when I previously included American Gods and A Game of Thrones in this list, but I am just so intimidated by this series. It is one of the most popular books series around at the moment and it’s a genre that I have always been terrified by. I’m so scared that I’m not going to like these books. The series is massive and the books are all huge. I know the amount of pages aren’t something that a lot of people worry about but like anything over 400 pages is seriously challenging to me because of my attention span. I am going to try my hardest to read this book this month and I really hope I love it as much as everyone else does! If not I apologise in advance, haha.


I tag:

Like always please feel free to ignore this if you don’t want to do it or if you’ve already done it! I’m terrible at remembering whose done what, haha. Tagging a bunch of people because I LOVE stalking people’s shelves and TBRs 🙈.

Vivian @ Inked in Pages • Fadwa @ Word Wonders • Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels • Sammie @ Bookshelves and Biros • Carrianne @ Cuppa ‘n Critiques • Katherine @ Fable Haven • Fatima @ Noteablepad • Beth @ Reading Every Night • Jaed @ The Bibliophile Blogs • Jess @ The Mud and Stars Book Blog 

Aaaaaaand anyone else who wants to do it! Seriously. I wanna see all of your TBRs, haha.

Like always I’d love to hear your thoughts on the books I chose! Are any of them on your TBR? Should I stop being scared and just read them already 😂? Let me know!

I hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

62 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: My Intimidating TBR

  1. I would follow you on Instagram but I recently deleted my account because I hate that app. 😂
    Also haha, The Great Reading Slump!
    I’m not that interested in reading Throne of Glass, it sounds kinda meh to me to be honest. I’ve seen some people not like it at all, so really, don’t worry about it. I hope you end up loving it, but if you don’t it’s not that big of a deal. 😊

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the tag! 🙂 I loved reading this (like you, I love stalking peoples TBR list- it’s so intrusive).
    I have read many of these books but have yet to finish the series 😀 haha. I read Fallen years ago but forgot what it’s about (because of my sieve-like memory of course), and I didn’t finish The Mortal Instruments either (it’s been years now and I forgot most of what happens). And Game of Thrones is a serious commitment so I’d only venture there if you’re going to read all those books.
    Really enjoyed reading this! 😀

    Like

    1. Haha, right!

      Oh man, I have so many incomplete series. I’m actually planning on making a post about it because I have serious commitment issues. I feel you with the sieve like memory 😂 but I think Fallen is like angels and demons? Or something? I don’t know, haha. Yeah, I really don’t think I’m ever going to read GoT haha. I should probably give it to a used bookstore or something, but I hate parting with my books even if I don’t read/like them 🙈

      I can’t wait to see your post!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha I genuinely don’t remember what Fallen was about- but it clearly wasn’t that notable because I don’t even remember a thing about it. And me too! I hate parting with books.. I have a lot of books I genuinely hated reading (because I’m the #1 impulse buyer in the world) but I’m not likely to give them up. Thank you! 🙂

        Like

  3. I read the first two Game of Thrones books, and I liked them, but I never got around to finishing the series … I’m also intimidated by the lengthiness, and at this point I’ve pretty much forgotten everything that happened in the first two books. 😛 I wasn’t a huge fan of Throne of Glass or Fallen, but I know a ton of people love both those books. I was obsessed with Mortal Instruments back in middle school/high school, but nowadays I feel like I probably wouldn’t like them as much, haha.

    Like

    1. Haha, yeah I don’t think I’ll ever get around to reading it because it’s just too much commitment and especially now I’ve lost interest in the show. Ooh it’s good to know I won’t be alone if I’m not a huge fan of ToG, haha. I’m seriously intimidated by how many books and spin off series and novellas that Cassandra Clare has wrote for that world. Like there’s just so many books.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve actually never seen the TV show, but I have a feeling it wouldn’t really be my thing (I’m not a huge fan of graphic violence and whatnot). Not sure if I’ll ever get around to finishing the books either, haha. Throne of Glass seems to be pretty hit-or-miss; I have some friends who love it, but I know a lot of people who were disappointed in it, too. I keep hearing the sequels are much better though, so I might eventually give the series a second chance … it’s just not high on my TBR, haha.

        Lol that’s also a fair point, there are SO many Shadowhunter books now! I started reading them when only the first two TMI books were out, so I just followed along for a while. But after Infernal Devices and the later TMI books (after book 3) I was like “… okay I think I’ve had enough.” It just started to feel repetitive and unnecessary. And she’s writing like three more spin-off series, smh.

        Like

        1. Ahh yeah, there was definitely a lot of violence in it.

          I’ve heard that about ToG! And yeah, I totally get that. It’s how I feel about the Shadowhunters books haha. Oh my god I knowww. It’s so crazy!! I mean I can’t talk because I love Rick Riordan and he has a bunch of Percy Jackson books out 😂 but I love that series so much so it’s a lot easier for me to want to keep reading.

