Mini Reviews: Graphic Novels Galore (Camp Midnight, Amulet, Anya’s Ghost, Wytches)

I’m still pretty much a baby when it comes to comics and graphic novels. I only started reading them a couple of years ago, I actually used to be really disinterested in them. The reason I started reading them was because of Ms Marvel and now I’m obsessed with so many comics and graphic novels I can’t keep up with them. They’re now my go-to when I’m either procrastinating my current reads or I’m in a reading slump. I’ve read four in the past two days so that says it all really.

If you have a favourite graphic novel let me know in the comments. I’m always looking for new ones!

Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle

Title: Camp Midnight
Author:  Steven T. Seagle
Illustrator: Jason Katzenstein
Publisher: Image Comics
Published: May 3rd 2016
Pages: 248
Buy: Amazon // Image Comics

Ben 10 and Big Hero 6 creator Steven T. Seagle returns to comics with New Yorker Magazine cartoonist Jason Adam Katzenstein for a new graphic novel! Reluctant Skye is accidentally sent to the wrong summer camp. Not wanting to please her “step monster,” Skye is dead-set on not fitting in. That won’t be a problem, as everyone at Camp Midnight-with the exception of fellow camper and fast-friend Mia-is a full-fledged monster! The perfect book for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s “Smile, ” but wish it had more bowls of gooey eyeballs.

I recieved an ARC via Netgalley and the Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Oh my god! This was amazing? I honestly had no idea what to expect going into this and at the start of the book I honestly thought I wasn’t really going to like it that much because I couldn’t get into the art style whatsoever, however by the end of it I was actually crying because I became so attached to Skye, Mia and Camp Midnight as a whole. The character development in this is amazing. Skye starts off hating everyone and everything and by the end of the book she has grown so much. The friendship Skye and Mia has is beautiful (one of the best friendships I’ve seen in a comic/graphic novel) and the ending absolutely destroyed me. There were so many laugh out loud moments too and I didn’t even care that I wasn’t really used to the art style because I was just so caught up in everything. I NEVER wanted this to end. I really, really hope there is a Volume 2 because I so need to see more of Skye and her Camp Midnight adventures. I think this is a really good starting point too if you’ve never read graphic novels before.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Add to Goodreads


Title: Amulet: The StonekeeperAmulet by Kazu Kibuishi
Author/Illustrator:
Kazu Kibuishi
Publisher: Graphix – Scholastic
Published: January 1st 2008
Pages: 192
Buy:Amazon
Follow Kazu Kibuishi on Twitter

Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot—and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

I had no idea what to expect when going into this, but OH MY GOD. This was so emotional and cute and fun and just wow. I cried so much at the start and then towards the end during the scene that paralleled it (I LOVE ME SOME GOOD PARALLELING). This is honestly the most fun I’ve ever had reading a graphic novel. It was so action packed, but not like too overbearing. There was so much going on, but you didn’t lose focus of the characters. Emily is so incredibly brave and strong, but also human. The art sequences were SO STUNNING. The pages with only art and no words did such an incredible job of delivering the story. I am so so so so excited to read volume 2 and learn more. If you’ve never read a graphic novel before, but want to try then this is where you should start.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Add to Goodreads


Anya's Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Title: Anya’s Ghost
Author/Illustrator:  Vera Brosgol
Publisher: First Second
Published: June 7th 2011
Pages: 248
Buy: Amazon 

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Forever” part. Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century. Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friend—even a ghost—is just what she needs. Or so she thinks. Spooky, sardonic, and secretly sincere, Anya’s Ghost is a wonderfully entertaining debut from author/artist Vera Brosgol.

I liked this a lot, but I didn’t love it as much as I was hoping. I did really enjoy Anya’s character development. I was annoyed by a few things she did, but then I could also see where she was coming from. I was bullied my entire school life and I tried so many things to fit in to make it stop. So I think I was getting annoyed at myself because I could see myself in Anya and I wish I had done things differently. The plot twist was good albeit predictable. Despite her being a minor side character I really enjoyed Elizabeth. In my head I’m imaging that she tells Sean what an ass he is. I really liked the art too it definitely suited the feel of the story. Overall this was a quick and easy read with an important message.

MY RATING: ★★★

Add to Goodreads


Title: Wytches, Vol 1Wytches by Scott Snyder
Author: 
Scott Snyder
Illustrator: Jock
Colourist & Letterer: Matt Hollingsworth & Clem Robins
Publisher: Image Comics
Published: June 24th 2015
Pages: 192
Buy: Amazon // Image Comics
Follow Scott Snyder on Twitter // Follow Jock on Twitter

Everything you thought you knew about witches is wrong. They are much darker, and they are much more horrifying. Wytches takes the mythology of witches to a far creepier, bone-chilling place than readers have dared venture before. When the Rooks family moves to the remote town of Litchfield, NH to escape a haunting trauma, they’re hopeful about starting over. But something evil is waiting for them in the woods just beyond town. Watching from the trees. Ancient…and hungry.

WHAT JUST HAPPENED!?!!? Another spur of the moment read because I’m on a graphic novel kick. I devoured this volume in one sitting. I LOVED IT SO MUCH. It was creepy and dark and unsettling. The art matched the story so incredibly well. I adored Sailor to pieces. It almost made me cry because I related to Sailor’s anxiety issues so much. There’s a part where she says she wanted her parents to have another kid so that they could have a child that wasn’t like her and it hit me so hard because I’ve been there. I loved the concept of the wytches and reading this at night in the dark made it creepier. I was confused at times by some things, but it didn’t bother me. I actually sat there saying “WHAT” out loud repeatedly for lik five minutes at one point of the story. I need Volume 2 and I need it now.

MY RATING: ★★★

Add to Goodreads

15 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Graphic Novels Galore (Camp Midnight, Amulet, Anya’s Ghost, Wytches)

  1. I saw Camp Midnight on Netgalley and was REALLY tempted to pick it up…but didn’t for some reason!? Kicking myself for it right now–it sounds SO GOOD!

    Also, Wytches! I’ve been wanting to read that one for what feels like foreveeeeeeeer! I need to pick it up soon.

    Thanks so much for the awesome mini-reviews! ❤

    Like

    1. I originally wasn’t going to, but then I just lost all self control. I’m so glad I did though, it was a really quick read and so good. I’m still thinking about it today. It’s definitely one you can re-read and not get sick of.

      Wytches was oh my god. So dark and gripping with a great plot twist. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it 😀

      Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt the same way about Anya’s Ghost but Anya was a bit more annoying to me.I still thought it was pretty good though for what it was. And I’ve been meaning to read Wytches because I like Scott Snyder’s works so whenever I can get my hands on it from the library I’m going to read it. Great reviews!

    Like

    1. Right. My initial reaction after finishing it was a 3.5 and I think I rounded it up to a 4 because it was a quick and easy read and I did enjoy the art/concept. It’s just a shame Anya wasn’t more likeable. Wytches was incredible. Really dark and gritty, but so addicting. There was a great plot twist too. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

