BOOK TAG: Myself in 5 Characters

mi5c

Trigger Warnings: I talk a bit about mental illness in this post, so if that’s something that makes you uncomfortable feel free to skip this over ❤

I was tagged by the wonderful Beth @ Betwixt These Pages and Yasaman @ Following Muses, thank you both so much ♥ Make sure to check their blogs out because they’re super rad.

For this tag we choose attributes of ourselves and pair them with book characters who share the same attribute.

So this took me a while. I’m still not entirely sure who I’m going to choose because I find it so hard to sum myself up in single words, that makes me sound like I’m super ~ mysterious and unique ~ but no. I’m just really bad at knowing who I am. So I’m gonna change this up a little bit and cheat because I’m a rebel and just list characters I relate to without defining one single attribute.

Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 

I felt like being in Charlie’s head was like being in my own head. We’re both extremely introverted. We share are lot of the same thoughts and feelings. I loved Chbosky’s take on mental illness. Charlie and I both have a lot of the same confused and scattered thoughts and feelings. We’re both trying really hard not to be the way we are, but it’s just a part of who we are.

Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Whilst I’m, unfortunately, nowhere as unique or creative as Luna I appreciate and understand her love for all things strange and unusual. I definitely see that in myself. I mean I do willingly go into abandoned buildings at night and try to talk to ghosts so…

Percy Jackson from the Percy Jackson and the Olympians/Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

I would probably not survive Zeus accusing me of stealing his lighting bolt or fighting giants and other creatures that have crawled out from the pits of Tartarus but Percy and I definitely share the same sense of sarcastic/dry humour.

Thalia Grace from the Percy Jackson and the Olympians/Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

tumblr_m9cygbvKvw1ruz9j7

Thalia and I definitely share the same style and music taste. I also like to think I share her loyalty too. And whilst I wish Thalia was free to do as she pleases, I would definitely go join Artemis’ hunt if I had the chance. Kaya Scodelario is the perfect choice for Thalia imo and nothing will convince me otherwise.

April Ludgate from Parks and Recreation

Okay, not a book character but still… I’m convinced April and I are actually the same person. I have never related to anyone more in my life. I could probably supply an endless amounts of April quotes that I connect with. We both have the same weird sense of humour and are really guarded, but extremely protective and loyal to the people we care about. The only difference is I don’t have April’s confidence, but it’s definitely a goal I’m working towards. Parks and Rec is also one of my favourite shows ever, btw.

Special Shout Outs

  • Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – whilst I am nowhere near Hermione’s level of intelligence I absolutely love to learn about everything and anything. We’re both also really loyal and passionate. I would have totally tried to free the House Elves too.
  • Anna London from Sweet Damage by Rebecca James – Anna has experienced way more trauma than I have, but we both suffer from agoraphobia and it was the first time I’m read a book where it was mentioned and a lot of fears Anna had were fears I have.
  • Olive Corbett from Shift by Em Bailey – like Charlie I related to Olive’s mental illness,being in her head was like being in my own. She was also in love with this band and I feel that on a spiritual level.
  • Hannah Baker from Thirteen Reasons by Jay Asher – I know a lot of people didn’t like Hannah, but in some ways she reminded me of myself. Sometimes I feel like I can be unintentionally selfish and careless. I also relate to how a chain of small actions can affect you in the worst way.

I TAG

Whoever wants to do it 🙂

 

26 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: Myself in 5 Characters

  1. Great choices. I related a lot to Charlie too! What you said about Hannah from 13 Reasons Why is interesting because I didn’t like her when I read the book, but I also saw myself in her and maybe that’s why I felt that way… Small actions/incidents are always so much bigger to me than they are to other people, and affect me a lot. Now I kind of want to re-read the book and see if my opinion changes. Also I would have tried to free the House Elves too 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I love Charlie so much. I feel like Hannah really was trying to be a good person despite her flaws. If you decide to re-read it’d be really interesting to see if your thoughts change! It’s been years since I read the book, but I really want to give it a re-read. S.P.E.W for the win 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right?! Like…I’m not even sure if it’s anywhere near the same, but the husband and I watch Ghost Adventures religiously. I’d LOVE to participate in even just one–bucket list item? Definitely. I’m super jelly.

        Like

  2. Great tag and I totally get what you are saying about Hannah from Thirteen Reasons Why. I think everyone gets like that sometimes. Love the characters you picked and all of us bookworms have a bit of Hermoine in us. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