          Like

    1. No worries! I can’t wait to see your post 😀

      That’s been me with Delirium. It’s insane how long I’ve owned that book for. I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet. I used to be OBSESSED with the TV show, but even then it confused me 😂 I could never remember any of the characters.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Hahahaha ohhhhh I’m with you now lol! 😂 I could never get into the show, I couldn’t remember who anyone was either so I know what you mean. THERE’S JUST SO MANY OF THEM. I did not know that existed! I’ll have to try and track that down and see what it’s like! Thanks! 😀 x

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve followed you on instagram!

    Game of thrones is such a mission! The first book is almost identical to the first series so I remember reading it really quickly but after that, each book takes longer to read. It took me well over a year to completely finish a storm of swords because I kept putting it down and I’m genuinely terrified for when the next book comes out and I’ll have to read it – as much as I love the series, over 1000 pages is just too many for one book 😩

    A Court of Thorns and Roses and Throne of glass have been on my tbr list for a while too, maybe I’ll wait and see what you think of them first though 😛

    Like

    1. Thank you 😘

      Oh my god, seeing “1000 pages” actually makes me feel nauseous hahaha. I would really like to try and read it, but now I’ve lost interest in the TV show it’s just kinda putting me off even more.

      So glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read them, haha! Hopefully I can get around to it soon-ish and get reviews up for both of them.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the tag Lauren! I have the same issue with A Game of Thrones – I have the first book on my Kindle but it’s soooo long and I feel like it will take me basically the rest of my life to read the whole series haha. The Outliers looks really good – I think I might pick that one up myself later in the month! Hope you manage to get back into A Court of Thorns and Roses – I’m reading it at the moment and really enjoying it, but I keep seeing buzz about the new book and I’m so scared I’m going to be spoiled!

    Like

    1. No worries! I can’t wait to see your post 😀

      Ahh right! It’s just so much commitment and then there’s so many other books I want to read more. I’m thinking about downloading the ebook because then I might be able to trick myself into not thinking about how huge it is, but probably not haha. I’m really excited to read The Outliers 😀 I’m going to try and finish ACOTAR this month. And ooh yeah. I accidentally sort of spoiled myself by seeing the blurb of ACOMAF. It wasn’t too major, but hopefully I can avoid seeing any more!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I am trying so hard to avoid reading the blurb. I ordered the book from Amazon and I haven’t even opened the parcel yet! I know exactly what you mean with reading e-books – somehow it just makes those massive tomes seem more manageable and less intimidating!

        Like

  6. Ohh thanks for the tag! I feel like this is the perfect one for me because I have a really intimidating to read list, there are so many books on it already and I feel like I never make a decent dent in it 😀
    For me Throne of Glass was intimidating for me as well before I finally got around to picking it up. I think for me though it was mainly because I kept hearing the first book wasn’t all that great. People always said it got better with the second book but getting through the first was the challenge for me! Also I completely agree with you about the Game of Thrones books as well. I have the fifth on my to-read list still and I haven’t gotten around to it yet for that exact reason.
    Great answers for this tag! I loved reading them.

    Like

    1. No worries! I can’t wait to see your post 😀 And haha, I know that feeling. The most difficult part of this tag was choosing what books to use because I had so many 😂

      Ooh yeah, I’ve heard that about the first book too! If I read it and have mixed feelings I think I’ll end up giving the second book a go. Getting through the first four GoT books is amazing! I’m honestly too scared to even open the first book.

      Thank you, Beth ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It may be a while before I can post it. I’m kind of behind in my tags at the moment! But I think it’ll be the same for me. I have so many books on my TBR that narrowing it down will be a real challenge!
        It out me off for ages but I did end up enjoying it a little, I think because my expectations were so low. It did have it problems don’t get me wrong but I thought it was good and the series definitely gets better with each book so there’s that to look forwards too 🙂
        I read the first four a good few years ago I just haven’t gotten around to the fifth yet, I keep putting it off, probably because the books are so massive.
        And that’s all right ❤️

        Like

        1. Ah, that’s okay! Whenever you have time 🙂 I have a pile of Tags that I need to catch up on too!

          I’m definitely interested to see how I’ll feel about it. Hopefully I’ll have a positive reading experience!

          And yes the size definitely puts me off. I was thinking about getting the ebooks since I won’t physically be able to see the size of them, but I’m still intimidated, haha!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m slowly making my way through them, but I’ve added this one to my list so I won’t forget it!
            I hope so too. It’s one of my favourite series now because after the first book I just became addicted to them. The second is amazing but the fourth is my favourite so far!
            I have them as ebooks on my Kindle, it’s still intimidating when you can see the percentage read at the bottom though, and how long it will take to read the rest of it. I tend to turn that off what I’m reading any really huge books!

            Liked by 1 person

      1. When I first read it I really liked it, but the second and third books really went downhill in my opinion… the pacing was wayyy too slow for my liking. I hope you will enjoy it more than I did! I’m still sticking to the series because I’ve read 3/6 books and want to know the ending haha

        Like

  7. Thank you so much for tagging me!! I love this tag; I can’t wait to do it! I definitely recommend biting the bullet and reading Throne of Glass, it’s my favorite fantasy series besides Harry Potter – Throne of Glass is definitely the weakest book in the series, though. I wasn’t really wowed until I read Crown of Midnight! And as for The Mortal Instruments, I personally didn’t enjoy The Mortal Instruments series, but loved The Infernal Devices trilogy, so I know what you mean! There are just so many books in the Shadowhunter world!

