Top Ten Tuesday: #3

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s theme: Ten Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads.

I decided to leave out single issue of comics because otherwise that’s all that’d be here. So this is just books and graphic novels. This list is in order of most recently read. You can see all my 5 star reads here.

Click on the covers to go the Goodreads page.

In The Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi 

In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken – The third and final book in The Darkest Minds trilogy. I finished this a few days ago and I still can’t stop thinking about it. It was such a perfect ending to a perfect series.

IM SO EMOTIONAL
An accurate depiction me reading this book. Follow me on Twitter for more glorious tweets like this one.

Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle – I recieved this from Netgalley and I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it, but oh my god it was INCREDIBLE. This is another one I can’t stop thinking about. It had such a great friendship and I NEED MORE!

Amulet, Vol 1: The Stonekeepers by Kazu Kibuishi – Like Camp Midnight I had no idea what to expect going into this, but I LOVED it! I had so much fun reading this. It was so action packed and it made me cry.

 Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken Proposal by Meg Cabot Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken – The second book in The Darkest Minds series. The ending of this book emotionally destroyed me. I am still not okay. I will never be okay.

Proposal by Meg Cabot – This is a novella that’s part of The Mediator series. I was so excited when I heard Meg was writing another book for this series because it’s one of my all time favourites. This book was everything I wanted and so much more. It felt like it had been days since I read the series not years. Reading about Suze felt like coming home. I can’t wait to read Remembrance.

Me thinking about the Proposal novella.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – Yeah. Do I even need to say anything? You all know that I am absolutely head over heels in love with this book. Sometimes I just take it off my shelf and flip through the pages because it’s so beautiful.

Selp-Helf by Miranda Sings The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell & Phil Lester

The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys by Gerard Way The Boy With The Thorn In His Side by Pete Wentz

Selp Helf by Miranda Sings – If you don’t watch Miranda on YouTube then you’ll be extremely confused (and possibly disturbed) by this book, but if you do and haven’t read this then you NEED to. It was basically like one of her videos but in book form. It was hilarious. Colleen is a genius.

The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire by Dan Howell & Phil Lester – I’ve been watching Dan & Phil since 2009 and reading this made me emotional because I’m so proud of how far they’ve come. This book was so funny and creative. I loved it.

The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys by Gerard Way – This graphic novel was such a ride and it made me so emotional. I loved the whole desert wasteland aspect so much and that it followed My Chemical Romance’s, Danger Days album. Let’s not talk about My Chemical Romance though or I might start crying.

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side by Pete Wentz – I read this because I’m a massive Fall Out Boy fan, but I fell in love with it. The art was so great and the story was beautiful and haunting. Despite being a “fantasy” this was such a real and genuine take on mental illness. Every line, lyric and metaphor was perfect. Pete gets it.

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side by Pete Wentz
I love this paragraph from The Boy With The Thorn In His Side so much I had to include it in the post. It is imprinted in my brain. I want it tattooed on me.

Make sure to let me know what your most recent 5 star read was or leave a link to your Top Ten Tuesday post if you have one!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: #3

  1. I’ve really got to read Illuminae, I’ve heard so many good things!

    I absolutely love Fall Out Boy’s music, but I’ve never checked out any of Pete Wentz’s writing, I really should get on that. I went to see them play recently and he did start reading a bit from something he’d written, but then they played Alone Together and I totally lost it!

    My TTT – http://mikaylasbookshelf.blogspot.co.uk/2016/03/top-ten-tuesday.html

    Like

    1. Yes, it’s so good! I hope you love it 🙂

      Ahh that’s so awesome! I’ve unfortunately never had the chance to see theme live despite being a fan for a million years haha. but I can imagine it would be super amazing. The only one of Pete’s works that I’ve read is TBWTTIHS, but I’m really interested in reading his other stuff. Hopefully I can get too them soon!

      Like

  2. Oh penguins, now I need to go seek out The Boy with the Thorn in his Side–just because FALL OUT BOY! But also, it sounds super intriguing and right up my alley? So there’s that tooooo.

    OF COURSE you know my thoughts on The Darkest Minds and Illuminae, so I won’t bore you with my screaming again. >.>

    Here’s my TTT

    Like

  3. Whaaaat!! I need to get The Boy with the Thorn in His Side ASAP. Sounds so awesome and I love Fall Out Boy. Still need to get around to reading The Darkest Minds and Illuminae!!

    Like

    1. It’s soooooo good. It’s very strange and magical, but somehow so incredibly real. The Darkest Minds is so great! Even though it’s a dystopian which seem to be everywhere, it’s such a refreshing take and the characters are what make it so wonderful. They’re all so real and genuine. Illuminae is absolutely brilliant too! If you get around to reading them I hope you love them 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ve been wanting to check out the Amulet series. Those books tempt me every time I’m at work (bookstore) haha. And I just recently finished Illuminae, and while I liked it a lot something’s keeping me from giving it 5 stars hmm.

    Like

    1. Ahh, working at a bookstore sounds wonderful! I’m really excited to pick up the next volume. I’m hoping it’s just as good. I think some people felt a bit disconnected from Illuminae because of the format? I think I loved it so much because my attention span is all over the place so it suited me perfectly haha.

      Like

      1. It is, I love working there 😀 And I’m not sure if that’s it, because I love books with formats like this and I quickly got to know the characters despite of it. I don’t know, it might have something to do with the fact that it was a bit slow here and there.

        Like

  5. Great list! I really loved Never Fade and In The Afterlight, though they kind of tore my heart out too 🙂 I’ve also been hearing nothing but good things about Illuminae, so I really would like to check that one out soon!

    Like

    1. I love Illuminae so much I can’t even express it in words. It got me out of a year long reading slump and it’s a huge part of the reason why I even started this blog, haha. TABINOF was sooo good. You’ll definitely love it if you’re a fan. It’s like a bunch of their videos mixed together in book form.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I see Illuminae EVERYWHERE! And I’ve heard nothing but good things. I’ve been debating putting it on my list, but I feel like it’s the kind of book where I’ll have to read the physical version because I don’t think it would translate as well on a Kindle?? I think I should just finally go to the library and see if I can pick it up!

    Like

    1. It’s amazing! I originally read it on my Kindle, but the formatting was a little awkward in some parts. Like there’s some pages where you kinda need to turn it around and upside down so that was a little annoying, haha. It was manageable though! I definitely recommend trying to get a physical though because it’s so beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

