May TBR

mtbr

Like always my TBR isn’t strict, it’s just a way for me to try and put some books together that I want to read sooner than others. It’s why there’s always an overly ambitious amount of books because my non-existent attention span needs a ton of different things to choose from. The chances of me sticking to it are 50/50 because I am 100% a mood reader who is influenced by so many different things. There are also so many new books coming out this month I will definitely be distracted.

I’m also going to need to force myself not to spend the entire month just rereading all my favourite parts of The Raven King.

Covers = Goodreads 

Physical Books

May TBR Books 01

May TBR Books 02

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky AlbertelliRed Queen by Victoria AveyardThe Special Ones by Em BaileyPassenger by Alexandra BrackenThrone of Glass by Sarah J. MaasCinder by Marissa MeyerDaughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I’m super excited to read Simon vs The Homo Sapiens AgendaThe Special Ones and Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I’ve heard endless good things about Simon and Smoke and Bone. Em Bailey wrote one of my favourite books ever so I can not wait to read something new by her!

eBooks

The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw Remembrance by Meg Cabot

What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

I do this thing where I’ll sometimes read the first few chapters of books I buy to decide when I want to read them and I loved what I read of Scarlett Epstein. I’m excited to read more of it!

Even though I’m totally not ready to let it go I’ve decided to try and finally finish The Mediator series.

Comics & Graphic Novels

Gotham Academy, Vol 2 by Becky Cloonan Amulet, Vol 3 by Kazu Kibuishi Lumberjanes, Vol 2 by Noelle Stevenson

I’m planning on reading and finishing Gotham Academy and Lumberjanes tonight so at least that’ll be 2 off my TBR 😂 I seriously wish I could read novels as quickly as I can read comics. It would make my life so much easier!

Unreleased

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

I know The Star Touched Queen is already released, but not in Australia. I was honestly crushed when I realised there was no eBook available. The hardback was a touch out of my price range so I wasn’t sure how long I’d be waiting. However, this morning I woke up to the news that I had won a New Release April giveaway!!! Naturally I chose Star-Touched and I can’t wait until it shows up. Huge thank you to Rachel @ Nerd Herd Reads for hosting the giveaway ♥

The moment I get my hands on The Hidden Oracle which is like only hours away because I pre-ordered the eBook everything will be put on hold because I am going to DEVOUR this book. I AM SO EXCITED TO GO BACK TO MY HOME – CAMP HALFBLOOD.

Can we also talk about how STUNNING the cover for The May Queen Murders is? I’m in awe. Everything about it is perfect. The colours, the font, the photography, the placement. Ugh.

There’s also the books I had on my April TBR and some review books that I really should have read by now and I feel super bad, but I don’t want to push myself. I don’t think I’ll be accepting any more books for review unless I really want to read them or if I request them myself.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of these books! Have you read them or are planning to read them? Feel free to link me to your TBR post if you have one! Or just let me know what books you’re hoping to read this month.

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day xx

45 thoughts on “May TBR

  1. That cover of Daughter of Smoke and Bone is gorgeous! I like it so much more than the US cover (which isn’t bad either). And it sounds like your TBR lists are like mine – they give you a guideline of what you want to attempt to read this month, but eventually you go off course, right? I’m usually lucky if I get 50% of my TBR done (though there have been some months when I have actually managed to stick to it).

    Like

    1. Right! I was so used to seeing the US one I wasn’t sure how I felt about it at first, but now I absolutely love it. Yes exactly! I just find myself getting pulled towards other books because I’ll be in a certain mood or I’ll see people talking about a certain book and I’ll want to read them instead, haha.

      Like

  2. Cinder! I just read it recently and it’s a great read. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Daughter of Smoke and Bones too. Been wanting to read it for a while, but haven’t gotten to it yet.

    What’s Gotham Academy about? Does it have any relations to Batman?

    Like

    1. I’m looking forward to reading it! Everyone seems to say great things about it. Same as Daughter of Smoke and Bone! Hopefully I’ll enjoy both of them.

      There’s a few tie-ins and a couple of guest appearances from Batman, Robin and Bruce Wayne, but its main focus is on a group of kids that attend Gotham Academy and all the trouble they get themselves into. It does mention Arkham Asylum a fair bit – especially in Volume 2.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh you have such a fun May ahead of you! I was torn with Red Queen and sadly I just couldn’t finish Cinder. But I really hope you enjoy them! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Passenger.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ve heard great things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s also one of my fave BookTuber’s and best friend’s favourite book series so I’m really hoping to love it! Ahh, same!! I’m not normally keen on hardcovers, but this is one I can’t wait to get because it’s so gorgeous.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You have some really exciting books up there! Also YAY THE HIDDEN ORACLE!!! I don’t think it’s set in Camp Half-Blood though haha. Please write a spoiler-free review when you’ve read it, I can’t get my hands on it right now and really wanna know more! x

    Like

    1. Ahh, right. I’m excited to get to all of them.

      I was under the impression it was from the blurb, but now that I’ve read the first few chapters I think it might be more about Apollo’s journey to Camp Halfblood, but still – hopefully we’ll get there at some point in the series, haha! I’ve read the first few chapters and it’s been so good so far. I’ll definitely be posting a spoiler free review once I’ve finished it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re actually right, the blurb does mention the Camp. I hadn’t even properly read it haha, I just knew I wanted the book. I don’t even care about blurbs anymore, it’s Rick! That’s enough. 😀
        I’m seriously considering ordering the book. My mom is going to kill me if I even bring it up hahaha.