    Like

    1. Yay! No worries. I can’t wait to see your post 😀

      I’m definitely going to try my hardest to read it this month! I’ve heard from a lot of people that the first book is the weakest and it gets better. If I have mixed feelings towards the first I think I’ll give the second book a go anyway. I’ve heard lots of people say that about The Infernal Devices too. If I’m not impressed by the next TMI book I think I might skip straight that to series. Ahh, right. There’s so many books and spin off series and novellas.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Game of Thrones is on my TBR and I keep going to pick it up and then just think nope! haha Fallen as also a cover buy for me, I have no plans to read it at the moment but I will, one day, maybe hahaha.

    Like

    1. Haha! Right. There’s just so many other books that I want to read more. Plus now that I have no interest in the TV show it’s kinda putting me off reading it even more. Same with Fallen!! It’s like GoT in the sense that there’s just so many more book in my TBR that I want to read first.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I was pretty ‘eh’ about The Mortal Instruments series but I’d recommend The Infernal Devices which was much better in my opinion and also didn’t turn what should’ve stayed as a trilogy, into a six (huge) book series.

    Like

    1. Ooh yeah, I’ve heard a lot of people say that about The Infernal Devices! If I’m not impressed by the second TMI book I think I might just skip to that series and try it out. Haha, right. There’s so many books and spin off series and novellas and just omg.

      Like

  10. Thank you for the tag!
    Wait, you have NEVER DNF a book? That is admirable! To be fair, I haven’t DNF a book either but it feels like it as I sometimes take huge breaks if I lose interest in a book I’m reading.
    Oh, I hate getting spoiled for series! I think I might have gotten spoiled for the Throne of Glass series, but I don’t know because I haven’t read the last one. Speaking of ToG I would really urge you to read it. The first book isn’t outstanding, but the series gets better gradually. The series is pretty divisive so if you don’t like it you won’t be alone.
    I might read Fallen soon actually. I was initially turned off by the prospect of a love triangle, but my friends love it so I’m going to give it a try.

    Like

    1. Haha, nope 🙈 I have come close with Gone Girl and City of Bones, but I pushed through. I have been away from reading for almost 2 years though so who knows what will potentially happen 😂 I think I am just way too stubborn to actually DNF a book. I do put books on hold A LOT because of my attention span. I get distracted so it just sits there for ages, haha.

      I’m hopefully going to get to Throne of Glass this month!! I am excited despite my intimidation haha. I’ve heard from lots of people that the series gets better so I’ll definitely give the second book a try even if I’m not a huge fan of the first.

      Yeah the love triangle is putting me off too but a few people I know enjoyed it so I’m gonna try and get to it at some point!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I feel exactly the same way about American Gods, Lauren! But now that they’re making it into a TV series I think it’s time we read it!
    I’m really intrigued about Outliers too, can’t wait to see what you think of it!
    Game of Thrones is basically the only book I’ve DNF’d this year. I started it in September and kept going but in February I got halfway through and just couldn’t force myself to continue… So many people do love it, but I don’t get it, I guess 😉
    I read Throne of Glass last month – binged it in one sitting, and I had such a bad book hangover that I still haven’t been able to read the second one… but I did really like it!
    These are such good picks, I hope you get less scared of some of them…;) Although I understand the intimidation! haha xx

    Like

    1. Haha, yes! I’m definitely hoping to get to it at some point. I think I might actually read it on my Kindle because I might be able to trick myself into thinking it’s smaller.

      I actually have no idea if I’ll get to GoT especially now that I’ve lost interest in the show and that was my main reason for wanting to read it. I might give it a go and like with American Gods, try and read it on my Kindle.

      So good to hear you enjoyed Throne of Glass! I am hoping to get to it this month 🙂

      Haha, thank you!!

      Like

  12. I know how you feel about being intimidated by a book or not reading it because you feel like you need to PAY ATTENTION. I have several of those. That’s why I get stuck in these YA marathons because I feel like anything really outside of YA I’m going to have to really pay attention to – and my attention span is terrible xD BUT don’t think you’re not smart enough! Reading is learning! If there’s something you don’t get, look it up 🙂

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

    1. Ahh, yes!! I have a terrible attention span too so like sometimes even the most simple books are a struggle for me 😂 It’s why I love books that are fast paced and unique because they manage to keep my attention a little longer.

      Aw, that is very true. I love learning new things and I normally wish look up something if I’m not sure about it. Books have actually taught me a lot. I think it’s more of an intimidation factor. I think it’s why I put off reading classics for so long!

      Like

      1. Do you look at the font size/line spacing when trying to decide a book to read? Sometimes, when I know I’m not going to pay attention to a lengthy one, I’ll pick up the one with the fewest pages, and biggest spaces xD

        I have been putting off classics as well. I’ve started a few but I get BORED and put them down. whoops :/

        Like

Leave a Reply

