Review: Highway 7 – 4 Dark Tales by Perry Prete

Genre: Horror, Short Story
Date Published: December 2015
Publisher: Sands Press
Pages: 309
Buy: Amazon
Follow Perry Prete on Twitter

A terrifying tale of claustrophobia reveals a dark secret even more disturbing than the present ordeal. What should be an idyllic family reunion turns to trauma when a demon from the past reappears to claim its victim. An innocent girl investigating a series of brutal murders becomes warped in ways one cannot imagine. And a pit stop along a long highway drive may lead to love, or it may be the final destination in a bizarre twist of fate…

Award-winning mystery novelist Perry Prete returns with Highway 7: 4 Dark Tales, an anthology of unsettling horror stories that are sure to leave you shivering as you triple-check your locked door. Get ready to experience a weird world as you journey along Highway 7!

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review. 

Highway 7 is a collection of 4 short horror stories. Each story deals with different creepy scenarios including: claustrophobia in a broken down elevator (The Elevator), a reunion involving monsters (The Reunion), a young woman getting too involved in a serial killer’s murders (Social Studies) and a mysterious town on a long highway (Highway 7).

I don’t normally read short stories or adult fiction, but seeing as this was horror I decided to give it a go! Maybe it’s because adult fiction isn’t really my thing, but I found myself not loving the stories like I normally would a horror book. However, please don’t let that deter you from this book because if you are a fan of adult horror fiction then you will definitely enjoy this. Despite my personal preferences I did have a lot of fun reading this. I found myself very interested in how everything was going to end. There were a lot of unanswered questions, but that’s to be expected with horror and short stories.

My favourite stories from this collection were The Reunion and Highway 7. I loved reading about all the myths about the monster/demon in The Reunion and really enjoyed the main character. Highway 7‘s setting was incredible. I could vividly picture this little old, mysterious town. Despite being a short story all the characters were incredibly interesting and all had their own personalities. I found myself wanting to know everything about them. I love the concept of how the town came to be and whilst the twist confused me a little it was definitely very interesting. I could have definitely read a full length novel of this story. The Elevator was quite creepy as I am terrified of being stuck in one. Going into this I thought Social Studies would be my favourite, but I guess I’m too much of a millennial 😉 It had really great horror elements though and kept me on the edge of my seat. It was really interesting seeing a female character act the way she did instead of the usual male character. It was great being in the main character’s mind, she was brilliantly disturbing.

I really recommend that lovers of adult horror and short stories read this collection, because it is definitely something you need to experience for yourself. You’ll find yourself wanting to get to the last page and then once you’re there, wishing it would keep going. Highway 7 was a really fun read and despite not really being an adult fiction fan I would definitely give more of Perry Prete’s stories a go after reading this.

MY RATING: ★★★

2 thoughts on “Review: Highway 7 – 4 Dark Tales by Perry Prete

Leave a Reply