        Like

        1. Haha, that’s okay! And you’re totally right. I honestly don’t care what it’s about I will read anything that Rick writes 😂 Ahh boo!! One good thing about being old is not having to worry about your parents killing you for spending your money on books 😝I hope you can get it soon ❤️

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I own Red Queen too! I really enjoyed it. I just brought The Wrath and the Dawn, it’s currently sitting on my bookshelf. We have a few more books in common on the unreleased list. Everything except the last book. I haven’t brought them yet because I’m on a reading hiatus. I need some time to get back into the groove.

    Like

    1. Yay, it’s good to hear that you enjoyed Red Queen! There’s been lots of mixed reviews so I’ll be really interested to see how I feel. I can’t wait to read TW&TD and now that the second book is out I won’t have to wait for that if I like it, haha. Ahh yeah I totally know what you mean about getting back into the swing of reading. I was in a year long slump and I’m still trying to find my footings.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. OOO SO MANY GOOD ONES! Cinder, Throne of Glass, DOSAB and The Wrath and the Dawn are all AMAZING. I hope you love them too. I just got The Star Touched Queen from the library so I will be reading that one soon as well. 😀

    Like

  7. Great list, so many good books to look forward to! I recently read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT so I would definitely recommend that one 🙂 But then Throne of Glass, Cinder and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are also soo good, so I’m sure you’ll find something you’ll enjoy 🙂 And I totally get you about being a mood reader, it makes setting up a TBR in advance a bit tricky 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so excited to get to Simon! I’ve heard so many people say it’s been on of their favourite books of the year. I’m sure I’m going to love it. Ahh yes, I definitely have a lot of great ones to choose from! Right! I get distracted by so many outside influences, haha. Hopefully I can knock some of these off, but if not it’s okay haha.

      Like

  8. I loved Red Queen. I never make monthly TBR’s because I never stick to them. I’m weary about reading The Trials of Apollo because I didn’t love Percy Jackson.

    Like

    1. Yay, it’s good to hear you enjoyed Red Queen! I’m looking forward to reading it 😊 Aw, sorry you didn’t love Percy. I know this book has a lot of tie ins with that series so it might not be your thing.

      I never used to do TBRs either for the same reasons, but I’m testing them out to see how I go haha. It’s more of an extremely loose guideline.

      Like

  9. Oh my God!! I’m so excited for you this month. I really hope you enjoy Red Queen, Throne of Glass (!!!), and Cinder. I’m excited to hear your thoughts on Daughter of Smoke and Bone, too- I read it once a while back, but I’ve been thinking about rereading it.

    Like

  10. So many of these books are books I LOVED so I am so excited for you to read them and to see what you think of them. I really hope you enjoy Cinder and Daughter of Smoke and Bone because honestly they are two of my all-time favourite series so I hope you love them as much as I did!
    Also YAY for Remembrance, although yeah I agree with you I wasn’t ready to completely let this series go either.
    The Star-Touched Queen is one of my favourite reads of 2016 so far. It’s such a brilliant book so I really hope you love that one as well!

    Like

    1. Knowing that you loved them makes me even more excited to read them because from your reviews we definitely seem to have similar tastes and I also trust your judgement! I’ll definitely be posting as many reviews as I can!

      Ahh, right. I honestly think that’s why I’ve been putting it off for so long. I’m definitely going to try and get to it this month though.

      Yay! I’ve heard endless good things about it. I can’t wait to get to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well then I will be eagerly awaiting your reviews. I’m glad you trust my judgement so much, I can only hope my opinions live up to your expectations for the books 😀
        I was the opposite really, as soon as I could get my hands on that book I started it because it had been so long since I read the original books I couldn’t wait to jump back into the story! But I can see your point of view as well! It’s hard to let go of something like that!

        Like

        1. I can definitely understand wanting to jump in! I did that with the novella. I honestly never expected to get more books for this series so I think I’m just trying to hold out for as long as I can. I know I’m going to absolutely love it though so I should just read it already haha.

          Liked by 1 person

  11. Eep, I really didn’t like Red Queen, ToG, and Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here, but I hope you do, particularly ToG because even though I don’t like it, with that one I could fully understand why others would. 😛

    Also super excited for you to get into TWATD and Simon vs – I gave both books five stars; they were just great (in different ways).

    Like

    1. Aww, sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy them! I have heard a lot of mixed reviews about Red Queen, so I’m definitely going to be interested to see how I feel about that one. I’ve already said how Throne of Glass intimidates me greatly haha, but hopefully it’ll be a positive experience and if not then at least I know I’m not alone in not liking it, haha.

      Yes, I’m so, so excited about Simon! And TW&TD seems really interesting and the best thing is not having to wait to for the sequel if I enjoy it 😀

      Like

      1. I can’t wait to hear what your thoughts are on them! I’m hoping you’ll enjoy them, but at the same time I’m also hoping you won’t because… well, strength in numbers, I suppose. Sorry. 😛

        Like

  12. I just read a very negative review of The Star-Touched Queen, which was unfortunate because I’m very excited to read it. It seems so unique and imaginative, so I hope I end up loving it.
    We’re both slow readers, though, so I’m not sure who will get around to reading it first, haha. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it. 🙂 Same for TWatD. Agh. One day I have to carve out the time to read this beautiful book.

    Like

    1. Ahh I actually saw a negative review for TSTQ today too! I really hope we both love it because it seems like such an amazing concept. Book Depository normally takes a month to get to me, so you could possible be first haha! Either way, I’ll be very interested to hear your thoughts too 😊

      And yeah, I’m hoping to get to TW&TD soon! The best thing is not having to wait for the sequel if we enjoy it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I have quite a few of the physical books you’re going to read in May 🙂
    I hope you enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I really liked it. I would be interested in hearing your thoughts once you are finished.
    Red Queen and Cinder are good as well but not amazing.
    I’m also looking forward to reading your thoughts on Passenger, as I am on a waitlist for it at my library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

